We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family stay”
Review of Red House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red House Hotel
Ranked #58 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed here Monday having booked through Booking.com and through unfortunate circumstances the hotel only got confirmation of the first night of our two night stay. Also booking.com's total price notified to me was significantly less than the price I was expected to pay on arrival so I would recommend reading pricing details VERY carefully if you use them to book. That said we were in Room 1 which was a good size, my teenagers enjoyed the ping-pong table in the gameroom, and the lounging area near the bar was lovely. Breakfast in the conservatory was also plentiful and staff tried very hard. We also had dinner here and were happy with our meals. The hotel did try hard to sort out the lost second night and I would commend them on their dealing of a difficult situation.
Décor in room a bit tired and lighting in bathroom not great but probably more due to the lovely eu lightbulbs that take forever to warm up!

Room Tip: Room one has two separate rooms with a little hallway which also has the bathroom off, so plenty of...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaisyChain12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for Red House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Compared to other hotels and B&Bs you get a good deal here. Along with the room and breakfast (which was plentiful and offered lots of choices including cereals, yoghurts, fruit, full English and pancakes) you have access to an indoor pool, sauna, jacuzzi, games room and outdoor pool. The restaurant is bright and modern and there is WiFi access in bar and reception. The twin room we stayed in was ok but slightly dated. However the hotel is in a good location with just a 5-10 minute walk to the harbour and so represents excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reviewer01932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Fathers Day at the Redhouse was excellent value for money and the 3 course Sunday Lunch for £7.50 was fabulous. The atmosphere and friendly service was much appreciated. This is the best value Sunday Lunch in Torquay

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Can I say a huge thanks to the wonderful, friendly staff at 'Red House' Hotel.

I took my hubby for Father's day with our 6 year old son. We all had the Roast Beef and Yorkshire pudding. There was a variety of veg, Brocolli, Cauliflower, Peas, Carrots, Roast Pots and boiled Pots. Lots of lovely homemade gravy. Hubby had a free pint of lager included in the price of the dinner £4.50 for adults and £3.50 for children.

the chef came out of the kitchen and we all thanked him for the wonderful food that he had cooked for us. My little man said that he loved the Yorkshire Pudding so he kindly went back into the kitchen and brought out another one.

We will defo be back and we are planning on our son having a pool party there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikkir74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

We live near here and have a big family, and we saw it advertised for Mother's Day for 3 courses for £10. As there are a lot of us we don't normally eat out, but we thought we would give it a try. We were a bit sceptical due to the cheapness of it... However, we couldn't have asked for more! Great starter, great main, shame the deserts weren't great but still for £10 what more could you want. The staff were really good, very helpful and accommodating and really quick service. Would definitely go back here!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank buzpops123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend a week after we got married and has a very enjoyable and relaxing time. Tina was particularly lovely and very friendly. I had the pool to myself every morning before breakfast which was great. Flowers were in the room when we arrived which they had bought on behalf of one of our friends. Lovely place

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

My Wife and I have brought our (now) 3 children to this hotel for the last 5 years and find the hotel and staff friendly, warm, welcoming and very accommodating,

Room 1 is excellent for families with young children as yo have a separate room with 2 single beds for the kids (with TV and DVD) and a large main room with a queen sized double bed for us.

Breakfast is always cooked very well and generous in size plus unlimited cereal, juices, fruit and yoghurt.

The swimming pool is great, with gym, sauna and jacuzzi. The kids love the pool which is open until 7pm for them and 10pm for us.

The restaurant serves lovely food in the evening which is a good price and nice.

Not a 5 star hotel but a lovely venue great for holidays or a short break.

Room Tip: Room 1 is great for families as per description
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wenttonewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#50 of 87 in Torquay
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#44 of 87 in Torquay
107 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Hotel Balmoral
The Hotel Balmoral
#17 of 87 in Torquay
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#33 of 87 in Torquay
2,428 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#30 of 87 in Torquay
589 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Richwood
The Richwood
#51 of 87 in Torquay
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red House Hotel

Address: Rousdown Road | Chelston, Torquay TQ2 6PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#21 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £71 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE ARE A FAMILY RUN HOTEL WITH LEISURE FACILITES ,WHICH INCLUDE A GREAT SUN -TRAP OUT DOOR POOL ,OR INDOOR FOR THE LESS SUNNY DAYS .WE SERVE HOME-MADE FOOD ALL DAY ,HAVE A GREAT SUNDAY ROAST AND YOU CAN BOOK HAIR AND BEAUTY TREATMENTS .ALL ROOMS ARE ENSUITE AND OUR STAFF GO THAT EXTRA TO ENSURE YOU HAVE A LOVELY STAY . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Red House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Hotel Torquay
Red House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing