We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Cleveland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cleveland
Ranked #5 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Lovely Guest house situated in a great area nice and quiet with a lovely 10 minute walk to the beach and harbour. After a long jorney we were greeted with a pot of tea and coffee and cake. The family room was superd lovely big room which was decorated beautifully with a travel cot and bedding provided for our baby. Lissanne and Matt were very helpful and accomadating with regards to our baby, stored food and bottles in fridges, provided high chair and set a space for baby at the breakfast table etc. The breakfast was lovely a great selection and choice. They also have a beautiful garden were you can relax and play. Would definitely stay at the Cleveland Guest house again and will be telling all my family and friends about it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amelia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
191
25
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Quality feel throughout, from the very comfortable beds to the toiletries. clean, tidy, good décor, helpful friendly owners, there when you need them, not over bearing, very comfortable lounge, and a fantastic breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 114426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Accommodation was brilliant. It is exactly want we wanted. Couldnt have asked for more. We were extremely impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the couple that run the b&b The b&b is kept spotless. Never seen anywhere so clean and tidy! It is better than any hotel we have been in. Fully recommended. We will definitely be back again!!! Many thanks.

Room Tip: The deluxe suite is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Lovely couple running the house, friendly and helpful from the booking process throughout the stay and check out. We've got a lovely room on a discount offer through Grupon and were nevertheless looked after to the highest standard. Really enjoyed our stay there, I've booked a few days for my partners B'day. Hotel is located in a lovely quiet area at the back which allows a nice stroll to seafront and marina. Very easy to find. Comfy beds, quiet comfortable rooms. Will definitely go back if going to Devon. Thank You!

Edyta

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edyta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I was down in Torquay over the weekend for a conference and this B & B was booked for me.....I was not disappointed. A lovely quiet and tranquil place which is south facing, so with the recent warm weather it was nice to sit in the garden and enjoy the sun. The room had had was very well appointed with en suite, tv and coffee and tea making facilities. Matt and Lisanne are the perfect hosts and made me feel very welcome. Breakfast varied from full English to basically whatever you wanted. Nothing was to much trouble. As I put in their visitors book on checking out this morning, if ever I'm in Torquay again, this is my first choice for accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adt52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed at The Cleveland for 1 night on business and I can honestly say that is the best B&B I have ever stayed in. Upon arrival, after a hard days work, I was warmly greeted by Lissanne with a pot of tea and a slice of homemade cake. I had a single room which was decorated to a really high standard with tea and coffee making facilities and a comfy bed. Towels were soft and fluffy, quality complimentary shower gel/shampoo, even the toilet paper was top quality!
Breakfast was varied, cereals, fruit salad, yoghurt, fresh fruit a selection of cooked breakfasts including a full english.
It also has a licensed bar with a good selection of beers and spirits.
Don't hesitate, book this B&B if you want value for money.
Thanks Lissanne, Matt & Thomas for your great hospitality......I'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audrey1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodbridge va
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Have you ever wished to go somewhere where nothing seems too much effort, and to make you as comfortable as possible away from home is done without a thought? well- I guess you have never been to The Cleveland. I cannot believe they have been doing this for less than a year- their gifting in the hospitality are with out compare. The home and rooms are impeccable, the location- so much nicer than closer to all the traffic sound at sea view hotels! ( I know we did one night at one!) Peaceful quiet, elegant and homely all at the same time. Lovely family- lovely experience. Incredible Value, and warmest reception I ever had anywhere.

Room Tip: oops- there is no pool- I hot that button in error!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wimberleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,877 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,119 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#4 of 87 in Torquay
482 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Property: The Cleveland
Address: 7 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cleveland 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matt and Lissanne look forward to welcoming you to The Cleveland, our family-run guest house in Torquay. We are located within easy walking distance of Torquay's award winning beach, bustling town centre and harbour. Our seven bedrooms are all en-suite and we have free WIFI and off-street parking for our guests to use during their stay. We are fully licensed with spacious and well-appointed public rooms. We also have a beautiful south-facing sun terrace and garden. Why not relax and enjoy a well-earned drink after a day out enjoying all that The English Riviera has to offer? Our vision is to provide our guests with exceptional standards of quality and service whilst maintaining a home-from-home feeling. If you are travelling to The Cleveland by public transport the coach and train station are both just a five minute taxi ride away. If you are driving, we are located just a short distance from the main A3022 in Torquay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Hotel Torquay
The Cleveland Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing