We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class weekend break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shirley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shirley Hotel
Ranked #14 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton U.K.
1 review
“First class weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

We were greeted on our arrival by Garry & Debbie (mine hosts) a very pleasant & friendly rception.
We were made to feel part of a family , The bedroom had all the amenities & was well presented & was comfortable , The bar facilities were good with a variety of locally brewed ales, The breakfast was all local produce with a large choice
The location is quite good with just a small walk down hill to the harbour
The parking was slightly awkward but ample
Our overall experience was excellent & we would recommend to friends , we will return again

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blaze000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    92
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
119
404
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

Arrived in the worst of of weather at a late hour, staff were helpful and friendly and could not do enough to make our brief stay enjoyable. Rooms were spotless and in good order. Breakfast was excellent and the banter most enjoyable. Would definately recommend this hotel to friend and family.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m0rganga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

Just arrived back from The Shirley. After booking another hotel on Friday and being told after we had booked that this was unavailable and as it was our anniversary we were worried that we could end up somewhere run of the mill and quite far away from the local attractions. Not the case when i called to make a booking i spoke to Garry on the phone who was more than happy to help and offered us the superior room for our stay. The only room left but surely was the best! We arrived and was greeted with a cup of tea a nice warm welcome and briiliant service. The room was lovely clean and the whole hotel was warm and inviting with beautiful decor. The breakfast was beautifully cooked and the waiter/waitress service was second to none. Location was great too not far from the town and harbour and local resturants of all nationalities were within easy walking distance. Thanks guys for making our anniversary so special. We would definatey rebook to go back again. Only this time we would be bringing our children with us as they would have also loved their stay and especially the lovely swimming pool.
Four star most definatley with five star treatment.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

after a 3 hour car journey we had a warm welcome with a nice cup of tea. Our room was clean and tidy with nice decor. Clean sheets and towels are supplied every day.
Not only was there a water machine on the landing but a bottle is left in your bedroom for each of you.

Breakfast was cooked fresh on request in the morming. Full english with cereals and fresh fruit. Garry makes sure theres a good positive atmosphere in the morning.

Location wise the hotel is 5 mins from the beach and only 30 mins max from Brixham, Paington and Teighmouth. Babbacombe is only 5 mins in the car with its cliff walks, tea rooms and cliff side railway built in the 1920s.

A nice little pub we found(Gary recommended) was the Hole in the Wall within easy walking distance of the hotel with a nice atmosphere and good food.

On the whole we had a good couple of days because we had a hotel we didnt have to worry about.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hancock12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

This was our fouth visit to the Shirley. Garry and Debby never fail to live up to our expectations. Excelent service, confortable rooms and a superb breakfast. Every time we visit the standards are improved upon.
I cannot understand how the Shirley only get a 4 star rating.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llangollen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

First time posted on Trip Advisor-wanted everyone to know what a great hotel this is - Torquays finest example on how to make guests feel at home and how to run a first class hotel - definitely the palce stay. If Torquay was a monopoly board then The Shirley would be Mayfair!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LlangollenLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

Very clean, comfortable and friendly hotel which is a charming place to stay. The owners were very friendly and you got the impression that nothing was too much trouble for them.

If we go to Torquay again we would not hesitate to stay at the Shirley again as it made a great break even better.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashblondenotgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#12 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#8 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marstan
The Marstan
#5 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Hotel

Property: Shirley Hotel
Address: 66 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley, which not only provides Visit England Four Star accredited accommodation but also boasts a Visit England Breakfast Award. Individually styled and situated in a quiet road close to Torquay Harbour, restaurants, bars and shops, this family run Victorian villa still retains much of its original charm and character. Whether your visit is for business or leisure, the cosy and friendly atmosphere at The Shirley will provide you with happy memories of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Shirley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirley Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing