We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok but wouldn't go back”
Review of The Coppice

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Coppice
Ranked #13 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2011

spent a couple of days at coppice, room v.small, facilities adequate but nothing special. Indoor pool heated but contained bromine instead of chlorine, made my husbands eyes water and got on your chest. Owners abit miserable and got the impression they preferred old age pensioners because i kept getting disapproving looks when my child behaved like a 'child'. Food ok but was a bit rushed i.e. 6.30-7.30 prompt, got impression that they wanted you in and out a.s.a.p along with all of the coach load of penshioners.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coppicehotel, Owner at The Coppice, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2011

Strange review considering you wanted to extend your stay with us. No mention either of the other families & children present during your visit or of exactly how your child “behaved like a child” - & the complaints we received because of it.
We do appreciate how difficult it is for some mothers to cope & you appeared to be very stressed. For that reason we did not relay all complaints to you assuming that some parental control would eventually prevail but unfortunately it did not. Nevertheless we always treated you & your family with courtesy as did our elder guests who you insult with your comments.

Very few hotels in Torquay offer extensive facilities such as ours- outdoor pool, indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, mini gym, mini golf, pool table, WiFi – & despite your efforts to suggest the contrary, we are firmly established as one of the most popular family orientated hotels in Torbay.

We advertise the use of Bromine to sanitize our heated pool as it is a far superior product to Chlorine. It does not contain bleach so is less irritable to eyes than Chlorine, does not fade bathing suits & has very little odour. Although much more expensive than Chlorine it is much safer & usually only used in better establishments. So perhaps you should advise your husband against using any public pool in future as the effect of Chlorine on him may be severe considering his alleged sensitivity.

I’m surprised you found us a bit miserable but I can assure you that since your departure we are as happy as usual. But then we always try to be positive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2011

Just come back from four days it this hotel, again, we could not find a better pair of hosts than Jenny and Syd. Nothing is too much trouble for them, the room was spotless and the meals first class.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mthurgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We traveled with Stanley Travel, and it was perfect from the start, on time, nice pleasant people looking after us, driver Malcolm, and his wife Denise {the courier} were good chatty, helpful and pleasant. When we got there the hotel owner greeted us in. and took us to our room, nice clean room, bit dark as it just had one window in corner, and was in basement, but it had good size bathroom. The room was perfectly acceptable, the rest of the hotel was. well decorated and very clean, nice gardens, outdoor and indoor pools, food was good, hot and served quickly,by nice people, and I hasten to add all were English. Back to our room, bathroom was perfectly clean, but halfway through the week the shower curtain was replaced with a fresh one, where else does that happen. The hotel is a half hour walk from the marina, down a steep hill not for the faint hearted, but there are plenty of buses, every 15 mins.Yes I recommend this hotel, and of course go with Stanley Travel, we will again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BILLYCo_Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Wonderful hotel, food is superb, rooms are spacious and clean, hotel grounds are beautiful. Syd and Jen are very very nice people, very welcoming and lovely to talk to. Have been staying here at least once a year since 2008 and will continue to do so.

Entertainment is always fun, especially when you get up and have a sing song or do the hula hula!

See you at easter if not before!

Luke and Becky

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank resbeckt27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

we stayed at the Coppice hotel in Torquay from Sunday 24th to Sunday 31st July organised by a tour company. Many thanks to all the staff at this hotel for their friendly service, good wholesome food, very clean rooms, and entertainment that was provided during our stay. The Coppice is to be commended and recommended for a pleasant and relaxing vacation. The facilities provided far outway the starred recommendation that the Coppice has.

Room Tip: good views of gardens from most rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bordercountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We have just returned from our fifth visit to The Coppice Hotel and as with our previous visits Syd and Jenny gave us a warm welcome. Our room as always was spotless. The mattress, duvets and pillows were all new as was the bed etc in the room occupied by our friends. The shower is first class.There is never a problem with hot water unlike most other hotels we have stayed at.
We made regular use of the indoor pool and spa bath which was very enjoyable as we had it to ourselves.
The Coppice has it's own chef and it shows. The food is excellent.
Thanks Syd and Jen we had a great time. Hope to see you again soon.
Barb & Tony and Barb and Steve alias Smith & Jones.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barbtonyjones8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Spent 4 nights in the Coppice and enjoyed it, Slept well. Everything was clean and well looked after. The food was well cooked and tasted OK. Little shopping parade only a couple of hundred metres away with a nice pub. Good tireing walks for after supper/evening meal coming from East Anglia hills have a fascination!
Bad points
1/ Poor coffe both in the public areas and in the rooms. The tea is better in the restaurant but the tea in the rooms is c##p, even with 2 bags per cup it was weak.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlfredENewman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 86 in Torquay
895 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,010 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 86 in Torquay
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
505 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 86 in Torquay
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coppice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coppice

Address: Babbacombe Rd. | Torquay, Torquay TQ1 2QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#8 Business Hotel in Torquay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#16 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £30 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coppice 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coppice is an elegant Victorian Mansion House set in beautiful award winning gardens. Ideally situated near both Torquay and Babbacombe beaches, it has long been a favorite with families, couples, private groups and the business traveler. All bedrooms are bath/shower en suite with digital colour television, in house phone, hair dryer and hospitality tray. Hotel facilities include private parking, large bar/lounge, complimentary WiFi, outdoor Mediterranean pool, indoor heated pool, spa pool, sauna and mini gym. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coppice Hotel Torquay
The Coppice Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing