We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend away”
Review of The Cleveland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cleveland
Ranked #4 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Purley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing weekend away”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Very friendly owners and we were made to feel at home straight away. The room was spotlessly clean and breakfast was excellent with a good choice. The house was in a quiet location which was not to far from the town centre. We enjoyed our stay very much and will consider returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
191
25
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We have just spent 3nights in the cleveland and had a great time. The hosts were lovely, helpful and prepared fab breakfasts and amazing scones and ginger cake at afternoon tea. The blue suite was such a tranquil area and the hotel had a lovely ambience. Would highly recommend anyone to stay there, it was home away from home.

Room Tip: The suites are spacious, spotlessly clean with great facilities, really quiet would highly recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Friendly hosts who have taken over from the previous owners. Great for my overnight stop in Torquay whist on my way to Cornwall.
The freshly cooked full english breakfast was very enjoyable, in a dinning room that has a great view. The rooms have TV, Tea & coffee maker it has on site parking and free wifi!
All in all, for me it's perfect.
Every time I have stayed here, I forget how many times, I have found evrything clean and just how it should be..
For a good evening meal I go to the local Pub, the Bull & Bush, It's an easy walk to get there, and the quality of food is good.
l definitely be back on my next trip

Room Tip: I hvaen't ever had a bad one, even the single room is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_LT3916MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

just arrived back from staying in the cleveland hotel. we had a great welcome after our journey and were offered coffee and cake on arrival. lissanne showed us to our rooms and even give us a map off the computer to show best ways into town. the rooms was spotlessly clean with plenty of coffee and tea facilities. the breakfast was excellent, fresh local sausage. bacon, eggs etc.
there was wi-fi available. for value for money and friendly people and cleanliness you cant go wrong booking this hotel. best wishes to lissanne, matt and their little boy for the future.

Room Tip: we had room 15 it was small but spotless, ideal for what we paid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockwold cum Wilton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Welcoming, Helpful, and considerate. Room was clean and comfortable with fast internet. It was a very pleasant stay. The breakfast that was included was delicious and filling. The hosts were amazing and friendly and stayed up late to welcome us even at a late hour.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan61987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The hosts were very welcoming as was their young son. We were offered some tea and cake when we arrived which was a lovely gesture. The hotel was lovely and clean as was our room and the breakfast was delicious and nice and hot. We booked our room fairly late and it was a little small, however as we only stayed 1 night it didn't really matter. We don't usually visit Torquay - we were just picking up a car but if I were to re-visit Torquay I would definitely stay here again- I would just book earlier and ask for a slightly larger room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sherry316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We just loved this place! A personal, charming touch! Friendly hosts who helped us with great hints and tips for what to do in Torquay during our stay! The freshly cooked breakfast was lovely. Room had TV, coffee maker and free wifi! All in all perfect! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,888 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,122 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 87 in Torquay
483 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Property: The Cleveland
Address: 7 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cleveland 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matt and Lissanne look forward to welcoming you to The Cleveland, our family-run guest house in Torquay. We are located within easy walking distance of Torquay's award winning beach, bustling town centre and harbour. Our seven bedrooms are all en-suite and we have free WIFI and off-street parking for our guests to use during their stay. We are fully licensed with spacious and well-appointed public rooms. We also have a beautiful south-facing sun terrace and garden. Why not relax and enjoy a well-earned drink after a day out enjoying all that The English Riviera has to offer? Our vision is to provide our guests with exceptional standards of quality and service whilst maintaining a home-from-home feeling. If you are travelling to The Cleveland by public transport the coach and train station are both just a five minute taxi ride away. If you are driving, we are located just a short distance from the main A3022 in Torquay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Hotel Torquay
The Cleveland Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing