We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well impressed! Hospitality second to none!”
Review of Shirley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shirley Hotel
Ranked #26 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2010

This was our first stay at The Shirley and both my partner and I enjoyed a relaxing weekend break. We were greeted on arrival by Debbie (joint owner) and straight away were given a welcoming pot of tea. We then met her partner Gary. Both make a lovely, friendly, down-to-earth couple who made us feel very welcome and at home. Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel's decor was impressive and all rooms spotless. Our chosen en-suite bedroom was the hotel's standard type but we found it to be well equipped and clean, with the added advantage of a comfortable bed. The breakfast each day gave us a tasty choice and was cooked and presented to perfection. The location of this hotel is only a short walk away from Torquay's marina allowing us to park our car and not use it again until our stay was over. We both enjoyed a relaxing weekend and rate this hotel as excellent in all aspects including value for money. We will definitely stay here again when we visit Torquay and highly recommend The Shirley to everyone. Sharon and Gary (Weston-super-Mare).

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flowers47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
There are newer reviews for Shirley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2010

Warm welcoming hotel! Felt very homely. Debbie, Garry and Adam are lovely lovely people and did everything to make our stay perfect! We will def be back in the future!!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spencer210610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Lovely Welcome when we arrived from Debbie, Garry and Adam are superb hosts. Debbie, Garry and Adam and there team who you meet at Breakfast make it so very warm and welcoming, Hotel is spotless, room very comfy and so clean, breakfast really good couldn't fault it would definitely stay there again if ever in Torquay area, There is plenty to do in and around Torquay, just ask Garry a wealth of local knowledge

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigelandjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

From the moment we arrived at the Shirley we felt like valued friends instead of paying guests!! Gary and Debbie are the most warm and friendly people who welcome everyone into their lovely hotel!! It's very clean (this means a lot to me!!) and the rooms are most comfortable. Breakfast at the Shirley is a most enjoyable experence, there is plenty to eat and everything cooked is freshley cooked!!! The Shirley is ideally situated in Torquay, the marina, bars and resturants are all within walking distance!! I would definitely go back and reccommend friends to stay there if in the area!!
Thank you Gary and Debbie for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jg2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Was slightly sceptical when I read the rave reviews but this hotel far exceeded our reasonably high expectations. Is not often one is greeted on arrival by the proprietor offering a pot of tea. This set the standard for the 3 nights we were there - hotel very clean, lovely cooked breakfast, and as I said topped up by the knowledgeable, friendly proprietors Garry and Debbie.

Many thanks to you both and may you have a long and successful season - you both deserve it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nessmanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We had a great relaxing time as usual, in fact so relaxing we didn't want to come home!!!
As always Debbie, Gary and Adam made us really welcome. Can't wait to go back.......hint hint J!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaysar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

On arrival we were warmly greeted and offered tea/coffee inthe comfortable lounge. The ownwers are currently renovating some of the rooms but ours was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was one of the best I have had in a while, real home cooking. Ideal location for touring and the owners are very helpful and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#25 of 87 in Torquay
2,946 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#33 of 87 in Torquay
2,428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 87 in Torquay
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#8 of 87 in Torquay
542 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Hotel

Address: 66 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £61 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley, which not only provides Visit England Four Star accredited accommodation but also boasts a Visit England Breakfast Award. Individually styled and situated in a quiet road close to Torquay Harbour, restaurants, bars and shops, this family run Victorian villa still retains much of its original charm and character. Whether your visit is for business or leisure, the cosy and friendly atmosphere at The Shirley will provide you with happy memories of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shirley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirley Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing