We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Torquays gem of a hotel”
Review of Shirley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shirley Hotel
Ranked #19 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Torquays gem of a hotel”
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Have just got back from a 3 day break at The Shirley with my husband and was not dissaponted. Garry, Debbie and Adam ensure that you have an unforgetable and memorable stay here. From the moment that you arrive all the way through to departure you are made to feel like old family friends and NOTHING is too much trouble. Rooms are very clean and tidy with welcome bottles of water, which I have never had before even in top hotels. The breakfasts are excellent and freshly prepared with so much choice.
Forget other hotels and b+b's while staying in Torquay, you will not be dissapointed. GUARANTEED.
Cornish Lass

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornishlassUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    94
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
120
413
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Spent three nights at the Shirley and we were very well looked after. Lovely welcome including a cup of tea/coffee and lots of information about the area. The room was clean with a few nice touches such as free bottled water, luxury toiletries. Breakfast was perfect with help-yourself cereal, yoghurt, juices etc and huge cooked breakfast prepared to order. 10 minute downhill walk into the centre.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crispin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Arrived tired after travelling the coast line, with no place booked, we were instantly made to feel welcome by Debbie. She gave us the choice of two rooms both priced at £76, we choose the larger of the two. After booking us in and offering us a cup tea we went to our room, when shortly after there was a knock on the door which was Garry with £6 in his hand. It turned out that Debbie had accidently charged us the summer rate, we had no idea of this and would have been none the wiser and perfectly happy paying the £76. We thought this was an indication of how open and honest our hosts were.
The rooms were clean, tidy and well supplied with towells, water, tea, coffee, biscuits and the usual shampoo shower gel etc.Beds were comfortable and we had an excellent nights sleep. Breakfast was splendid with excellent service and banter from Garry the "trainee waiter".
All in all we had a most enjoyable stay all be it only for the one night, we would have no hesitation in staying here again and would recommend to all our friends

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton U.K.
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We were greeted on our arrival by Garry & Debbie (mine hosts) a very pleasant & friendly rception.
We were made to feel part of a family , The bedroom had all the amenities & was well presented & was comfortable , The bar facilities were good with a variety of locally brewed ales, The breakfast was all local produce with a large choice
The location is quite good with just a small walk down hill to the harbour
The parking was slightly awkward but ample
Our overall experience was excellent & we would recommend to friends , we will return again

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blaze000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Arrived in the worst of of weather at a late hour, staff were helpful and friendly and could not do enough to make our brief stay enjoyable. Rooms were spotless and in good order. Breakfast was excellent and the banter most enjoyable. Would definately recommend this hotel to friend and family.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m0rganga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Just arrived back from The Shirley. After booking another hotel on Friday and being told after we had booked that this was unavailable and as it was our anniversary we were worried that we could end up somewhere run of the mill and quite far away from the local attractions. Not the case when i called to make a booking i spoke to Garry on the phone who was more than happy to help and offered us the superior room for our stay. The only room left but surely was the best! We arrived and was greeted with a cup of tea a nice warm welcome and briiliant service. The room was lovely clean and the whole hotel was warm and inviting with beautiful decor. The breakfast was beautifully cooked and the waiter/waitress service was second to none. Location was great too not far from the town and harbour and local resturants of all nationalities were within easy walking distance. Thanks guys for making our anniversary so special. We would definatey rebook to go back again. Only this time we would be bringing our children with us as they would have also loved their stay and especially the lovely swimming pool.
Four star most definatley with five star treatment.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2010

after a 3 hour car journey we had a warm welcome with a nice cup of tea. Our room was clean and tidy with nice decor. Clean sheets and towels are supplied every day.
Not only was there a water machine on the landing but a bottle is left in your bedroom for each of you.

Breakfast was cooked fresh on request in the morming. Full english with cereals and fresh fruit. Garry makes sure theres a good positive atmosphere in the morning.

Location wise the hotel is 5 mins from the beach and only 30 mins max from Brixham, Paington and Teighmouth. Babbacombe is only 5 mins in the car with its cliff walks, tea rooms and cliff side railway built in the 1920s.

A nice little pub we found(Gary recommended) was the Hole in the Wall within easy walking distance of the hotel with a nice atmosphere and good food.

On the whole we had a good couple of days because we had a hotel we didnt have to worry about.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hancock12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#3 of 150 in Torquay
476 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#10 of 150 in Torquay
261 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#8 of 150 in Torquay
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Westgate
The Westgate
#12 of 150 in Torquay
300 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#5 of 150 in Torquay
368 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 150 in Torquay
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Hotel

Property: Shirley Hotel
Address: 66 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley, which not only provides Visit England Four Star accredited accommodation but also boasts a Visit England Breakfast Award. Individually styled and situated in a quiet road close to Torquay Harbour, restaurants, bars and shops, this family run Victorian villa still retains much of its original charm and character. Whether your visit is for business or leisure, the cosy and friendly atmosphere at The Shirley will provide you with happy memories of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shirley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirley Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing