We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“planning our return later in the year”
Review of Shirley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shirley Hotel
Ranked #30 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

great hotel, great hosts, nothing was too much trouble, whole place was spotless,great comfortable rooms, very friendly staff, cannot fault it, breakfast was perfect,a wide and wonderful selection. lovely location close to harbour shops etc bed soooo comfy, free wi-fi tea coffee (fresh milk!!) chocolate bottled water anything you want

Room Tip: situated on a hill( well it is devon) so a room on the first floor would be a good idea , unless you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicola666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments in your review. So pleased that you enjoyed your break with us and we hope that you'll return again on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for a night, it was lovely the owners were also very nice people . Also the breakie was very good !! Would defo go back thanks for a lovely stay. Also I asked for a late check out and it was no trouble and at no extra cost much appreciated ..

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thanks very much for taking time out to write a review. see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This was our first trip to the English Riviera, we were not disappointed by this hotel or its' perfect hosts. Elegant Yes, Romantic If you want, luxurious and affordable Yes.
The room was well appointed it had everything TV, Tea & Coffee, biscuits & sweets. Free Bottled Water, one of the best hotel beds we have ever slept in with lovely pure white cotton bedlinen, Fresh white soft towels and abundance of toiletries, A beautiful lounge with a well stocked honesty bar.
Breakfast was freshly cooked and a delight, the dining room was very smart & vogue, both Garry and Debbie, the owners were hands on and very enthusiastic hosts. The lovely lady who served us was well presented and charming and polite

We cannot recommend this hotel enough it even has its own pool & sun patio open in the summer months We will return for sure.

Room Tip: Do not enter the one way system to find this hotel as you enter Torquay keep to the sea front. We h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimeTraveler1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed staying with us and hope that you will come and see us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My boyfriend and myself have just been on a short break tok Torquay and stayed at The Shirley for just one night. When we arrived we were met by Gary with a warm smile and an enthusiastic hello. We were shown around and taken to our room which was lovely and spotless.

What made our visit especially great was the fact that Gary and co went out of their way to ensure that we were happy,especially relating to my specific dietery requirements. Gary sorted me out a gluten free breakfast and even got me gluten free biscuits for the room.

All in all a great stay with great food,comfortable bed and lovely hosts - thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francesca k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We really enjoy running 'The Shirley' and we will always try to make every guest's stay as pleasant as possible.

We always take personal dietary requirements very seriously and will always ensure that we will cater accordingly as much as we possibly can. We look forward to being able to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Lovely hotel with very friendly and welcoming owners. Excellent location with loads to do for our five year old and lovely coast and plenty of restaurants in walking distance. Great breakfasts and rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank King_louis_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and dearly hope that you will return again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Just spent a weekend here with husband for his birthday. Luckily there was street parking as all allocated slots full. Ideal location just 5 mins from town centre but not suitable for anyone in wheelchair or with mobility problems due to steep slopes and lots of steps. Room lovely with nice comfy bed and lovely touches of towelling robes and slippers. Nice touch of having mini fridge on each landing with jugs of fresh milk instead of those awful pods. Honesty bar for those wanting a drink before going out. Breakfast was a gastronomic delight with unlimited tea and toast and comprehensive menu to satisfy even the fussiest eaters. Only minor points to be addressed were lack of electrical points in bedroom and the fact the tables are crammed into the dining room. It's just way too small for the amount of people who stay there. Maybe increase the time breakfast served so less people in there as unable to get from table to get things. But they are minor points and did not detract from a great place run by lovely people. Would definitely use again and definitely recommend to anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacki2372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you very much for your honest but thoughtful review. We are so very pleased that you both enjoyed your few days with us.

After your comments we are going to put more sockets into the room. It has recently undergone a massive make over being completely renovated throughout, but we completely take on board your comments and are acting accordingly.

With regards to the dining room, we have tried extending the time that it is open. We found that this did not solve the problem as guests would still come down all together at once and there was absolutely no gain as far as reducing the strain on the seating arrangements. We also thought about allocation of a specific breakfast time to guests but the would take away the choice for the guest. We do of of course want everyone to be able to eat in comfort and to be able to take time over their breakfast. We would never hurry anyone or try to move them out after their meal even if someone is waiting for a table.

We are however so glad that the above points did not detract from your stay as we would love to be able to welcome you both on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Shirley on 11th May - as he was working nearby next day. The hotel is just a 5-minute walk from the harbour and has (limited) free parking. It is maintained to a high standard and the rooms are very clean and comfortable, although the mattress was a bit softer than I would like.

Gary & Debbie were very welcoming and keen for us to make the most of the area. They were happy to provide an early cooked breakfast and this was much appreciated. On Sunday night we had an excellent meal at the nearby (but uphill) Kents pub which is a mecca for foodies and dog-lovers. We enjoyed our Sunday in Torquay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank raygo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us, but we are also sorry that you found the mattress too soft for your liking. As you know, mattresses are a very personal preference for people. What is soft for one guest may be hard for another etc.

I hope that this won't deter you from visiting us again in the future as we would love to see you both again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0 mi away
Braddon Hall Hotel
Braddon Hall Hotel
#40 of 85 in Torquay
215 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,512 reviews
0 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
390 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hillcroft - Boutique unique
1.1 mi away
The Berburry
The Berburry
#25 of 149 in Torquay
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Hotel

Address: 66 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £57 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley, which not only provides Visit England Four Star accredited accommodation but also boasts a Visit England Breakfast Award. Individually styled and situated in a quiet road close to Torquay Harbour, restaurants, bars and shops, this family run Victorian villa still retains much of its original charm and character. Whether your visit is for business or leisure, the cosy and friendly atmosphere at The Shirley will provide you with happy memories of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Shirley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirley Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing