We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of The Cleveland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cleveland
Ranked #6 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Just arrived back from The Cleveland Hotel.Would recommend this Hotel.The room was excellent as was the Bathroom.The breakfast was great,especially the scrambled eggs.All in all would give it 10 out of 10.The Owners couldn't do enough for you,even park your car!!!!.Give it a try you won't regret it.Lynne and Terry.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
80
186
23
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have stayed in several places in Torquay as we visit family who live in torquay and I can honestly say this is the best hotel by far , we where welcomed by Lissianne and Matthew with tea and home made cakes on our arrival the hotel is well presented clean and everything presented to a high standard ,nothing to much trouble breakfast and service fantastic and rooms are great lots of little details that make the stay a memorable we stayed 3 nights and would recommend it quiet location and only a short walk to the sea front we will be back :) Susan Stuart & jean from Rochdale

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue2432014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay at The Cleveland. Thought all the brilliant reviews were too good to be true but thankfully found it to be as other guests had described. Lissanne helped with our bags and tea/coffee and homemade cake served on our arrival. We had specified that my husband ate gluten free food and Lissanne had made cake especially for him. Breakfast was delicious (cooked by Matt) - particularly good scrambled egg. Again gluten free bread and sausages provided. Room was very clean, big and beautifully decorated (king suite). Bed was so comfortable we wanted to take it home! Toiletries, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits, bottled water all provided in the room and lovely fluffy dressing gowns too. Local area leaflets in the room as well as in the main hallway. It was our first stay in a B&B with our 23 month old daughter and she was looked after very well. Travel cot provided in our room and she was allowed to play with their son's toys in the garden. Lissanne made a fuss of her, providing toys, cleaning her dishes and even taking her for a walk so we could get our breakfast in peace. About a 20 minute walk to the centre, nice quiet location. Nothing is too much trouble and would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APlews2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

A very warm welcome on arrival, with hot drinks and cake. A very well decorated room which was of good size. Breakfast was exceptional and the owners couldn't do enough for us during our stay, they made us and our young daughter feel very welcome. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed for 1 night on our way from Cornwall to Somerset. Read the reviews on trip advisor and found them to be accurate! Spotlessly clean hotel, attentive hosts & really nice room. Breakfast was good & freshly made. We would definitely stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DillySouthWestUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Had a lovely time at The Cleveland,the accommodation was brilliant,the food was fantastic,including the glutan free meals.compliments to the hostess,i nearly forgot,and to the chef,a very good team.Thanks for a lovely stay,we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Very good B & B, hosts were great, accommodation great, food great and the bedroom was exceptional for the price and had his/her dressing gowns which was not expected.
This B&B was maintained to a very high standard and the décor was in keeping with the property.
There is a bar which we used one night but did not see any other guests use it. Only one little thing I found the mattress on the bed to hard for me as I have arthritis it hurt my joints.
We would stay here again when back in this area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueWinfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,754 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
235 reviews
1.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#7 of 87 in Torquay
1,015 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Property: The Cleveland
Address: 7 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cleveland 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matt and Lissanne look forward to welcoming you to The Cleveland, our family-run guest house in Torquay. We are located within easy walking distance of Torquay's award winning beach, bustling town centre and harbour. Our seven bedrooms are all en-suite and we have free WIFI and off-street parking for our guests to use during their stay. We are fully licensed with spacious and well-appointed public rooms. We also have a beautiful south-facing sun terrace and garden. Why not relax and enjoy a well-earned drink after a day out enjoying all that The English Riviera has to offer? Our vision is to provide our guests with exceptional standards of quality and service whilst maintaining a home-from-home feeling. If you are travelling to The Cleveland by public transport the coach and train station are both just a five minute taxi ride away. If you are driving, we are located just a short distance from the main A3022 in Torquay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Hotel Torquay
The Cleveland Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing