We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUR WONDERFUL STAY IN BABBACOMBE”
Review of Headland View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Headland View
Ranked #39 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had the most amazing stay with Helen and Craig. Everything was perfect - from the beautifully equipped and spotlessly clean room to the perfectly presented breakfasts every morning. The choice and quality of the food was superb and our hosts looked after us so well, giving advice on places to visit and restaurants to eat in the evening. Thank you both so much.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gloria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Very good service and the choice at breakfast was great. The view from the room was excellent, I would be going again and I have recommended it to all my family and friends. Many nice places
to visit and great places to eat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madhu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

travelling as a Family we had a perfect stay at Headland view: the Location was great, the rooms all arranged with a love to Detail and Helen and Craig were the best Hosts we could imagine. they were very helpful and Kind. next time in Torquay we would want to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 27PascaleP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We returned to Headland View for a family get together.The period house is beautifully restored with a modern twist and stunning views over Babbacombe Downs and Lyme Bay. Owners Helen and Craig gave us a warm welcome and excellent service, recommending places to eat and making reservations for us. Breakfasts were super with a choice of cooked breakfasts - my husband had the full English and I had poached eggs which were perfect - after we'd helped ourselves from the breakfast buffet stocked with fruit, yoghurt, cereals, warm fresh pastries and fruit juices. Breakfast service was prompt but unhurried. We stayed in a room at the front with balcony which was lovely - extremely clean and stylish with a very comfortable bed. We had no hesitation recommending Headland View to our family. They also loved it.

Room Tip: Rooms at front have balcony and sea view. Rear rooms seemed larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina20002014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I have been staying at Headland View for some 9 years. When I heard that the previous owners, Sue and Colin, were selling up in 2010, I was concerned that standards would drop and the place just wouldn't be the same. I needn't have worried because the new owners, Craig and Helen, managed the changeover seamlessly. They are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them.

For friendliness, cleanliness, comfort, breakfasts-not to mention the stunning views-this is easily the best 'B&B' I have ever stayed at (and I've experienced a fair number).

I look forward so much to my annual stay every Spring and would have no hesitation at all in recommending Headland View to anyone visiting the English Riviera.


(NB, there isn't actually a pool, I rated this in error).

Room Tip: The front bedrooms offer stunning views across the bay which can be appreciated even more via the bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lycrafreebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had the most truly amazing stay at Headland View. Craig and Helen, are absolutely lovely, nothing was too much trouble for them, it shines through that they are 110% committed to there bed and breakfast, making sure that all guests are happy. The whole of the house is delightful, modern and very welcoming.

All the rooms are all immaculate, indivually designed, we were very happy to be given the room at the back with a super king sized bed, where upon we had the best nights sleep ever.
The rooms at the front have balconies, where you can sit outside on lovely chairs with a glass of vino, looking out over the beautiful downs and Lyme bay, or coffee in the mornings watching the sun come up.

There is a lounge at the front of the house, which guests can use, if you have been out all day and wish to chill out somewhere apart from your room, this we particularly liked, great place to be able to chat with Craig/Helen and other guests.

Breakfast was cooked by Craig (well done Chef), served by Helen who was always smiling, the scrambled egg/salmon was gorgeous, hubby had the omelette, which he claims was the best he had eaten.

Headland View is situated on a quiet road, there is a good pub just a couple of doors down, where they serve good home cooked food, an added bonus if you do not wish to drive anywhere.
Babbacombe is very pretty town, short walk from Headland view. The Downs are wonderful to go and have a long walk, with beautiful scenery.

In our opinion if you have just read this review, please then do not hesitate - go and stay - you will not be disappointed - absolutely perfect in everyway.

Many thanks to Craig/Helen - we shall return. X

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nuneatondolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I had a really good time at the Headland View. I was warmly welcomed and given a lovely room with sea view ...stunning. I only stayed one night but enough to make a lasting impression on the hospitality I received, the cleanliness of the room, and extra mile the owners made to help me find my way around Babbacombe and Torquay. Thanks so much Helen and Craig!

Room Tip: ask for a room with sea view if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank syohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#36 of 85 in Torquay
198 reviews
0 mi away
The Downs, Babbacombe
The Downs, Babbacombe
#36 of 149 in Torquay
385 reviews
0 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#54 of 149 in Torquay
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Avenue Park
Avenue Park
#1 of 36 in Torquay
380 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#21 of 149 in Torquay
265 reviews
1.5 mi away
Harmony Bed and Breakfast
Harmony Bed and Breakfast
#25 of 149 in Torquay
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headland View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headland View

Address: 37 Babbacombe Downs Road | Babbacombe, Torquay TQ1 3LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £69 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Headland View 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA four star gold award and AA breakfast award. This beautiful Victorian guesthouse with panoramic unobstructed sea views over the spectacular world heritage coast of lyme bay is a fabulous place to stay. Positioned directly on the Babbacombe Downs, the guest house has six individual bedrooms the majority having French doors opening on to balconies with tables and chairs to sit and relax while taking in the magnificent seaviews. Or choose one of our rearview rooms with superking/large twin beds or with four poster bed. The guest house has retained many of its original Victorian features and architecture, with a sun lounge and pretty dinning room, for you to enjoy your traditional freshly prepared and served English breakfast or choose one of the daily specials fruit pancakes, omelette, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon or poached eggs on English toasted muffin. All accompanied by cereals, fresh fruit, fruit compote and toast with conserves and homemade marmalade. A great place to stay for visiting the surrounding area of Torquay, Paighton, Brixham, Dartmouth, Dartmoor and the southwest coastal path. Ideally located for lovely blue flag beaches with a great choice of traditional English pubs and a large variety of restaurants nearby. Spoil yourself and enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Headland View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland View Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing