We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Staff were very helpful, great value for money can't wait to go back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Red House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red House Hotel
Ranked #57 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hotel Staff were very helpful, great value for money can't wait to go back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location in Torquay and they serve great food and staff are very friendly. It's great value for your money and the rooms are comfortable. Our family can't wait to go back thanks to all the staff we have already booked our next stay. In the summer the outdoor pool is a great place to be. See you all soon the Lane family :))

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lrrnlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    39
    22
    21
    11
See reviews for
64
56
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

- good location with views over Torquay
- efficient friendly staff
- very clean
- lovely indoor swimming pool
- bus into town/seafront very close to hotel
- breakfast good but maybe upgrade sausages !
- excellent venue for a small wedding party which we attended

Room Tip: room 6 is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janbaylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just spent a great weekend at friends daughters wedding, The hotel arranged a wonderful reception for the bride and groom, so no complaints there. However the owners seem oblivious to the fact that a well rested guest is a happy guest by clearly not considering or caring whether they were comfortable in their rooms. Mattress was clearly very old and completely flat and with only broken springs sticking in your back to suspend you away from the base of the bed. We made a reasonable polite complaint, only to have it shrugged off by manager(s). By previous reviews on this site they have obviously known about problem for several years which can only suggest to me they don't care.
We had to book a room at B & B a short walk away in order to get a nights sleep on 2nd night of weekend. No apology whatsoever, not prepared to look at room and discuss, no refund for night. If you value your sleep or back in any way don't stay in room 2, you will regret it.

Room Tip: Park bench would be most comfortable option? If you get room 2 and they tell you they weren't aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel R, Manager at Red House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
We appreciate your feedback and are encouraged that you enjoyed the family wedding.We were not informed of your medical condition prior to arrival,and as we were fully booked ,over a bank holiday period ,with the wedding in full swing we aimed to rectify the situation to the best of our ability . I personally apologised and had I known you spent a nights stay elsewhere I would naturally have offered you a refund and will do so if you wish to email me .I have ordered a new mattress following your comments on check -out .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Two of us work for a charity and regularly have to work in Torquay,The Red House Hotel was recommended to us by people who lived locally and had enjoyed the food and the pleasant staff. The hotel staff were extremely kind and helpful.We were surprised by the swimming pool and spa given the price of the rooms and the bedrooms were a nice size, comfortable and clean.They also have an excellent conservatory area that you can use for meetings at very reasonable cost.The breakfast was great-a real treat.We have been back a number of times and will continue to go back.The hotel is in a good position for walking to the seafront and the station.Although some of the areas of the hotel do need work it is gradually being updated and this does not detract from having a pleasant and restful stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Find the staff at the redhouse extremely RUDE. Instead of explaining about there being a call bell in the reception for the swimming pool I was told abruptly and sarcastically.. Well there is a bell. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anonymous90890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

3 of us stayed here for 4 nights. We found the hotel to be just what we needed. We chose this hotel because it was dog friendly and that's exactly what it was. The room was adequate, tidy and warm. The food was very good and excellent value for money. The staff where very helpful and always to hand. Big thanks to Charlotte for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Copperkettle101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We had a lovely meal with our son and his fiancée. Well cooked steaks with trimmings followed by a good sweet. Good service and relaxed after in the bar. Our son has a winter gym and pool membership which is very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#38 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,593 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red House Hotel

Property: Red House Hotel
Address: Rousdown Road | Chelston, Torquay TQ2 6PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#22 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE ARE A FAMILY RUN HOTEL WITH LEISURE FACILITES ,WHICH INCLUDE A GREAT SUN -TRAP OUT DOOR POOL ,OR INDOOR FOR THE LESS SUNNY DAYS .WE SERVE HOME-MADE FOOD ALL DAY ,HAVE A GREAT SUNDAY ROAST AND YOU CAN BOOK HAIR AND BEAUTY TREATMENTS .ALL ROOMS ARE ENSUITE AND OUR STAFF GO THAT EXTRA TO ENSURE YOU HAVE A LOVELY STAY . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Hotel Torquay
Red House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing