We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RUDE OWNER”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Nethway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nethway Hotel
Ranked #32 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“RUDE OWNER”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Came to this hotel yesterday, the owner and his wife answered the door. I commented on the SMALL amount of parking spaces the owner rudely answered "it's more than enough". We haven't encountered him since until tonight (yes I am currently in my room writing this) I asked him for a glass with ice to have my pop with.. Hr RUDELY started shouting at me and my partner in front of his regulars... Telling me I would have to pay for the glass and Ice like premier inn (no need to flatter yourself mr owner I pray I'm in a premier inn) after a ten minute lecture he gave me the glass then my mother paid him for the glass of ice (which he gladly took) maybe this could be towards a new cleaner bathroom?? Ps the lady owner was lovely. Please sort out your customer service and cleanliness. CHEERS.. Do not come here pay a bit more

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stacedonna92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ji16480, Manager at Nethway Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Unfortunately this is the downside of Tripadvisor, which can usually be an amazingly useful tool for genuine holidaymakers and hoteliers. We use reviews of our hotel, both good and bad, to improve our guest experience and feel we run a good value warm and friendly establishment. Reviews like this are not helpful to anyone and are sadly down to pure nastiness. Sorry, but we are not prepared to allow anyone to take advantage of the relaxed environment (as in this case by supplying glasses and ice so that someone can consume their own drinks in our function room) just so that we are blackmailed into not getting bad reviews. As a longstanding hotelier, I do feel that this is unfortunately what this site is now breeding and it is so sad. I, will therefore, repeat myself and answer this review honestly as I have the other two from this group as follows:-

As per my previous responses to your group reviews, unfortunately we do not supply glasses and ice for own alcohol consumption in our function room. Also, I can categorically state that no one rudely told you that there was more than enough parking on arrival, no one shouted at you and your partner in the bar (backed up by all the guests present in the bar) and no money was taken from your mother for ice. We are pleased to see that your "negative" views of our hotel didn't deter you from completing the remainder of your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    52
    17
    12
    7
See reviews for
39
99
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Disgusting customer service. Asked for glass and ice and rude owner told us that if we stayed at the premiere inn we would have to pay for this.... In front of all the guests sitting in the bar. No real parking facilities, basic rooms, that's ok but do expect a bit of courtesy to paying guests. Would recommend you stay at the premiere inn.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ji16480, Manager at Nethway Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel whilst you are still staying with us. I am sorry that you were unhappy that we were not prepared to give you four emply glasses with ice so that you could consume your own drinks in our function room. I really don't think any establishment with a licensed bar, not even the Premier Inn, would be prepared to do that. I am pleased to see that you have been happy to continue your stay with us though and that you have managed to park your car at all times in the hotel car park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 5 years ago and decided to return for a weekend break,Dave and Jo were just starting to develop the hotel on our first visit and we were very impressed with what they have achieved since then.We enjoyed our first break here but found a lot of improvements and upgrades had been made throughout the hotel since then,our room was really nice with a good sea view, well decorated and very clean as was the hotel in general.This was complimented by the friendly owners and their staff.Will try not to leave it so long to return next time.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 145juliec145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

we had a really warm welcome from Dave and the staff. The room was clean and the bed really comfortable.The food was excellent and plenty of it! the entertainment was great and Colin the waiter made the holiday even more enjoyable with his friendly banter.Overall a really nice place to stay and we would not hesitate to return

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laneeWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

when we arrived Dave and his wife were there to greet us with a nice cup of tea or coffee which was lovely,cases were taken to our room.Our room was lovely,comfy beds and soft fluffy large towels,a beautiful view of the sea. Breakfast and evening meal were excellent served by friendly staff.There is a bus stop right outside with frequent service we walked down into Torquay through Torre Abbey then caught the bus back. We had a lovely time

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dendy355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Just returned from new year break with Nova Travel of Chesterfield. First time with them and were very pleased with The Nethway, Dave and Jo plus all the other staff made us very welcome. Food was excellent and the entertainment was very good. Will certainly visit them again in the future. Maureen and Bernard Slack of Eastwood.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed here on business. Excellent room and food was fresh tasty and delicious.
My room was comfy, clean, roomy and well equipped.
The proprietors were friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Next time I am in torquay this e
Will be my hotel of choice

Room Tip: Several rooms on ground floor if you aren't keen on the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#34 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#55 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crimdon Dene Hotel
Crimdon Dene Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nethway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nethway Hotel

Property: Nethway Hotel
Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nethway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nethway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nethway Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing