We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent family run Hotel, you will enjoy your stay here!”
Review of Shirley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shirley Hotel
Ranked #30 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2011

The service we recieved at the Shirley was outstanding. It is a family run Hotel and you are made to feel more than welcome to use all of the comunal areas as you are at home. The Hotel is situated in an elevated position so from breakfast time onward whether you are sat in the lounge or on the terrace by the pool, this Hotel gets the sunshine! We stayed for 3 nights and will definately be staying there again. Its good for parking, within 5 mins walk from bars and the marina.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sebastian070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2011

All the reviews are true. This is a lovely place to stay, the owners are very welcoming and it is great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. We were made to feel so welcome, it was more like staying with friends than in a hotel. In fact we enjoyed it so much, that before we left, we booked to go back again in the summer!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marianpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Great hotel, great hosts, great breakfasts, doesnt get any better than this. Have been going to Torquay for New Year for 18 years now and have stopped in many hotels this is the best, thanks to Debs and Gary for a fantastic stay again and not forgetting the wonderful Adam, why go anywhere else book this hotel now.....................

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephenpepperday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

what a wonderful time we had we visited for the new years weekend with are best friends we have converted them to the shirley lovely place, lovely people,lovely breakfast,

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nigelandjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

The owners are incredibly friendly and genuine people, you get a level of service here that simply doesn't exist in Torquays larger (chain) hotels. The room was quiet, clean, well equipped and the bed was exceptional. The breakfast was also very nicely cooked (not just kept warm as in some of the aforementioned large hotels), honestly one of the best full englishs I've had in a long time, and set me up for the day. On the day we left, we booked our next stay, which says it all. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwpenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

A very pleasant and comfortable little hotel. Debbie and Gary are fine hosts and made us feel so welcome . Rooms were very clean and Debbie makes a killer breakfast. We'd go back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim_clairecritchley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0 mi away
Braddon Hall Hotel
Braddon Hall Hotel
#40 of 85 in Torquay
216 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,515 reviews
0 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
390 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hillcroft - Boutique unique
1.1 mi away
The Berburry
The Berburry
#25 of 149 in Torquay
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Hotel

Address: 66 Braddons Hill Road East, Torquay TQ1 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £58 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley, which not only provides Visit England Four Star accredited accommodation but also boasts a Visit England Breakfast Award. Individually styled and situated in a quiet road close to Torquay Harbour, restaurants, bars and shops, this family run Victorian villa still retains much of its original charm and character. Whether your visit is for business or leisure, the cosy and friendly atmosphere at The Shirley will provide you with happy memories of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shirley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirley Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing