We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous weekend”
Review of Shirley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shirley Hotel
Ranked #23 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marvelous weekend”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Wonderful hosts, warm welcome, comfortable bed, high quality linens (I'd like to have some like that in my own home), beautiful room, hearty breakfast, very good price, what else can you ask for... a few more days maybe?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndg540510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Many thanks for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Right from the time each guest arrives until the time they leave we strive to ensure that their stay is both enjoyable and comfortable. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    95
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
120
416
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wickford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is a lovely little hotel! The hosts Gary and Debbie willing to make your stay enjoyable nothing was too much trouble! The hotel was in good location clean and the bedrooms lovely. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us. We have and will always have a 'can do' approach to our guests and hope that this comes across. Please come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

What a great hotel! We were welcomed very warmly by Garry and Debbie and really made to feel at home. It is a lovely Victorian house and the little extra touches such as fresh milk rather than UHT in the room made all the difference. The room was comfortable and very reasonable. The breakfast was also very good. We will definitely go back and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarehardaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for your stunning review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We really enjoy what we do and are thrilled that you are coming to see us again next week. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

What can we say, we read the previous reviews and whole heartedly agree with them. Fantastic warm welcome , lovely room, great nights sleep, lovely tasty breakfast and a good location for our visit to the theatre. We couldn't fault anything, it was a shame we only stayed for one night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maytre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you so very much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you gain soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Spent a short mid-week break at the Shirley, hosts were extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Hotel room was spotless. Lots to choose from on the breakfast menu. Plenty of food outlets nearby for an evening meal. Garry and Debbie made us feel very welcome throughout our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and comments. We are so privileged to live in such a wonderful building and we enjoyed looking after you for the few days that you spent with us. Please don't leave it too long before you come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Young couples visit start of March 2014. Second visit and proprietors Garry and Debbie made us feel very welcome again. Room spotless with comfortable temperature and some nice touches. Nicely decorated throughout. Good location for Torquay centre within a short walking distance and bus links close by for further afield!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam086_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to 'The Shirley'. We enjoy what we do and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

A lovely weekend spent at the Shirley. Friendly, personal atmosphere, very comfortable, clean room. Owners very relaxed and helpful. Lovely area, ate out both nights at different, very local places. And the breakfasts, well, wow, you don't need to eat until the evening after eating their breakfasts. Full English, superb, and the fruit salad was so fresh, and they did other dishes too, which will be sampled on our return/s there, hopefully for longer next time. Weather not too good but hotel fabulous.

Room Tip: No 7 was lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We loved your company and look forward to seeing you both again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,886 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,378 reviews
1.1 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#8 of 87 in Torquay
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
1,045 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Hotel

Property: Shirley Hotel
Address: 66 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley, which not only provides Visit England Four Star accredited accommodation but also boasts a Visit England Breakfast Award. Individually styled and situated in a quiet road close to Torquay Harbour, restaurants, bars and shops, this family run Victorian villa still retains much of its original charm and character. Whether your visit is for business or leisure, the cosy and friendly atmosphere at The Shirley will provide you with happy memories of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shirley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirley Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing