We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shirley Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
US$135
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Orestone Manor(Torquay)
US$203
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Torquay(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$66
Travelodge
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$97
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
US$137
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (662)
Filter reviews
662 results
Traveller rating
558
95
9
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
558
95
9
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh milkhonesty barlovely hotelbiscuitsbottled waterb bon arrivalcup of teawarm welcomefull englishlittle extrastop floorshort walkgreat hostsnothing is too much troublelots of choiceenjoyable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
629 - 634 of 662 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2009

People say you should never return to somewhere, the memories are neverthe same as the reality. This hotel proves the exception. Another excellent stay was had by my husband and I.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gert1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2009

The owners are warm, welcoming and excellent hosts. The room was immaculate and very comfortable - I had a great nights kip. Breakfast was great fun and set me up for the day. The hotel is within walking distance of everything in Torquay.

Highly recommended 5/5.......... I'll definitely stay there again when I go back to Torquay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamp43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

My wife and I have just enjoyed a short three nights stay at the Shirley hotel where I had first visited on a business trip last year.

The fact that we enjoyed the stay so much was down to the super hospitality of our hosts, Debbie, Gary, and Adam(My wife's favourite), The hotel has continued to be improved and was very clean and fresh.

Nothing is too much trouble for the staffs and everyone is made to feel very welcome and at home. The excellent breakfast sets you up for the day.

Highly recommended and excellent value again.

Ian & Steph

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steplulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

We visited the Shirley last year for our anniversary. We had such a good time we went back for more this year. We found that Gary and Debbie have continued the work of improving the already high standard of the accomodation. The four stars are completely justified.

Best of all is the family feel of the place and the genuine warmth and enthusiasm of the hosts. Absolutely top notch. Thanks to Gary, Debbie and Adam, and all the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickystick2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

We enjoyed our 6 day stay enormously and are going to book again this year.

Gary and Debbie are superb hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. We were made to feel very welcome.

The hotel is is superb and in an equally superb spot near the harbour - handy for all attractions.

Excellent service from friendly staff.

Fab hotel, very clean and tastefully furnished and decorated. Fab breakfast too which set us up for the day.

Excellent value for money and I would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MaureenBStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews