We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - Nothing too much trouble”
Review of Shirley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shirley Hotel
Ranked #30 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Have stayed a number of times now - and will definitely be back again in 2010
Nothing is too much trouble for the hosts Gary And Debbie. The grand accommodation is warm and welcoming and the breakfasts are not to be missed. Adam does a great job in the dining room ensuring the breakfast are delivered on time and that the tea and toast are kept flowing. The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the central harbour where most people seem to congregate in the summer months.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary_Lynn_Bham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

608 - 614 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2010

having now stayed with these lovely people for 3 marvellous short breaks i can
honestly say its the best for value,and friendlyness that my wifeand i have experienced

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank widger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2009

We have had a good time in the hotel. The owners are friendly, helpful, kind, ... The room is OK. The breakfast is excellent. We can recommend the hotel for people who wants to discover the neighourhoud of Torquay. (Patrick & Cecile)

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank DMP007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

We have just returned from a 4 day break at The Shirley and we were warmly greeted and immediately offered a welcome cup of tea. We were made to feel like old friends from the start. You only had to ask - from a variation on the breakfast menu, a recommendation for an evening meal, a suggestion of a place to visit or a scenic drive out (including detailed maps printed off straightaway) nothing was ever too much trouble. A lovely home, very warm and friendly hosts, plenty of food, comfortable beds - all you ever want for a short break or a longer holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmatt83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

A truly wonderful hotel. From the warm & friendly greeting upon arrival, the personal attention throughout your stay, to the send off on departure this hotel is an absolute joy. Amidst the beautifully elegant surroundings & the picturesque, but convenient, location, what sets this hotel apart are the people behind it. The owners, Garry & Debbie, could not be more helpful or informative, and Adam, a true star, entertained our children thoughout, which made our trip even more relaxing. A big thank you to you all.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lipsyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

the hotel is fantastic, 5 mins away from the town centre,local bus route,harbour, vews are spetacular , plenty to do. the owners and there son were amazeing, we received a warm welcome on arrival, nothing was to much for them, very friendly,kind ,caring,home from home, every thing was pleasent ,clean and tidy, the rooms are very cosy ,nicely decorated, with welcome tolitetries,tea/coffe making facilities in your room with tv,hair drier,the food was very good with plenty of choice, pack lunches if needed are avalible on request, the building itself is a perfect picture, we only wish we could have stayed longer, we will of course be returning at a later date, our honeymoon was incredible and our stay at the shirley was brillant .thank you so much from mr and mrs weaver

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weaver34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Gary, Debbie and Adam couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful - and always around for a friendly chat !

The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Good breakfast, with a varied menu (and they were happy for you to order slight variations on the menu).

Highly recommended !

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0 mi away
Braddon Hall Hotel
Braddon Hall Hotel
#40 of 85 in Torquay
216 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,515 reviews
0 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
390 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hillcroft - Boutique unique
1.1 mi away
The Berburry
The Berburry
#25 of 149 in Torquay
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Hotel

Address: 66 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £58 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley, which not only provides Visit England Four Star accredited accommodation but also boasts a Visit England Breakfast Award. Individually styled and situated in a quiet road close to Torquay Harbour, restaurants, bars and shops, this family run Victorian villa still retains much of its original charm and character. Whether your visit is for business or leisure, the cosy and friendly atmosphere at The Shirley will provide you with happy memories of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Shirley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirley Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing