We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”
Review of The Cleveland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cleveland
Ranked #6 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

An amazing small hotel. First class in every respect. Will definitely be staying here again and recommending it to friends.
Such a friendly welcome with home-made cake and tea. Wonderful room; comfortable and beautifully clean. The breakfast was super and catered for my vegan needs and the needs of my small grandson.
Very convenient location for touring in Devon.
Amazing owners who go that extra mile to make you feel wanted and welcome.

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor was excellent. excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

It may have changed owners but everything is tip top. The breakfast is superb and the rooms are wonderful. Hospitality from start to finish is really good. Nothing is too much trouble. We shall certainly be going again.

Dave and Judy

Room Tip: Go for an upstair room, they are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Just like to thank Matt and Lissanne for their hospitality at the Cleverland and would thoroughly recommend the Cleveland for any one wanting a relaxing and enjoyable break.From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome with a superb afternoon tea and a friendly greeting.Could not fault the room,breakfast and service and nothing seemed too much trouble for our hosts.We stayed for 3 nights and wished we had stayed longer,hopefully we will be able to return again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank negle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Just arrived back from The Cleveland Hotel.Would recommend this Hotel.The room was excellent as was the Bathroom.The breakfast was great,especially the scrambled eggs.All in all would give it 10 out of 10.The Owners couldn't do enough for you,even park your car!!!!.Give it a try you won't regret it.Lynne and Terry.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have stayed in several places in Torquay as we visit family who live in torquay and I can honestly say this is the best hotel by far , we where welcomed by Lissianne and Matthew with tea and home made cakes on our arrival the hotel is well presented clean and everything presented to a high standard ,nothing to much trouble breakfast and service fantastic and rooms are great lots of little details that make the stay a memorable we stayed 3 nights and would recommend it quiet location and only a short walk to the sea front we will be back :) Susan Stuart & jean from Rochdale

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sue2432014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay at The Cleveland. Thought all the brilliant reviews were too good to be true but thankfully found it to be as other guests had described. Lissanne helped with our bags and tea/coffee and homemade cake served on our arrival. We had specified that my husband ate gluten free food and Lissanne had made cake especially for him. Breakfast was delicious (cooked by Matt) - particularly good scrambled egg. Again gluten free bread and sausages provided. Room was very clean, big and beautifully decorated (king suite). Bed was so comfortable we wanted to take it home! Toiletries, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits, bottled water all provided in the room and lovely fluffy dressing gowns too. Local area leaflets in the room as well as in the main hallway. It was our first stay in a B&B with our 23 month old daughter and she was looked after very well. Travel cot provided in our room and she was allowed to play with their son's toys in the garden. Lissanne made a fuss of her, providing toys, cleaning her dishes and even taking her for a walk so we could get our breakfast in peace. About a 20 minute walk to the centre, nice quiet location. Nothing is too much trouble and would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank APlews2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

A very warm welcome on arrival, with hot drinks and cake. A very well decorated room which was of good size. Breakfast was exceptional and the owners couldn't do enough for us during our stay, they made us and our young daughter feel very welcome. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,112 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 85 in Torquay
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#28 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
303 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Address: 7 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £43 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cleveland 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matt and Lissanne look forward to welcoming you to The Cleveland, our family-run guest house in Torquay. We are located within easy walking distance of Torquay's award winning beach, bustling town centre and harbour. Our seven bedrooms are all en-suite and we have free WIFI and off-street parking for our guests to use during their stay. We are fully licensed with spacious and well-appointed public rooms. We also have a beautiful south-facing sun terrace and garden. Why not relax and enjoy a well-earned drink after a day out enjoying all that The English Riviera has to offer? Our vision is to provide our guests with exceptional standards of quality and service whilst maintaining a home-from-home feeling. If you are travelling to The Cleveland by public transport the coach and train station are both just a five minute taxi ride away. If you are driving, we are located just a short distance from the main A3022 in Torquay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Hotel Torquay
The Cleveland Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing