We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shirley Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Richwood(Torquay)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$225
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Corbyn Head Hotel(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$233
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cimon(Torquay)
US$126
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Torquay(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$85
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$127
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (663)
Filter reviews
663 results
Traveller rating
558
96
9
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
558
96
9
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh milkhonesty barlovely hotelbiscuitsbottled waterb bon arrivalcup of teawarm welcomefull englishlittle extrastop floorshort walkgreat hostsnothing is too much troublelots of choiceenjoyable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 663 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at the Shirley...

Nothing is ever too much trouble, the owners are lovely.. and the hotel is perfect..

GREAT LOCATION, FAST WIFI (I'm here on work), CLEAN ROOMS, GREAT FOOD, SUPER NIGHTS SLEEP... this is really a great home from home!!!

They let me late check out and even accommodated me to work in the lounge when my plans were changed!!

Everything is always done with a smile. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the breakfast are lovely..

The hotel would be good for Solo business travellers like myself, Families, Coupes on a romantic break.. anyone wanting a nice welcoming hotel.. I can't say enough good things.. I will be going back!!

Darren M

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren_M204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. It was great to see you and we're so pleased that you chose to stay with us again. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

From booking and during our stay nothing was too much trouble for Gary and his staff. Early check in, late check out and booking a cab, everything was done with a smile. The room was brand new and spotlessly clean and the breakfast was fab. My only little fault would be that for a deluxe double the room was quite small. Super convenient, the hotel is a 5 min walk to the harbour.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BecksMiddleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed staying with us. Please come and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

great hotel, great hosts, nothing was too much trouble, whole place was spotless,great comfortable rooms, very friendly staff, cannot fault it, breakfast was perfect,a wide and wonderful selection. lovely location close to harbour shops etc bed soooo comfy, free wi-fi tea coffee (fresh milk!!) chocolate bottled water anything you want

Room Tip: situated on a hill( well it is devon) so a room on the first floor would be a good idea , unless your feeling fit !! did us good though we needed the extra excersize after a delicious breakfast cant praise the shirley and the hosts enough THANK YOU
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicola666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments in your review. So pleased that you enjoyed your break with us and we hope that you'll return again on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for a night, it was lovely the owners were also very nice people . Also the breakie was very good !! Would defo go back thanks for a lovely stay. Also I asked for a late check out and it was no trouble and at no extra cost much appreciated ..

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thanks very much for taking time out to write a review. see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This was our first trip to the English Riviera, we were not disappointed by this hotel or its' perfect hosts. Elegant Yes, Romantic If you want, luxurious and affordable Yes.
The room was well appointed it had everything TV, Tea & Coffee, biscuits & sweets. Free Bottled Water, one of the best hotel beds we have ever slept in with lovely pure white cotton bedlinen, Fresh white soft towels and abundance of toiletries, A beautiful lounge with a well stocked honesty bar.
Breakfast was freshly cooked and a delight, the dining room was very smart & vogue, both Garry and Debbie, the owners were hands on and very enthusiastic hosts. The lovely lady who served us was well presented and charming and polite

We cannot recommend this hotel enough it even has its own pool & sun patio open in the summer months We will return for sure.

Room Tip: Do not enter the one way system to find this hotel as you enter Torquay keep to the sea front. We had a front room it was quite and bright
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimeTraveler1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed staying with us and hope that you will come and see us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews