We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shirley Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Richwood(Torquay)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elmington Hotel(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cimon(Torquay)
US$126
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Torquay(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$85
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Marquis Hotel(Torquay)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yardley Manor Hotel(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$86
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (663)
Filter reviews
663 results
Traveller rating
558
96
9
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
558
96
9
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh milkhonesty barlovely hotelbiscuitsbottled waterb bon arrivalcup of teawarm welcomefull englishlittle extrastop floorshort walkgreat hostsnothing is too much troublelots of choiceenjoyable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
614 - 619 of 663 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2009

We have just returned from a 4 day break at The Shirley and we were warmly greeted and immediately offered a welcome cup of tea. We were made to feel like old friends from the start. You only had to ask - from a variation on the breakfast menu, a recommendation for an evening meal, a suggestion of a place to visit or a scenic drive out (including detailed maps printed off straightaway) nothing was ever too much trouble. A lovely home, very warm and friendly hosts, plenty of food, comfortable beds - all you ever want for a short break or a longer holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmatt83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

A truly wonderful hotel. From the warm & friendly greeting upon arrival, the personal attention throughout your stay, to the send off on departure this hotel is an absolute joy. Amidst the beautifully elegant surroundings & the picturesque, but convenient, location, what sets this hotel apart are the people behind it. The owners, Garry & Debbie, could not be more helpful or informative, and Adam, a true star, entertained our children thoughout, which made our trip even more relaxing. A big thank you to you all.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lipsyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

the hotel is fantastic, 5 mins away from the town centre,local bus route,harbour, vews are spetacular , plenty to do. the owners and there son were amazeing, we received a warm welcome on arrival, nothing was to much for them, very friendly,kind ,caring,home from home, every thing was pleasent ,clean and tidy, the rooms are very cosy ,nicely decorated, with welcome tolitetries,tea/coffe making facilities in your room with tv,hair drier,the food was very good with plenty of choice, pack lunches if needed are avalible on request, the building itself is a perfect picture, we only wish we could have stayed longer, we will of course be returning at a later date, our honeymoon was incredible and our stay at the shirley was brillant .thank you so much from mr and mrs weaver

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weaver34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Gary, Debbie and Adam couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful - and always around for a friendly chat !

The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Good breakfast, with a varied menu (and they were happy for you to order slight variations on the menu).

Highly recommended !

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Thank you for such a wonderful return visit. The food, the room and the pool all made it a great holiday for us, but above all your kindness and humour really sets you apart from other hotels. Such a fantastic place and wonderful people, the boys are missing you already. Thanks again, you made our stay really memorable and you made us feel a part of the family.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingjava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews