We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will be back!”
Review of Shirley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shirley Hotel
Ranked #19 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“We will be back!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed at the shirley from Monday 11th August until the Thursday and we didn't want to leave! Our room was lovely and clean. Beds re-made and toiletries stocked back up every morning. Breakfast was lovely. Nice bar and pool terrace to sit and have a drink. Only a short walk to the harbour and sea front but still in a nice quiet road. Gary and Debbie were lovely.
Highly recommended and well worth the money, wish we could of stayed longer! First time we have been to torquay and we will definitely be back again staying in the shirley!
From Michael and Hollie (With the crystal toenails!!!!) :) x

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
thank you so much for your lovely review. We really enjoyed looking after you both and it would be so nice to be able to welcome you back on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    93
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
120
406
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

In all respects this was great value for money. Spotlessly clean and an excellent Breakfast each day. A spacious Guest Sitting Room where it was possible to sit in comfort reading from a wide assortment of books and magazines.

Service was top rate and very friendly without being over the top. All for an overnight rate in high-season of 35 pounds per head. A splendid example to set.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theocsbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for writing your review. We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

The Shirley Hotel has all the advantages of a good hotel with nicely decorated rooms, good bathrooms and very comfortable and kingsize beds. There is a small but very nice swimming pool that you will appreciate after a long and tiring coastal walk. Breakfast is just very good. What makes this place special is the fact that the owners have succeeded in combining the luxuries of a hotel with the cosiness and friendlyness of a B&B. When in Torquay, this is definitely our favorite.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gerbrand B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we may be able to welcome you again on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This is a fantastic little hotel, and we had a great stay. The owners are really friendly and go out of there way to make you feel welcome. The breakfast was very nice and the staff again really friendly. We will definetly be back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are so lucky to have the staff that we have and they like ourselves are focused on giving all of our guests the best service that they can. Thank you again and we hope that we will see you again on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel last week with my boyfriend, mum, dad, brother and his girlfriend in three rooms and had a brilliant week. Garry met us on arrival and was so helpful, friendly and funny. All three rooms were beautiful and very clean. The provision of bathrobes and slippers were a lovely touch, as were all the other little extras (I loved the box that the selection of teas, coffees and biscuits were stored in!). The beds were super comfortable and we were very grateful for the fans in the rooms as it was a very warm week!

Breakfast every day was delicious and there was such a big choice of things to have! My brother's girlfriend has a wheat allergy so the fact that she could have gluten-free breakfasts and also gluten-free biscuits in their room was great.

The hotel itself is very pretty and we really loved using the pool - so refreshing on a hot day! We also used the 'honesty bar', which had a good selection of beverages (Garry even ensured he got more of my and my boyfriend's favourite drink!).

All in all a fabulous week had by all of us - thank you so much!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
What a fantastic review. Thank you so much. We take food allergies very seriously indeed and really try to ensure that each guests needs are catered for. We also try to provide extra little touches throughout the rooms etc just to make our guests stay that little bit special. We're pleased that this was appreciated and look forward to welcoming you all on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is the 7th time we have stayed with Garry and Debbie at the Shirley in the past 3 years and unbelievable it just keeps getting better!

Every room we have stayed in has been of the highest standard; big, clean, fluffy towels; comfy beds, dreamy duvets and pillows to die for. High quality complimentary toiletries and clean and modern decor round the rooms off nicely.

The breakfast choice is varied and delicious and expertly cooked by Debbie and the welcome from Garry when you first arrive is second to none (as is the tea and coffee offered!). Nothing is ever too much trouble during your stay and they can provide good tips for places to visit and restaurants to eat at.

The location is a 5 min walk to the town centre and all major bus routes to Paignton, Brixham, Babbacombe and Cockington. I highly recommend it for first-timers to Torquay as it is a good central base to get your bearings with most things within good walking distance.

During our recent stay, one of our party required a gluten-free diet and she was catered for superbly with an excellent choice of breakfast options.

Staying at the Shirley is like staying with family and it is always a pleasure to see Garry, Debbie, Adam and Moo on the odd occasion! We will definitely be returning again in the near future.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent - not a bad one to pick from!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perktwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
It is always a pleasure to welcome back previous guests to stay with us. It was so good to see you again plus we're pleased that the weather stayed good as well. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Had a lovely night's stay at this charming hotel. The room was cosy and clean with everything we needed, and the hospitality was second to none. The hotel is a short walk from the town centre, which was perfect for dinner and in the morning the full English was great. We particularly liked the complimentary fridge magnet! We will be back next time we come to Torquay. Thank you :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salsa117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley2007, Owner at Shirley Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Many thanks for your review. we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and liked the fridge magnet. Hopefully we'll see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#11 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#8 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Hotel

Property: Shirley Hotel
Address: 66 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley, which not only provides Visit England Four Star accredited accommodation but also boasts a Visit England Breakfast Award. Individually styled and situated in a quiet road close to Torquay Harbour, restaurants, bars and shops, this family run Victorian villa still retains much of its original charm and character. Whether your visit is for business or leisure, the cosy and friendly atmosphere at The Shirley will provide you with happy memories of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Shirley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirley Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing