We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place to spend a holiday or a few days”
Review of Shirley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shirley Hotel
Ranked #30 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

we visited the Shirley on Sunday 23rd March and stayed till Wed 26th March, and we enjoyed every minute of it, the owners Gary and Debbie were very helpful with my wife `s needs as we needed to come down from the top floor due to her breathing they couldn`t do enough for us, the food was excellent and very hot, and plenty of it, the second room we were offered was also excellent, and very clean and tidy, Gary and his wife are very friendly and knows the area of Torquay excellent, always advised us of good restaurants to eat in, we recommend this B&B to anyone in the world, you was be amazed. top marks. We will be returning in June 2014. Chris and Annie Taylor Bristol

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you very much for your kind and thoughtful review. We are really pleased that that we were able to look after you both and we really look forward to looking after you again in June

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

We arrived early, and was immediately given a very warm welcome by Gary. The room was very clean quite spacious and well decorated. The bed linen and towels were of a very superb quality. Little touches such as boiled sweets and fresh milk were gratefully received. We slept well on our 3 night break. bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was compact but was extremely clean, well decorated and with very good fittings. Breakfast was superb and set us up for the day.
Position of the hotel for us was perfect as we enjoyed the short stroll down into the town. Our hosts Gary and Debbie are the without doubt the most friendly and welcoming people we have come across on our travels. Very sincere very knowledgeable and most of all friendly. All in all a fantastic hotel with a fantastic hosts in a place we love. Whenever we return to Torquay The Shirley will be our No1 hotel on our list. Thanks again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lintzel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We do pride ourselves on providing the best as far as we can for our guests from the time they arrive until the time they leave. Local knowledge is so important and we do like to make our guests aware of the local amenities that are available to them. This is especially important as far as restaurants etc are concerned. A little knowledge goes a long way. Also friendliness costs nothing and it was a delight being able to look after you both. Please come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Wonderful hosts, warm welcome, comfortable bed, high quality linens (I'd like to have some like that in my own home), beautiful room, hearty breakfast, very good price, what else can you ask for... a few more days maybe?

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndg540510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Many thanks for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Right from the time each guest arrives until the time they leave we strive to ensure that their stay is both enjoyable and comfortable. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is a lovely little hotel! The hosts Gary and Debbie willing to make your stay enjoyable nothing was too much trouble! The hotel was in good location clean and the bedrooms lovely. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us. We have and will always have a 'can do' approach to our guests and hope that this comes across. Please come and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

What a great hotel! We were welcomed very warmly by Garry and Debbie and really made to feel at home. It is a lovely Victorian house and the little extra touches such as fresh milk rather than UHT in the room made all the difference. The room was comfortable and very reasonable. The breakfast was also very good. We will definitely go back and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarehardaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for your stunning review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We really enjoy what we do and are thrilled that you are coming to see us again next week. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

What can we say, we read the previous reviews and whole heartedly agree with them. Fantastic warm welcome , lovely room, great nights sleep, lovely tasty breakfast and a good location for our visit to the theatre. We couldn't fault anything, it was a shame we only stayed for one night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maytre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you so very much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you gain soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Spent a short mid-week break at the Shirley, hosts were extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Hotel room was spotless. Lots to choose from on the breakfast menu. Plenty of food outlets nearby for an evening meal. Garry and Debbie made us feel very welcome throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and comments. We are so privileged to live in such a wonderful building and we enjoyed looking after you for the few days that you spent with us. Please don't leave it too long before you come and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0 mi away
Braddon Hall Hotel
Braddon Hall Hotel
#40 of 85 in Torquay
216 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,513 reviews
0 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
390 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hillcroft - Boutique unique
1.1 mi away
The Berburry
The Berburry
#24 of 149 in Torquay
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Hotel

Address: 66 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £57 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley, which not only provides Visit England Four Star accredited accommodation but also boasts a Visit England Breakfast Award. Individually styled and situated in a quiet road close to Torquay Harbour, restaurants, bars and shops, this family run Victorian villa still retains much of its original charm and character. Whether your visit is for business or leisure, the cosy and friendly atmosphere at The Shirley will provide you with happy memories of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shirley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirley Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing