We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a brilliant hotel and fantastic hosts!”
Review of Shirley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shirley Hotel
Ranked #30 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just spent a lovely three night stay at the Shirley - and what a gem! Owners Debbie and Gary go out of their way to make you feel welcome right from the outset and treat you like old friends rather than first time visitors. Location is great - only an easy 5 to 10 minute walk from the centre of Torquay and a range of local restaurants. Our room was spotless and extremely comfortable with what seemed like a brand new bathroom. Great spread for breakfast with a superb full English cooked to order by Debbie which we couldn't resist having every day! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will certainly be back again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely and thoughtful review. The Shirley is in such a great location and within easy reach of all the local shops, restaurants etc.

We do like to take the time to get to know our guests when they arrive. By doing that it helps us to know what they want from their stay with us and also enables us to give advise on where to eat or go for day trips etc.

Breakfast is probably the most important meal of the day so we do like to make sure that all of our guests are suitably fed and watered before they leave for the day.

So thank you again for your wonderful words and we hope that we shall see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

First time stay at this superior hotel. We were greeted by the owner Gary and his wife Debbie who made us feel extremely welcome and went out their way to make our stay more enjoyable. It is in a fantastic location to local bars, restaurants and the beach. The hotel itself is extremely clean, very well maintained and very homely! We would highly recommend this hotel and we both look forward to revisiting it in the future. Many thanks again to you both. David and Kerry.

Room Tip: All rooms are equipped with all essentials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Butler1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that it won't be too long before you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

we visited the Shirley on Sunday 23rd March and stayed till Wed 26th March, and we enjoyed every minute of it, the owners Gary and Debbie were very helpful with my wife `s needs as we needed to come down from the top floor due to her breathing they couldn`t do enough for us, the food was excellent and very hot, and plenty of it, the second room we were offered was also excellent, and very clean and tidy, Gary and his wife are very friendly and knows the area of Torquay excellent, always advised us of good restaurants to eat in, we recommend this B&B to anyone in the world, you was be amazed. top marks. We will be returning in June 2014. Chris and Annie Taylor Bristol

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you very much for your kind and thoughtful review. We are really pleased that that we were able to look after you both and we really look forward to looking after you again in June

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We arrived early, and was immediately given a very warm welcome by Gary. The room was very clean quite spacious and well decorated. The bed linen and towels were of a very superb quality. Little touches such as boiled sweets and fresh milk were gratefully received. We slept well on our 3 night break. bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was compact but was extremely clean, well decorated and with very good fittings. Breakfast was superb and set us up for the day.
Position of the hotel for us was perfect as we enjoyed the short stroll down into the town. Our hosts Gary and Debbie are the without doubt the most friendly and welcoming people we have come across on our travels. Very sincere very knowledgeable and most of all friendly. All in all a fantastic hotel with a fantastic hosts in a place we love. Whenever we return to Torquay The Shirley will be our No1 hotel on our list. Thanks again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lintzel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We do pride ourselves on providing the best as far as we can for our guests from the time they arrive until the time they leave. Local knowledge is so important and we do like to make our guests aware of the local amenities that are available to them. This is especially important as far as restaurants etc are concerned. A little knowledge goes a long way. Also friendliness costs nothing and it was a delight being able to look after you both. Please come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Wonderful hosts, warm welcome, comfortable bed, high quality linens (I'd like to have some like that in my own home), beautiful room, hearty breakfast, very good price, what else can you ask for... a few more days maybe?

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndg540510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Many thanks for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Right from the time each guest arrives until the time they leave we strive to ensure that their stay is both enjoyable and comfortable. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is a lovely little hotel! The hosts Gary and Debbie willing to make your stay enjoyable nothing was too much trouble! The hotel was in good location clean and the bedrooms lovely. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us. We have and will always have a 'can do' approach to our guests and hope that this comes across. Please come and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

What a great hotel! We were welcomed very warmly by Garry and Debbie and really made to feel at home. It is a lovely Victorian house and the little extra touches such as fresh milk rather than UHT in the room made all the difference. The room was comfortable and very reasonable. The breakfast was also very good. We will definitely go back and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarehardaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for your stunning review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We really enjoy what we do and are thrilled that you are coming to see us again next week. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0 mi away
Braddon Hall Hotel
Braddon Hall Hotel
#40 of 85 in Torquay
216 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,515 reviews
0 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
390 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hillcroft - Boutique unique
1.1 mi away
The Berburry
The Berburry
#25 of 149 in Torquay
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Hotel

Address: 66 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £58 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley, which not only provides Visit England Four Star accredited accommodation but also boasts a Visit England Breakfast Award. Individually styled and situated in a quiet road close to Torquay Harbour, restaurants, bars and shops, this family run Victorian villa still retains much of its original charm and character. Whether your visit is for business or leisure, the cosy and friendly atmosphere at The Shirley will provide you with happy memories of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Shirley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirley Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing