We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value holiday”
Review of Nethway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nethway Hotel
Ranked #22 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Dave and his family have a lovely
hotel which is run on a family basis providing good food , entertainment and comfort,
nothing is too much trouble for them. They are very friendly and helpful and i would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We have always requested and got a ground floor rn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LorainePhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2011

As others have said, the welcome is great and the service is with a smile. We enjoyed our stay, found the location to be good and breakfast was great. We had a balcony room which we really enjoyed and would certainly recommend. We will definately be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doddy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

What a great welcome after traveling from the north of England.(Micheal your a star.)
The hotel was very clean and well decorated, Food was really good and entertainment was enjoyed by all,Jo Dave and all the staff were very friendly. We have stayed at bigger hotels which haven't been half as good as the Nethway.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vworswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Staff very helpfully and rooms very clean and tidy. Food was excellent and service very good.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DHughes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Stayed here with my hubby and 3 friends - the owners are really lovely and accomodating and spoke to us about the history of the hotel. The food was great - piping hot, plenty of choices and loads of it. The remaining staff were accomodating and helpful. The owners are continuing to re furb the hotel so some of the rooms are due for updating but this does not distract from the location of the hotel the friendliness of the staff and a relaxing stay. I'll be watching this space so that I can return when the rest of the rooms are refurbished.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterVonParsnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We spent a few days at the Nethway Hotel and will certainly be coming back - we will need to book early as this hotel is clearly very popular as it is always booked up well in advance! Jo and Dave are a lovely couple and were great hosts from the moment we arrived, always ready to pour us a drink and checking we (and all of the other guests) were happy! I certainly do not agree with a couple of previous reviews about the hotel looking 'shabby' and not looked after. Jo has clearly spent alot of time re-decorating and improving the hotel and we were lucky enough to have a look inside some of the other rooms, which are all individually decorated to a very high standard. Our bedroom had a gorgeous view over the bay and we enjoyed sitting out on the balcony and watching the boats. It was a bit too cold to go in the pool but it looked clean and the furniture around the pool was new and very comfy to sit in when the sun was out! We had a full English breakfast in the hotel each morning (served with huge smiles by all the staff!) which was lovely, the portions were large and there was a great selection to choose from. We also enjoyed taking advantage of the happy hour prices in the bar in the evenings as well as the entertainment which was different every night - we were very impressed! The hotel is ideally located within a 5 minute walk from both the beach and the town centre but if we didn't fancy shopping, Dave and Jo were always on hand with local knowledge of places to go and things to do. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and we will certainly be coming back in the near future!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LGN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Had booked a short stay for the Bank Holiday weekend and was glad it wasn't too much longer. Perfectly good arrival and a very polite welcome. The reception area is immediately followed by the bar area which looked comfortable enough, although we did not use this. Our room was the first room in rather a sad-looking, neglected corridor. The room made a perfectly solid impression. A comfortable bed, new-ish carpet and some sturdy-looking furniture. However, there were some negatives - there were a few stains on the bed sheets and a good covering of dust around the room. Whilst there was some pleasant modern looking touches in the room, it wasn't enough to distract us from the ugly 1970s woodchip wallpaper and the various scratches, nicks and peeling paintwork. However, this is not to say the room was unpleasant, but just a bit neglected and in need of genuine decoration rather than the cracks being papered over with modern prints or a lampshade. The main disappointment was the bathroom, which was simply awful. As standard, were the numerous scratches, nicks and peeling paintwork, but these coupled with an outdated bathroom suite, stained towels and a filthy floor (lots of different length and colour hairs!) meant for an uncomfortable morning and before-bed experience. The breakfast was unspectacular, yet very generous and we couldn't fault any of the morning staff. The outside area and the pool area looked good enough, but it wasn't really the weather to spend too much time outside.
All in all, we were satisfied with our stay, but didn't feel we got value for money and our overall experience was just "okay". That's not to say that there aren't some positive points - we found all staff encountered very pleasant and the location of the hotel (around 10 minutes walk to the seafront) was very good. However, the hotel is in serious need of refurbishment and investment and as Torbay has a wealth of hotel options, I would recommend looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EverH0pefulTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#7 of 86 in Torquay
545 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 86 in Torquay
408 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 86 in Torquay
895 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#21 of 86 in Torquay
1,140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 86 in Torquay
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nethway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nethway Hotel

Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £49 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nethway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nethway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nethway Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing