We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of The Cleveland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cleveland
Ranked #5 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in June 14 for 2 nights, it's a great small hotel, very personal service and lovely hosts that couldn't do enough for us. Unlike most of the other hotels I have stayed in in Torquay it's up to date and not tired. It's also a decent building and so no hearing other guests which is unusual. They have parking which is a little tight but plenty of space on the road at a push and never an issue. Probably 15 mins walk into town but a taxi is only a fiver and there's plenty around. Nice breakfast also.

I would recommend The Cleveland if you need to stay in Torquay - steer clever of the big hotels as they are generally quite poor.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank neclemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
80
189
25
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I stayed for 1 night - the room was perfect with attention to detail in every way. The owners were very friendly and helpful . Breakfast was amazing . A wonderful stay - we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linesio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kegworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Very comfortable place to stay, tastfully and beautifully decorated house with parking spaces for everyone. Great choice of breakfast. Welcoming and friendly hosts who helped us choose places to visit, eat out, buy pasties, etc. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very comfortable B&B, with an outstanding breakfast. Lissanne and Matt most welcoming and helpful, and the comfortable lounge with its bar is good for unwinding at the end of the day. Sea front about 15 minutes walk, but pubs, Indian Restaurant and Fish and Chip restaurant only 5 minutes away. All in all an excellent spot, and we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We recently returned from a few nights break in Torquay. We chose The Cleveland after sifting through many reviews of different B+B's in Torquay and can honestly say it lived up to its reviews! Friendly hosts, exceptionally clean room comfortable bed and fantastic breakfast (eggs poached to perfection!). All in all exceptional value for money! Would highly recommend to anyone who goes by the reviews don't hesitate book! :)))

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 644Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Just had a wonderful short break at The Cleveland. Lissane and Matt could not have been more helpful and made our stay so lovely. Really enjoyed the afternoon tea! Look forward to go back in the future and would definitely recommend them.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuba
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were greeted by Matt and Lisa-anne with tea/coffee and cake on arrival and made to feel very welcome from the beginning. We had a lovely room which was very spacious/very clean and well furnished. Breakfast each day was lovely and nothing was too much trouble. The lounge and dining-room was very pleasant and had lovely views. The hotel is within walking distance to the town and in a lovely area. We will definitely be returning and also recommending The Cleveland to our family and friends. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,814 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,100 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 150 in Torquay
249 reviews
1.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Property: The Cleveland
Address: 7 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cleveland 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matt and Lissanne look forward to welcoming you to The Cleveland, our family-run guest house in Torquay. We are located within easy walking distance of Torquay's award winning beach, bustling town centre and harbour. Our seven bedrooms are all en-suite and we have free WIFI and off-street parking for our guests to use during their stay. We are fully licensed with spacious and well-appointed public rooms. We also have a beautiful south-facing sun terrace and garden. Why not relax and enjoy a well-earned drink after a day out enjoying all that The English Riviera has to offer? Our vision is to provide our guests with exceptional standards of quality and service whilst maintaining a home-from-home feeling. If you are travelling to The Cleveland by public transport the coach and train station are both just a five minute taxi ride away. If you are driving, we are located just a short distance from the main A3022 in Torquay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Hotel Torquay
The Cleveland Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing