We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cleveland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cleveland
Ranked #7 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Perfect Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a beautiful hotel run by a fantastic couple. Lissanne and Matt are both dedicated to making your stay at this hotel as perfect as possible. Its homely and very welcoming. We stayed in their king-size room and it was gorgeous. The bed was so comfy with lots of room.
The breakfast was lovely, especially the scrambled egg. All the food is freshly prepared.
Overall a perfect stay and we will definitely be staying there again.
Thanks Lissanne and Matt for everything.

Room Tip: The king size room is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilieDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
73
179
22
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

This was definitely one of my best places at which I have stayed. I arrived at 11.30am and was seen into a parking place and shown to my room having been offered a cup of tea or coffee after my long drive down. The room was very nice with a wardrobe and chest of drawers above which was a flat screen television with all the digital channels. Above the bed there was a shelf with a kettle with tea bags, coffee sachets and milks. At the end of the bed was a wash basin and folding door leading to a shower room with wc. The hotel is situated in a quiet area and I had a very good night's sleep. The bed was very comfortable and the shower the following morning was hot and powerful. Breakfast was a treat. There was a buffet of cereal and juices before a beautifully cooked full English with toast and coffee. There is also a bar although I did not make use of it. The proprietors address every guest by their first name. The hotel was spotless throughout and I would thoroughly recommend staying here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tutbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We have stayed in many hotels and guest houses but this one has that special something.
We could not have wished for better.The place was spotlessly clean,the food was lovely and the owners were so friendly.Should anyone ask us to recommend a place to stay in Torquay then we would have no hesitation in recommending The Cleveland.We shall certainly be booking again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAULCTUCKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Lovely 2 day break in Torquay at The Cleveland. Wonderful hosts from the time of our arrival until our departure and offered tea & home made cake before we got our coats off. The location was ideal for us with just a short 20min walk to the sea front via Torre Abbey.
The breakfast was wholesome and filling with a number of choices available. A taxi at night from Cary Parade which is on the front costs £6 and the location is in a pleasant leafy suburb surrounded by Hotels and Bed & Breakfasts. It was noticeably quiet at night with very little traffic noise. I would highly recommend The Cleveland and we will definitely be staying again on our return. A note of warning though to anyone with walking difficulties. The drive up to the hotel is very steep but short.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing South as it's a lovely view over the gardens and surrounding area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ironman93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Very friendly owners and we were made to feel at home straight away. The room was spotlessly clean and breakfast was excellent with a good choice. The house was in a quiet location which was not to far from the town centre. We enjoyed our stay very much and will consider returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We have just spent 3nights in the cleveland and had a great time. The hosts were lovely, helpful and prepared fab breakfasts and amazing scones and ginger cake at afternoon tea. The blue suite was such a tranquil area and the hotel had a lovely ambience. Would highly recommend anyone to stay there, it was home away from home.

Room Tip: The suites are spacious, spotlessly clean with great facilities, really quiet would highly recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Friendly hosts who have taken over from the previous owners. Great for my overnight stop in Torquay whist on my way to Cornwall.
The freshly cooked full english breakfast was very enjoyable, in a dinning room that has a great view. The rooms have TV, Tea & coffee maker it has on site parking and free wifi!
All in all, for me it's perfect.
Every time I have stayed here, I forget how many times, I have found evrything clean and just how it should be..
For a good evening meal I go to the local Pub, the Bull & Bush, It's an easy walk to get there, and the quality of food is good.
l definitely be back on my next trip

Room Tip: I hvaen't ever had a bad one, even the single room is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_LT3916MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#8 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#6 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#12 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Property: The Cleveland
Address: 7 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cleveland 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matt and Lissanne look forward to welcoming you to The Cleveland, our family-run guest house in Torquay. We are located within easy walking distance of Torquay's award winning beach, bustling town centre and harbour. Our seven bedrooms are all en-suite and we have free WIFI and off-street parking for our guests to use during their stay. We are fully licensed with spacious and well-appointed public rooms. We also have a beautiful south-facing sun terrace and garden. Why not relax and enjoy a well-earned drink after a day out enjoying all that The English Riviera has to offer? Our vision is to provide our guests with exceptional standards of quality and service whilst maintaining a home-from-home feeling. If you are travelling to The Cleveland by public transport the coach and train station are both just a five minute taxi ride away. If you are driving, we are located just a short distance from the main A3022 in Torquay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Hotel Torquay
The Cleveland Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing