We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, welcoming and comfortable B&B”
Review of Shirley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shirley Hotel
Ranked #24 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nailsea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm, welcoming and comfortable B&B”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Very enjoyable stay. Welcoming and friendly owners. The rooms were very spacious, luxurious, clean and comfortable.

The breakfasts were so tasty, with so much choice on the menu. Very good location with just a 5 minute walk to the town centre. Would pick the recommendation from the owners for local restaurants as well.

Will definitely return for a second visit. Definitely recommend it

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hatchy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are especially pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast. Debbie is proud of her breakfast and ensures that every offering is perfect in every way possible.

We sincerely hope that you will come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    95
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
120
416
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BIRMINGHAM
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We found The Shirley very warm friendly.The full english breakfast was very good but if you required anything else for breakfast nothing was to much trouble.
The room was very comfortable and well equipped for our stay

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASHLEY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Wow !!!! It was windy wasn't it ??? We're so pleased that we were able to bring a little warmth to your weekend away. Please come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed for two nights over the valentines weekend and could not fault it. Very clean and spacious room with all amenities that you will ever need; made all the better with a little present left on the bed. Debbie and Gary were extremely attentive and always made us feel completely welcome and comfortable. Breakfast was a highlight with many different options to choose from, of which the options we chose were brilliant!
All round a great place for a get away!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Many thanks for writing a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. So glad that you liked our little Valentines gift. Hope to see you in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Had a room a room at the top which was clean, well presented and clearly cared for, but had become tired and in need of a serous refresh. However, not sure how they can easily generate the investment it needs when they charge such modest prices - Catch 22. Hosts are nice friendly people who want to try and help guests get the most from their stay. Breakfast was nice. Car parking is limited, quite competitive and you need to like the walk up the hill from the harbour.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mac187049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have always and still enjoy running 'The Shirley'.

As I write this response we are in the middle of a refit and a lot of decorating. New carpet is being fitted in the public areas plus the hall, stairs and landing have been re-decorated. We have also refurbished one of the bedrooms which should open in approximately two weeks. Watch this space.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Debbie and I stayed at The Shirley for 3 nights over the New Year period. The hotel is very elegant, extremely comfortable and our hosts Gary & Debbie are always very attentive and friendly. Our room was beautifully decorated, and the towels were large and soft. Cleanliness is a big issue for me and The Shirley did not disappoint me at all in that department. Everything was to a high standard including the breakfast which was superb. Will definitely return and have recommended Garry and Debbie to family and friends.....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCstudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you very much for your kind and thoughtful review. We genuinely enjoy what we do and it's wonderful when all of our efforts are appreciated. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Very enjoyable stay - welcoming and friendly, clean and comfortable - excellent breakfasts !!
Conveniently close to the sea-front, shops and restaurants.
We would agree with the positive recent reviews we've read.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greg c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you so very much for your warm and lovely comments. Please come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Shirley for 2 nights just before Christmas. The hotel was very elegant, extremely comfortable and our hosts Gary & Debbie were very attentive and friendly. Our room was beautifully decorated, and the towels were large and soft. Cleanliness is a big issue for me and The Shirley did not disappoint me at all in that department. Everything was to a high standard including the breakfast which was superb. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a premier room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marylou157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Firstly,thank you for taking the time to review 'The Shirley'. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your short time with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,369 reviews
1.1 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#8 of 87 in Torquay
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
1,044 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Hotel

Property: Shirley Hotel
Address: 66 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley, which not only provides Visit England Four Star accredited accommodation but also boasts a Visit England Breakfast Award. Individually styled and situated in a quiet road close to Torquay Harbour, restaurants, bars and shops, this family run Victorian villa still retains much of its original charm and character. Whether your visit is for business or leisure, the cosy and friendly atmosphere at The Shirley will provide you with happy memories of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shirley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirley Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing