We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Excellent stay'” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cleveland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cleveland
Ranked #7 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cuba
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“'Excellent stay'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were greeted by Matt and Lisa-anne with tea/coffee and cake on arrival and made to feel very welcome from the beginning. We had a lovely room which was very spacious/very clean and well furnished. Breakfast each day was lovely and nothing was too much trouble. The lounge and dining-room was very pleasant and had lovely views. The hotel is within walking distance to the town and in a lovely area. We will definitely be returning and also recommending The Cleveland to our family and friends. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
73
179
22
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We would return and stay in the Cleveland again but we would have a bigger room food was great and matt and his wife were lovely couldn't have asked for a better welcome the rooms were beautiful cleaned every day the location was only a short walk from the town we had a great weekend and would recommend staying at this guest house

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julieolds1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

An excellent guest house with very friendly, welcoming and helpful proprietors - far superior to the old-fashioned English seaside guest houses many will remember from their childhood. An excellent full English breakfast was included in an already very reasonable price. My single room was clean and comfortable and en-suite with shower. Nice light breakfast room. Comfortable lounge. Free WiFi. Good location within easy walking distance of the bay and harbour. There was absolutely nothing to dislike, and I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: As far as I could see, all the rooms were equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our hosts were brilliant, greeted us with the offer of tea or coffee on our arrival and asked it we'd had a good journey.

The rooms were cosy and comfortable and exceptionally clean. Breakfasts were superb. On the Sunday we needed early breakfast. This was no bother for them and was served cheerfully.

The garden was lovely and the whole of our time at the hotel was cheerful and relaxing. On our arrival home we received an e-mail fro them asking if we'd had a safe journey home

Room Tip: Look around, and go with your gut feeling, but speak to hoteliers as well as agents
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 407Jemima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Lovely Guest house situated in a great area nice and quiet with a lovely 10 minute walk to the beach and harbour. After a long jorney we were greeted with a pot of tea and coffee and cake. The family room was superd lovely big room which was decorated beautifully with a travel cot and bedding provided for our baby. Lissanne and Matt were very helpful and accomadating with regards to our baby, stored food and bottles in fridges, provided high chair and set a space for baby at the breakfast table etc. The breakfast was lovely a great selection and choice. They also have a beautiful garden were you can relax and play. Would definitely stay at the Cleveland Guest house again and will be telling all my family and friends about it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amelia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Quality feel throughout, from the very comfortable beds to the toiletries. clean, tidy, good décor, helpful friendly owners, there when you need them, not over bearing, very comfortable lounge, and a fantastic breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 114426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Accommodation was brilliant. It is exactly want we wanted. Couldnt have asked for more. We were extremely impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the couple that run the b&b The b&b is kept spotless. Never seen anywhere so clean and tidy! It is better than any hotel we have been in. Fully recommended. We will definitely be back again!!! Many thanks.

Room Tip: The deluxe suite is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#8 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#6 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#12 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Property: The Cleveland
Address: 7 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cleveland 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matt and Lissanne look forward to welcoming you to The Cleveland, our family-run guest house in Torquay. We are located within easy walking distance of Torquay's award winning beach, bustling town centre and harbour. Our seven bedrooms are all en-suite and we have free WIFI and off-street parking for our guests to use during their stay. We are fully licensed with spacious and well-appointed public rooms. We also have a beautiful south-facing sun terrace and garden. Why not relax and enjoy a well-earned drink after a day out enjoying all that The English Riviera has to offer? Our vision is to provide our guests with exceptional standards of quality and service whilst maintaining a home-from-home feeling. If you are travelling to The Cleveland by public transport the coach and train station are both just a five minute taxi ride away. If you are driving, we are located just a short distance from the main A3022 in Torquay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Hotel Torquay
The Cleveland Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing