We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit for purpose!”
Review of Garway Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garway Lodge
Ranked #28 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fit for purpose!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Julia is trying very hard to provide a homely B&B ambience and is clearly the driving force behind the enterprise. For one night in Torquay, it's fit for purpose. Our room was very clean, with a comfortable bed but didn't need the 2 large chairs which meant you couldn't open the wardrobe or close the curtains! It's probably a good 20 mins walk into town and easy to find, with very handy parking spaces in front of the property. Nothing's too much trouble for Julia - she provided coffee and cake on arrival and gave us a map to help us find our way around town. I would have given Garway Lodge a higher rating if it was classified as a 3 star, rather than a 4 star B&B and I guess that's just down to personal expectations.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmsRUs, Owner at Garway Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for leaving us a review on Trip Advisor.

We do try to make the feel of home from home here, so we are very pleased you were able to pick up on this, Paul and I work together as a team very well.

It does sound as if you booked room 5, which is our small double room and reflected in the price, as the other doubles are larger. Originally there was a sofa in that room, but we moved this out and put the chairs in, so they could be moved easily to gain access to the wardrobe, as they are very light.

We have had guests in all of our rooms very happy to have the additional comfortable seating, as they would rather sit on a chair or sofa, than sit on the bed.

It is also a requirement at our level to have additional seating in all the rooms, from the AA and Visit Britain.

We are pleased you enjoyed coffee and cake on your arrival, we do feel after travelling, it is a way to start to unwind, and get your holiday off to a good start.

Julia and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    29
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
85
37
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed for four nights whilst on a training course. Superb little B&B with fantastic customer service and overall great value for money. Would definitely recommend and stay again.....................!

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmsRUs, Owner at Garway Lodge, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for leaving us a lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, even though you were exhausted from the training :)

We look forward to seeing you again

Julia and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

a warm and welcoming place to stay breakfast was first class and a very large variety to choose from

room was very clean and tidy and even though the beds were separated there was a lot of room to use and put your belongings , did not feel cramped at all

i would stay there again and will allways recommend it to all my frends

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russty67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmsRUs, Owner at Garway Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Robert

It was good to see you both again, we were pleased you both came back to visit us.

We were happy you were comfortable in the twin room you had, this can be a super kingsize bed or twin, we have zip and link mattresses.

We look forward to seeing you again next year.


Julia and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

What a lovely stay. Fantastic room with a wonderful bed. Quiet comfortable room with en suite. Easy to find and with an enthusiastic friendly welcome. A fantastic breakfast as well. What more could you want.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmsRUs, Owner at Garway Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for leaving us a lovely review, it is always a pleasure reading these. It helps to know what is working within the guest house.

We changed all the mattresses to memory foam mattresses, so they very comfortable. It is important to have a good nights sleep.

Thank you for choosing Garway Lodge, and we look forward to seeing you again

Julia and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Paul and Julia, from the outset, were amazing - as a newby to Torquay I had no inkling on how to find the Garway Lodge. Julia had phoned me up on the morning of the trip and offered to pick me up from the bus station. I was overwhelmed by this generosity of spirit and they were patiently awaiting me on my disembarkation from the bus. In my two days I was impressed by their personal service - nothing, it seemed, was too much bother for them. The room was immaculate and the location of the Lodge, although quiet and out of the way, was on the main route into town and I had no problems finding my way around. I cannot stress any more fervently how brilliant Julia and Paul were in my short time under their roof and I will most certainly be staying there again should I return to Torquay. In summary, well worth the money - stay there!!!

Andrew Whitfeld

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Whitfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmsRUs, Owner at Garway Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Andrew, Thank you for leaving us a lovely review, It was a pleasure meeting you.

We are very pleased that you had such a good time, we do pick up from the National Express coach where ever possible, as it is quite a walk with your cases.

We do look forward to seeing you again

Take care

Julia and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My partner and I decided to stay at Garway Lodge while visiting family nearby. We know Torquay well and have stayed in various places before. On arrival we were greeted by the owner who made us feel very welcome. Our room was lovely, very clean and comfortable, the owners had thought of everything, we had lots of hot drinks to choose from, tasty biscuits (always a bonus) and an alarm clock radio which we were even given attachments to charge the iPhone on it! If you forget any essentials there are very cheap options to purchase (toothpaste etc).
Breakfast was lovely, we both had a full English and there were loads of other bits. Cereals, yogurts, juices etc on a little table.
Location is great, it took us about ten minutes to walk to the seafront where we had a meal and a few drinks in the beefeater restaurant. Ocean Drive is one of our favourite restaurants and is about 5-10 mins walk down the same road as Garway lodge - we couldn't get booked in there but it's well worth a visit.

Overall very happy with our stay and will look to visit again in the future!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmsRUs, Owner at Garway Lodge, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for leaving us a lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are in a quiet area away from the harbour, which I found most of our guests prefer. It can be very noisy and busy at night at the harbour, especially with the Stags and Hens.

Ocean Drive is a lovely restaurant with good food, but it does get very busy during the summer. Most restaurants during this period, it would be safer to pre book.

We look forward to seeing you again

Julia and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed for two nights on a weekend in August. The welcome from Julia was very friendly and a hot drink with cake and biscuits was supplied while we booked in. We stayed in the only downstairs room which was very clean and comfortable. It was set up as a double but could be used as a twin. The room had ample space but might be a little cramped if the beds were separated. All the facilities that you would need from a B&B room were there and if something else was needed I am sure the hosts would probably have it or could get it for you. Only slight comment would be as it was hot we left the windows open and because we were close to the road it was a little noisy (I will try an upstairs room next time). The breakfast room was very clean and comfortable but could do with a little de clutter. Reason is that they just want to try and make sure everything is available to hand for you but sometimes less is more if you know what I mean (ironing board ?). You could always ask for something if it was not there. The breakfast was really nice with plenty of choice and catered for individuals that might need that something different. Again if you have a special need you only needed to ask them or let them know before hand. Parking is ample although if you go out and leave your car there you have to leave your keys behind in case they need to move them around (I do not have a problem with this). I would definitely recommend a stay at Garway lodge as you wont be disappointed with the comfort service you receive. I will definitely be going back if I have a stay in Torquay again. Thank you Julia and Paul.

Room Tip: They all look comfortable and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmsRUs, Owner at Garway Lodge, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for leaving a lovely review, and you would be very welcome if you visit Torquay again.

We have two rooms that can be set up as twin beds, the super-kingsize bed is a Zip and Link, which means we can separate them, We move one bed against the wall, and the bedside cabinet between the beds.

We also have 2 fans available if you do not like the windows open, so far we have only had 3 guests use these.

I have take note of your comments re the Breakfast room, and removed the magazines we had for guests to read. Although, the Ironing Board does need to stay in there, It is now laying down behind the Sofa, instead of standing up. As we are a guest house, there are times we are not available, and in the past guests have needed the ironing board while we were out. We are also going to be re-decorating the breakfast room, so hopefully it will look nicer when you visit next time.

With regards to the parking, we ask guest who are not using their cars to park at the front, as they are not blocking anyone, but if you have parked behind another car and you go out without your car, we may need to move it. This is the only time we ask you to leave your keys in your room, we do ask your permission first.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip, and we look forward to seeing you again

Take care

Julia and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Harmony Guest House
Harmony Guest House
#24 of 149 in Torquay
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#25 of 149 in Torquay
192 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avron House
Avron House
#33 of 149 in Torquay
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cranborne Guest Accommodation
0.3 mi away
Kethla House
Kethla House
#35 of 149 in Torquay
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marmalade Bed & Breakfast
Marmalade Bed & Breakfast
#76 of 149 in Torquay
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garway Lodge

Property: Garway Lodge
Address: 79 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Garway Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi award winning Guest House in Torquay, catering exclusively for adults, where your comfort and relaxation is guaranteed. Enjoy quality double, single and twin en-suite or Superior Double ‘Chocolate Room.’ Whether your stay is for business or leisure, choose 'room only' or spoil yourself with our extensive breakfast menu of local Devon produce all freshly cooked to order and included in standard price. Free parking and wi-fi. Close to seafront, transport links and Riviera International Conference Centre. Contact us for details of our special offers, short breaks and seasonal packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Garway Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garway Lodge Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing