We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shirley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shirley Hotel
Ranked #14 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This is a fantastic little hotel, and we had a great stay. The owners are really friendly and go out of there way to make you feel welcome. The breakfast was very nice and the staff again really friendly. We will definetly be back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are so lucky to have the staff that we have and they like ourselves are focused on giving all of our guests the best service that they can. Thank you again and we hope that we will see you again on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    92
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
119
404
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alfreton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel last week with my boyfriend, mum, dad, brother and his girlfriend in three rooms and had a brilliant week. Garry met us on arrival and was so helpful, friendly and funny. All three rooms were beautiful and very clean. The provision of bathrobes and slippers were a lovely touch, as were all the other little extras (I loved the box that the selection of teas, coffees and biscuits were stored in!). The beds were super comfortable and we were very grateful for the fans in the rooms as it was a very warm week!

Breakfast every day was delicious and there was such a big choice of things to have! My brother's girlfriend has a wheat allergy so the fact that she could have gluten-free breakfasts and also gluten-free biscuits in their room was great.

The hotel itself is very pretty and we really loved using the pool - so refreshing on a hot day! We also used the 'honesty bar', which had a good selection of beverages (Garry even ensured he got more of my and my boyfriend's favourite drink!).

All in all a fabulous week had by all of us - thank you so much!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
What a fantastic review. Thank you so much. We take food allergies very seriously indeed and really try to ensure that each guests needs are catered for. We also try to provide extra little touches throughout the rooms etc just to make our guests stay that little bit special. We're pleased that this was appreciated and look forward to welcoming you all on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is the 7th time we have stayed with Garry and Debbie at the Shirley in the past 3 years and unbelievable it just keeps getting better!

Every room we have stayed in has been of the highest standard; big, clean, fluffy towels; comfy beds, dreamy duvets and pillows to die for. High quality complimentary toiletries and clean and modern decor round the rooms off nicely.

The breakfast choice is varied and delicious and expertly cooked by Debbie and the welcome from Garry when you first arrive is second to none (as is the tea and coffee offered!). Nothing is ever too much trouble during your stay and they can provide good tips for places to visit and restaurants to eat at.

The location is a 5 min walk to the town centre and all major bus routes to Paignton, Brixham, Babbacombe and Cockington. I highly recommend it for first-timers to Torquay as it is a good central base to get your bearings with most things within good walking distance.

During our recent stay, one of our party required a gluten-free diet and she was catered for superbly with an excellent choice of breakfast options.

Staying at the Shirley is like staying with family and it is always a pleasure to see Garry, Debbie, Adam and Moo on the odd occasion! We will definitely be returning again in the near future.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent - not a bad one to pick from!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perktwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
It is always a pleasure to welcome back previous guests to stay with us. It was so good to see you again plus we're pleased that the weather stayed good as well. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Had a lovely night's stay at this charming hotel. The room was cosy and clean with everything we needed, and the hospitality was second to none. The hotel is a short walk from the town centre, which was perfect for dinner and in the morning the full English was great. We particularly liked the complimentary fridge magnet! We will be back next time we come to Torquay. Thank you :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salsa117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Many thanks for your review. we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and liked the fridge magnet. Hopefully we'll see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Do you remember the good old days when service for the customer was paramount. Well visit the shirley and experience it again. Debbie and Gary do everything possible to make your stay memorable. The house is victorian and still retains many of its original features. It is lovely home which guests are allowed to share. Our bedroom was comfortable and many extras are includeded such as bottled water, high grade toiletries, electric fan (much appreciated in the hot weather) . There was a good choice for breakfast and a lot of the ingredients were locally sourced.
There is even an honesty bar where you help yourself to drinks and list them and pay at the end of your stay
there is a small pool which looked inviting but unfortunately we never got round to using.
the only negative comment is that parking was limited. We were fortunate that we secured one of the off street parking slots ehen we arrived and as we didnt need to use our car during our stay we didnt have a problem but as in most places in this country there is not an overabundance of parking available especially in peak periods. Walking into town took about 8 minutes but longer coming back as it was uphill. There is a bus from the sea front to the end of the road if the walk is to far.

Room Tip: Our room was on the west side so avoided the sun until late afternoon which meant it stayed reasonsl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buddymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time and the trouble to write your review of 'The Shirley'. We do have old fashioned values here and promote a 'can do culture' as long as it's within our power to do so. We are really so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and do hope to see you at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

When you book a b&b you read the info cross your fingers and hope for a good clean place. This place is a hit! The hotel is well maintained, clean and clearly Debbie and Gary have a passion and enjoy looking after their punters. Nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is cooked to order, lovely outside pool and terrace to relax. I love to moan but couldn't find anything to moan about apart from wish we'd stayed longer. Thank you so much, we will be back

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank elissa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
What a lovely review. We do enjoy what we do at 'The Shirley'. Please come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Came here for my partners 50th birthday just for 1 night and what a great place to spend the night :-)Gary and Debbie welcomed us in to there lovely home .
Would recommend the Shirley and the breakfast was absolutely delicious .
Thanks again Gary and Debbie for a lovely time .Will be back not sure when but we will xx

PS Better than the Chewton Glenn :-) x

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kazzy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
What a lovely review. We are both extremely flattered that you think that we are better than Chewton Glenn but we won't argue with you about that. Please come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#12 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#8 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Albaston
The Albaston
#3 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Hotel

Property: Shirley Hotel
Address: 66 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley, which not only provides Visit England Four Star accredited accommodation but also boasts a Visit England Breakfast Award. Individually styled and situated in a quiet road close to Torquay Harbour, restaurants, bars and shops, this family run Victorian villa still retains much of its original charm and character. Whether your visit is for business or leisure, the cosy and friendly atmosphere at The Shirley will provide you with happy memories of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Shirley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirley Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing