We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shirley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shirley Hotel
Ranked #14 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
chesterfield
1 review
“fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

Just got back from The Shirley in Torquay. We really had a great time there. Garry, Debbie and Ads made us feel so welcome. The rooms were clean, the breakfasts were superb. The hotel is in a great location, just 5 mins from pubs,restaurants and the harbour. If you are going to Torquay for your holiday make sure you go to this hotel! Remember that it takes more than great weather to have a great holiday!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pogue01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    92
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
119
404
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

Having visited Orlando and Barcelona during recent years for our annual family holiday, we decided to stay in the UK this summer, low expense etc. My wife, myself and our two young daughters (8 and 3) all agreed that Torquay was our best family holiday so far, and this was mainly due to The Shirley Hotel. As most people have noted already, the hotel is spotless throughout and the breakfast is excellent also. However the big plus for us was the extraordinary lengths Gary, Debbie and Adam went to, to ensure our stay was the best possible. Full marks, we’ll be back!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinEFC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

I stayed at the Shirley Hotel for 9 days with my wife and two daughters aged 8 and 12. We all loved the place. The room was nice and well equipped and the breakfast was probably the best breakfast any of us have ever had in any hotel. The location is excellent in a quiet street but very close to the harbor and shopping district. You might find an equally nice room or location elsewhere, but you not will find a more friendly, helpful or welcoming staff anywhere. Debbie, Gary and Adam made our stay in Torquay truly unforgettable!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HLH_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantage
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

Stayed here with two work colleagues and were made so welcome, it was fantastic! The hotel is well located for the town and harbour, just being a short walk away. When we we arrived we were made very welcome in the outstanding victorian lounge. This is also where the bar is and where the guest congregate in the evening, if they wish and makes the experience so friendly!

A good nights sleep was had in a very comfortable bed, the room was clean and well equipped. The breakfast was tasty and fresh; one of my colleagues said it was the best breakfast he had ever had!

The visit was so good that I have already booked again for during the summer for a couple of nights with the family.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stigreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drøbak
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

I liked this hotel very much. It's a small hotel run by a family. It's easy to get in touch with other guests and the family by the pool in the evenings. It's situated only a short walk form the harbour/shopping(Fleet Street). When you go for dinner a place with good food and resonable prices is Kents (pub) along the Babbacombe Road, and in the same road as Kents Caverns.
We had a wonderful and active stay in Torquay. I will also recommend Cockington Village.It's very cosy. If you want cream tea, buy it at the tea house with the big garden. Cheaper than other cafes. The RoundRobin tour to Totnes/Dartmouth is also very nice.
And the Kent Caverns. There are also possibilities for playing Bowling and MiniGolf.
I don't think the beaches were very good in Torquay, but a beach by Bigbury-on-Sea and Bantham was much better the moter of Debbie told me the last evening. Do you have a car, thats a possibility.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2009

We decided to go to torquay for a few days following our wedding and booked the Shirley via the internet mainly for its closeness to the harbour and amenities. What a brilliant choice! We had our 2 year old daughter Lily with us and the website we booked through said it was a family friendly place - what an understatement! Debbie, Gary and Adam were all fantastic with her and did everything they could to make our stay with them as comfortable as possible.
The cooked breakfasts in the morning were delicious and set us up for the day. There was a wide choice of other breakfast foods available and they even offered to buy strawberries for my fussy daughter! They recommended loads of places that were great for Lily and really helped us keep her busy and make the most of our time in Torquay.
We will definately be visiting The Shirley again, we had a brilliant holiday and can't thank them enough for all they did for us.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chubbyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

My friends and I went away to get away from it all and relax, and thats what we did! Debbie, Garry and Adam were so welcoming and made you feel "at home" from the minute you walk through the door. The rooms are clean, fresh and very relaxing the best nights sleep I have had in a long time.
I am recommending it to my family and friends, I may treat my husband and children to a week there next year if they behave!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThequietoneHook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#12 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#8 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marstan
The Marstan
#5 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Hotel

Property: Shirley Hotel
Address: 66 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley, which not only provides Visit England Four Star accredited accommodation but also boasts a Visit England Breakfast Award. Individually styled and situated in a quiet road close to Torquay Harbour, restaurants, bars and shops, this family run Victorian villa still retains much of its original charm and character. Whether your visit is for business or leisure, the cosy and friendly atmosphere at The Shirley will provide you with happy memories of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Shirley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirley Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing