We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay.”
Review of Red House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red House Hotel
Ranked #58 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Durham
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay.”
Reviewed 23 July 2008

We booked a 2 bed apartment and ended up with Apartment 9 on the first floor which looked like it had recently been refurbished. Our age ranges were wide - 70s, 50s, 30s, 20s and a baby.

Pluses:
Lovely sea view
Location
Very quiet
Pool
Nice to have the extra space that an apartment gives with having the baby

Minuses:
Too much furniture in the apartment than necessary making it feel a lot smaller - we asked for a chest of drawers to be removed from each bedroom as not only were they in the way they were broken, moved straight away my staff without issue. There was also a flat screen monitor to save space I assume but it was on top of a bigger than necessary table (to go with the nest of coffee tables and the dining table in a room that was about 10ft by 10ft!)

Whilst everything looked lovely and new I wonder how long it would stay that way as a lot of the furniture seemed flimsy and I dont imagine hardwearing.

Parking was a bit tight each apartment has their own space but ours was always taken so it was a case of park where you can.

Am I glad we stayed here - yes, would I go back next year I think I'd wait for reviews to see how the fixture and fttings last but review dependant then yes I would go back and I'd recommend it for a friend who was wanting to go in the near future.

PS one of our party also had a hotel room for the night and said it was nice.

  • Liked — The added bonus of an indoor and outdoor pool
  • Disliked — Too much unnecessary furniture
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljg1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    39
    22
    21
    11
See reviews for
64
56
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2008

We have stayed here twice now, and on both occasions we have been satisfied with the rooms and facilities. The hotel is not far from Torquay sea front so is in a good position. The rooms have always been clean and tidy, with all you need. The family rooms tend to be much bigger and still very reasonably priced. The indoor pool is a definite bonus, as is the jacuzzi and sauna. My only gripe is that locals also use the facilities as members, and it can be busy. The pool was also closed on one occasion due to a children's party, which is annoying if your own child wants to swim! There is a gym, but it's very small and the equipment is fairly outdated, bit is adequate if you just want to maintain your fitness levels during your stay. The outdoor pool was shut when we arrived as it was March. It would probably be really nice in summer. the staff here are really good, and can be helpful. Breakfast is adequate, but cannot comment on evening meals here as we always ate out. I would use this place again if I was on a tight budget and wanted somewhere adequate with leisure facilities at competitive prices.

  • Liked — Everyting is adequate
  • Disliked — Busy leisure centre used by locals
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CeejayBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2008

I stayed in Maxton Lodge 10 with my wife and two children, this lodge was to a nice standard with sea views. The lodge had plently of room for my family and was a very comfortable stay. Food was excellent and there seems to be good improvments since my last visit the manager also informed me there will be a new resturant and bar in the summer so look forward to returning. Over all this hotel is a very nice stay with helpful staff and great facilities would recommend to all.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dhobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2008

A nice welcome - I was allowed to check in a bit early because my room happened to be ready, and was then given a tour of the amenities, which include a small pool, gym, sauna and hot tub.

The hotel is a large, red Victorian house situated about a 5-10 minute walk (depending on your speed!) from the seafront and station.

My room was tucked in away in the attic, and although fairly small, it was very quiet. It was also clean, warm and the decor was contemporary and fresh.

The staff are very friendly and were happy to accomodate a request for an early breakfast (substantial and good).

  • Liked — Clean, quiet room and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Located on a sloping road, and perhaps not good for mobility impaired
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stretchycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2008

Booked a two bedroom apartment, to sleep 5 people.
lounge was not big enough to swing a cat!! kitchen was even
smaller, bedrooms were shabby,small,and dull. Furnishings
poor. Told this apartment had been refurbished (poor effort).
No. 10.
Hotel facilities average, staff helpful, Food in bar/lounge good
Restaurant basic and very dated.
Nice weather, but won't be returning to maxton apartments.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timeout44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2007

Just had a fantastic week in the apartments next to the hotel. All of the staff were really friendly and helpful. The apartment was modern, clean and well equipped.
The indoor and outdoor pool are lovely and the food served in the hotel was very good and reasonably priced.
Overall would definately go back again and would recommend to anyone who wants a relaxing break in a very lovely part of Torquay.
Very dog friendly!!

  • Liked — modern clean apartments, good location, friendly staff, dog friendly
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2007

Just returned from a brilliant week at the Red House Hotel in Torquay. Teh leisure facilities were excellent..... the indoor pool was bigger than I expected. The food was great. Staff excellent. Cant wait to go back.

  • Liked — The room was comfortable and overlooked Torquay Bay
  • Disliked — Nothing.... it was very good.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank New-To-This-Forum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#47 of 87 in Torquay
358 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.2 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#43 of 87 in Torquay
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,083 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#14 of 87 in Torquay
401 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red House Hotel

Property: Red House Hotel
Address: Rousdown Road | Chelston, Torquay TQ2 6PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#21 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE ARE A FAMILY RUN HOTEL WITH LEISURE FACILITES ,WHICH INCLUDE A GREAT SUN -TRAP OUT DOOR POOL ,OR INDOOR FOR THE LESS SUNNY DAYS .WE SERVE HOME-MADE FOOD ALL DAY ,HAVE A GREAT SUNDAY ROAST AND YOU CAN BOOK HAIR AND BEAUTY TREATMENTS .ALL ROOMS ARE ENSUITE AND OUR STAFF GO THAT EXTRA TO ENSURE YOU HAVE A LOVELY STAY . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Hotel Torquay
Red House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing