We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”
Review of Red House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red House Hotel
Ranked #57 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and myself stayed 1night at this hotel. the staff were excellent, very friendly and extremely helpful.
The facilities in the hotel are brilliant the pool was good and so was the jacuzzi .
We had an evening meal in the restaurant the food was lovely ,good value for money.
We will certainly return very soon.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

this is our 2nd year at the Red House,all staff extremely helpful and cheerful. The food is great and plenty of it. Being a craft group we made lots of mess and reconfigured the tables etc.no problem.Mark and Rachel could not have been more accomodating.Already booked for next year.Newly furbished room 9 was fabulous

Room Tip: Room 9 is wonderful but its mine May2015
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

As a busy working mum, I don't usually have time to review anything, but feel this little gem deserves some credit as we are regular visitors to the Red House (we live in Torquay, so often pop in just for dinner or a drink). My husband stayed there the night before our wedding, with our sons and his best man, and he found the room to be very comfortable and had a perfect nights sleep there. We would have liked to have had our reception there, but we had a really big wedding so that wasn't possible. The staff are so helpful and friendly - they really put themselves out to help you and make such a fuss of our little girl when we're there - she loves the place! The indoor pool is perfect for us to take her swimming. It's always warm and everywhere is very clean. We've had the pool to ourselves many times, which has been great and we've enjoyed the outdoor pool during summer visits. We have been there at all times of the year and visited with and without our children. The food is fresh, tasty and reasonably priced. Best of all is the location. It's a short distance from the beach, in a pretty tree-lined area, very close to Cockington country park, so lots to do that's fun and FREE (handy when you have a big family). You can walk into town too, or there is a bus stop nearby, and only 5/10 min walk from the train station. The owners put on lots of events and we've been to several. The NYE party they put on was brilliant - great music, lovely buffet and lots of games for the kids. They also do a sunday roast which is great value, so we often pop down as a family when I can't be bothered to cook. There's plenty of parking too. I honestly can't think of anything bad to say about the hotel or its staff. Thank you Red House!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Thank you to all the staff at the Red House for making our stay so enjoyable, greeted on arrival nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in the newly converted family suite, room 9, and would definitely recommend this to all families! The kids loved the swimming pool so being able to use this for free was fantastic, the price was very good for what was on offer. Although we didn't eat at the hotel every night, on the occasions we did the food was good value for what we got. We shall definitely be back next time we're in Torquay!

Room Tip: Room 9 is brilliant for families, a large room with separate adult and child bedrooms and a lovely b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location in Torquay and they serve great food and staff are very friendly. It's great value for your money and the rooms are comfortable. Our family can't wait to go back thanks to all the staff we have already booked our next stay. In the summer the outdoor pool is a great place to be. See you all soon the Lane family :))

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lrrnlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

- good location with views over Torquay
- efficient friendly staff
- very clean
- lovely indoor swimming pool
- bus into town/seafront very close to hotel
- breakfast good but maybe upgrade sausages !
- excellent venue for a small wedding party which we attended

Room Tip: room 6 is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janbaylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just spent a great weekend at friends daughters wedding, The hotel arranged a wonderful reception for the bride and groom, so no complaints there. However the owners seem oblivious to the fact that a well rested guest is a happy guest by clearly not considering or caring whether they were comfortable in their rooms. Mattress was clearly very old and completely flat and with only broken springs sticking in your back to suspend you away from the base of the bed. We made a reasonable polite complaint, only to have it shrugged off by manager(s). By previous reviews on this site they have obviously known about problem for several years which can only suggest to me they don't care.
We had to book a room at B & B a short walk away in order to get a nights sleep on 2nd night of weekend. No apology whatsoever, not prepared to look at room and discuss, no refund for night. If you value your sleep or back in any way don't stay in room 2, you will regret it.

Room Tip: Park bench would be most comfortable option? If you get room 2 and they tell you they weren't aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ratador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel R, Manager at Red House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

We appreciate your feedback and are encouraged that you enjoyed the family wedding.We were not informed of your medical condition prior to arrival,and as we were fully booked ,over a bank holiday period ,with the wedding in full swing we aimed to rectify the situation to the best of our ability . I personally apologised and had I known you spent a nights stay elsewhere I would naturally have offered you a refund and will do so if you wish to email me .I have ordered a new mattress following your comments on check -out .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 85 in Torquay
1,172 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,512 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,112 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Richwood
The Richwood
#50 of 85 in Torquay
280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#58 of 85 in Torquay
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red House Hotel

Address: Rousdown Road | Chelston, Torquay TQ2 6PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#21 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £72 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE ARE A FAMILY RUN HOTEL WITH LEISURE FACILITES ,WHICH INCLUDE A GREAT SUN -TRAP OUT DOOR POOL ,OR INDOOR FOR THE LESS SUNNY DAYS .WE SERVE HOME-MADE FOOD ALL DAY ,HAVE A GREAT SUNDAY ROAST AND YOU CAN BOOK HAIR AND BEAUTY TREATMENTS .ALL ROOMS ARE ENSUITE AND OUR STAFF GO THAT EXTRA TO ENSURE YOU HAVE A LOVELY STAY . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Red House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Hotel Torquay
Red House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing