We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”
Review of Headland View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Headland View
Ranked #39 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Greeted by Craig with a pot of tea & cake once we'd dropped or bags in our room, the address was proved correct as we looked out on the fabulous views across the bay & headlands. We were down for just one night, my wife's birthday & to dive Babbacombe bay to hopefully see the breeding cuttlefish. Immaculate presentation of all the rooms & freshly decorated throughout, first impressions were proved correct by the quality of the whole stay. My mum would have been impressed with the cleanliness throughout, so top marks! Accurate recommendations of local pubs & restaurants were gratefully received for the Saturday evening. Breakfast at a sensible time on a Sunday was brilliantly presented & good quality. No let downs with cheap sausages here! We will hopefully be back later in the year, based purely on a fabulous location & great hospitality. Thank you Craig & Helen for an excellent weekend. Neil & Sarah.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

I remember reading a review on this gorgeous Guest House in Babbacombe/Torquay whereby it was referred to as a 'little gem'- how accurate that was!
This is a beautiful Guesthouse and as the owner's Craig and Helen say 'they are very proud of it' and so they should be!
This is immaculately clean, beautifully situated, gorgeous food and a very warm, friendly, genuine couple who run this.
Thankyou Craig and Helen
Best wishes Rina and Oliver

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Fantastic stay at Headland View. We came down for a wedding and wished we had stayed the whole week.
Helen & Craig could not have made us more welcome, their attention to every detail is meticulous and so friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The rating system needs more boxes to do them justice.
Their B&B is the best, standards they set themselves are better than 5*, their location is terrific and the weather was perfect. We believe them when they say it is always like this.
Would definitely make a special trip to see them again.

Room Tip: Bed was superking size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Was the last leg of a seven week holiday and staying at Headland View was the perfect finish. We were made to feel so welcome by Helen & Craig and it was like a home away from home. Wonderful location. The most comfortable bed we'd had during the holiday. The breakfast was absolutely perfect and extremely filling. If for no other reason we'd go back to the UK just to stay there and get spoilt again.

Room Tip: My husband is 2 metres tall so we made sure to ask for a bed bigger than a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Just back from a BH weekend in Babbacombe. We were fortunate enough to stay at the Headland View and loved every minute. The location was really tranquil and leaving the curtains open meant we were treated to a glorious sunrise. Helen and Craig are really welcoming and even did us an earlier breakfast as we were scuba diving each morning. On the subject of breakfast...definitely one of the best we've had in a B&B and beats most hotels hands down!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suz42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Fantastic little B&B on the seafront of Babbacombe, close to local amenities & easy for getting to Torquay. Quiet, clean & friendly. Run by Helen & Craig, who are great hosts & have excellent knowledge of the local area. Breakfasts are hearty & delicious! A B&B for all ages.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah153o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

After booking I received a friendly phonecall to confirm and ascertain information about the specific requirements mentioned during online booking. I am vegetarian and was catered for excellently, my partner opted for the special every day and thoroughly enjoyed it.

The room was comfortable, well stocked and kept in exemplary state of clenliness.

We were greeted in a welcoming, friendly manner at all times by the proprietors who gave us good suggestions and were a pleasure to converse with. There is a telescope in the front room for a spot of coastal gazing after a long day's exploration.

My only proviso would be that if you are very tall you will find the ensuite bathroom a little cramped (Knees poking into the shower!) and there was little space to get around the end of the bed, but this was no major concern and was certainly no counterweight to the cornucopia of positives I could give about our experience staying here.

The location is fantastic, both for enjoying and exploring the town and as a base for visiting Devon's other attractions.

Parking was extremely convenient.

The food was fantastic.

The owners operate at a standard that others should aspire to.

We both wholeheartedly recommend Headland View to anyone searching this site.

Room Tip: Sea view is excellent. We went in the winter and it was still worth opting for sea view. In the summ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingMalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#36 of 85 in Torquay
198 reviews
0 mi away
The Downs, Babbacombe
The Downs, Babbacombe
#36 of 149 in Torquay
385 reviews
0 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#54 of 149 in Torquay
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Avenue Park
Avenue Park
#1 of 36 in Torquay
380 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#21 of 149 in Torquay
265 reviews
1.5 mi away
Harmony Bed and Breakfast
Harmony Bed and Breakfast
#25 of 149 in Torquay
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headland View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headland View

Address: 37 Babbacombe Downs Road | Babbacombe, Torquay TQ1 3LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £68 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Headland View 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA four star gold award and AA breakfast award. This beautiful Victorian guesthouse with panoramic unobstructed sea views over the spectacular world heritage coast of lyme bay is a fabulous place to stay. Positioned directly on the Babbacombe Downs, the guest house has six individual bedrooms the majority having French doors opening on to balconies with tables and chairs to sit and relax while taking in the magnificent seaviews. Or choose one of our rearview rooms with superking/large twin beds or with four poster bed. The guest house has retained many of its original Victorian features and architecture, with a sun lounge and pretty dinning room, for you to enjoy your traditional freshly prepared and served English breakfast or choose one of the daily specials fruit pancakes, omelette, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon or poached eggs on English toasted muffin. All accompanied by cereals, fresh fruit, fruit compote and toast with conserves and homemade marmalade. A great place to stay for visiting the surrounding area of Torquay, Paighton, Brixham, Dartmouth, Dartmoor and the southwest coastal path. Ideally located for lovely blue flag beaches with a great choice of traditional English pubs and a large variety of restaurants nearby. Spoil yourself and enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Headland View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland View Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing