We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hosts”
Review of The Cleveland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cleveland
Ranked #6 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Cleveland is a lovely building up a fairly steep driveway with parking. It is about a 20 min. walk into town and the harbor. The room was very clean and the breakfast delicious. We hit a hot spell and could have benefitted from a fan which I suspect would have been offered had we asked. The hosts were gracious and helpful. Torquay is a lively place with plenty of traffic although the Cleveland is in a quiet part of town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jane52261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

From the very friendly welcome when we arrived to the moment we left, Matt and Lissanne made us both feel that NOTHING was too much trouble. We were given tea and home-made cake on arrival, we were loaned their ipad and also an umbrella and given much helpful advice. However, the best thing of all is that both Matt and Lissanne are able to read situations very well, enabling them to know when to chat/offer advice/help and when to leave people to their own devices: much appreciated! The guest house is beautifully light and airy, the rooms are spotless, with the general atmosphere being one of peace and tranquility. A big thank you from us both!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Had a very pleasant stay at Cleveland Hotel, rooms very clean and tidy, hospitality throughout the stay, very nice breakfast cooked by Matt, would definitely recommend it, We shall certainly be going back again.

Genc

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

An amazing small hotel. First class in every respect. Will definitely be staying here again and recommending it to friends.
Such a friendly welcome with home-made cake and tea. Wonderful room; comfortable and beautifully clean. The breakfast was super and catered for my vegan needs and the needs of my small grandson.
Very convenient location for touring in Devon.
Amazing owners who go that extra mile to make you feel wanted and welcome.

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor was excellent. excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

It may have changed owners but everything is tip top. The breakfast is superb and the rooms are wonderful. Hospitality from start to finish is really good. Nothing is too much trouble. We shall certainly be going again.

Dave and Judy

Room Tip: Go for an upstair room, they are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Just like to thank Matt and Lissanne for their hospitality at the Cleverland and would thoroughly recommend the Cleveland for any one wanting a relaxing and enjoyable break.From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome with a superb afternoon tea and a friendly greeting.Could not fault the room,breakfast and service and nothing seemed too much trouble for our hosts.We stayed for 3 nights and wished we had stayed longer,hopefully we will be able to return again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank negle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Just arrived back from The Cleveland Hotel.Would recommend this Hotel.The room was excellent as was the Bathroom.The breakfast was great,especially the scrambled eggs.All in all would give it 10 out of 10.The Owners couldn't do enough for you,even park your car!!!!.Give it a try you won't regret it.Lynne and Terry.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.5 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
306 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#4 of 149 in Torquay
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#5 of 149 in Torquay
813 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
536 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#7 of 149 in Torquay
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Address: 7 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £44 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cleveland 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matt and Lissanne look forward to welcoming you to The Cleveland, our family-run guest house in Torquay. We are located within easy walking distance of Torquay's award winning beach, bustling town centre and harbour. Our seven bedrooms are all en-suite and we have free WIFI and off-street parking for our guests to use during their stay. We are fully licensed with spacious and well-appointed public rooms. We also have a beautiful south-facing sun terrace and garden. Why not relax and enjoy a well-earned drink after a day out enjoying all that The English Riviera has to offer? Our vision is to provide our guests with exceptional standards of quality and service whilst maintaining a home-from-home feeling. If you are travelling to The Cleveland by public transport the coach and train station are both just a five minute taxi ride away. If you are driving, we are located just a short distance from the main A3022 in Torquay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Hotel Torquay
The Cleveland Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing