We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”
Review of The Coppice

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Coppice
Ranked #13 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel for five days for a turkey and tinsel holiday and thought the hotel was excellent in every way food cleanliness and entertainment. It is in a lovely spot surrounded by trees. The indoor pool was very nice too. The owners were very friendly and were always working in the bar and kitchen. We would like to go back next year!

Room Tip: We had room no 24 overlooking the outside pool and garden it was warm and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ballocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

My wife & I have been staying at the Coppice for over 10 years after trying a variety of other Hotels in Devon because we feel it offers really good value for money. Syd & Jenny are very welcoming and do their best to make your stay a pleasant one. The room was very clean & well serviced and had a new flat screen TV. Car parking was on site and we never failed to get a spot near the front entrance. The food was tasty and nicely cooked and there was plenty of it. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The WiFi signal was strong in the bar & lounge area and in addition I had no trouble using it round the outside swimming pool. The indoor swimming facilities were excellent with a good sized pool, jacuzzi and steam room all in the same complex. Two private changing cubicles were provided pool side. Frequently throughout our stay we had the facilities to ourselves. With regard to the entertainment this was a bit unpredictable because the Hotel caters for coach parties and the occupancy fluctuates considerably. For economic reasons the Proprietors only put on entertainment when there will be a sizable audience although the bar is open every night. I think this is understandable. We found that half the week we would enjoy the in-house entertainment and the rest of the week we would either walk down or take the bus down into Torquay. The bus stop is about 200 yards away and the buses are at least every half hour in the evening and more frequent during the day. Pensioners with a bus pass can travel for free to Dawlish, Teignmouth, Exeter & Exmouth in one direction and Paignton, Brixham, Dartmouth & Salcombe in the other. The Hotel has a nice garden and is a haven of peace & tranquility. We really enjoy our stays at the Coppice and will certainly be back next year. Highly recommended. Gerry & Shirly Rigby

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

My husband and I spent five nights at the Coppice Hotel in September this year. We booked our stay on the strength of other reviews on TripAdvisor and, on the whole, were not disappointed. We have broken our review down into sections for ease of reading.

Car Parking
The hotel has car parking spaces within its grounds which means that you don't have to walk far to enter the hotel and in theory, it should be a more secure car park than a public one. We were lucky enough to get a space at the front of the hotel on all but one day but the hotel was not very busy when we stayed. If you cannot get a space at the front of the hotel there are more around the back, although you will have a bit further to walk with your bags. It's not a great distance though. If the hotel was full I am not sure how the car parking situation would be - my personal opinion is that you would struggle to park in the hotel car park and may have to find parking elsewhere.

Cleanliness
Cleanliness is very important to us when staying in a hotel, having previously stayed in some less than hygienic places! We could not fault the Coppice Hotel on its cleanliness and in fact the first thing that we commented on when we entered the room was how clean it looked. The room was serviced each day, even though one day we didn't leave until 10:30. We only saw one of the room attendants on and this was on the last day but she seemed very pleasant and cheerful and wished us a safe journey home, even though we had held her up a little by not checking out on time!

Food
We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and did not dine at the hotel in the evening so we only have experience of the breakfast. We found it substantial and tasty and quickly served, which is good when you are in a rush to leave the hotel in the morning. The juices and cereals are self-serve while the coffee and full English/continental breakfasts are brought to your table for you. We heard many guests around us asking for variations on the standard serving (e.g. no baked beans, sausage instead of fried bread, etc.) and each request met with no complaint. There is plenty of choice on the breakfast menu. Get there early though, as the freshness of the toast seemed to decline the later we went down to breakfast.

Facilities
The hotel has en-suite rooms, some with bigger bathrooms than others. We had booked a double room but were put in a family room with a double bed and a single bed, which was nice as it meant we had somewhere to put our things and we had quite a spacious room. I think that we paid for this with the bathroom as it was quite small, but perfectly useable and with only one person needing to use it at one time, it suited our needs. The room was very clean and spacious and had nice modern furnishings. My husband, who likes a hard bed, found the bed very comfortable. The pillows were nice and soft and nothing like the two hard pieces of cardboard that you usually find in hotels!

The hotel has a swimming pool and Jacuzzi which is open from 09:30-18:00 daily. The pool is not open during meal times as the restaurant has a big glass window which looks directly into the pool. The opening hours were a bit too restrictive for us as we liked to leave the hotel by 09:30 in the morning and go sightseeing all day. We enquired one night whether it would be possible for us to use the pool after 18:00 and were told, quite bluntly, no, as they did not want people from the restaurant seeing into the pool or vice versa. It begs the question then why they built the pool complex in this location or why they could not simply draw the blinds across the window, as they had been drawn for most, if not all of our stay.

We managed one swim during our stay here and the pool temperature is good. Not too cold like some hotel pools we have been in before. The Jacuzzi is disappointing - quite hard to get in and out of due to a lack of proper steps or seats once you are in. The pool steps were also not 100% secure and require some care when using them. The two individual changing cubicles are at the poolside and have a curtain for privacy. They are tiny and we preferred to return to our room to dry off and change, as did another guest we spoke to. There is also a steam room in the pool area, a mini gym and a sauna in a separate part of the hotel. We did not use any of these facilities so cannot comment on them.

There is an outdoor pool at the front of the hotel which, as it looked decidedly green and unusable, we did not swim in. The pool is surrounded by a sun terrace with plenty of loungers available and a small garden area up some steps.

The hotel has WiFi but this is only available in the public areas such as the restaurant or bar and not in the individual guest rooms.

Apparently the hotel provides entertainment but there was nothing on during our stay (Monday-Friday). This may only happen during the summer season or at weekends. Check before you go if this is important to you.

The bar is a good size with plenty of choice and lots of tables and chairs. There is a small dance floor in the bar area. There is also a pool table and some fruit machines.

Location
The hotel is within walking distance of the town centre but far enough away not to be bothered by any noise or traffic. It is situated in a pleasant leafy area and on a quiet road. We didn't use the buses as we had our own car but apparently there is a regular bus into town which can be caught from outside the hotel. The hotel is in a good central location to enjoy most of Torquay's attractions, most of which are less than 5-10 minutes drive away.

Staff
Having read so many positive comments about the hotel owners on TripAdvisor, we were very disappointed with how we actually found them. On arrival we checked in at Reception and were told where our room was but did not feel that we received a very warm welcome. Things didn't improve much during our stay and we felt that we were treated like second class citizens in comparison with the older residents (we are in our 30's and 40's). The only time that one of the owners showed any interest in us or where we came from was when we checked out and they were taking our money! I think that this is a shame as it lets an otherwise good hotel down. Customer service is the most important aspect of any business and unless you make all of your guests feel welcome, regardless of age, background or how many times they have stayed at your hotel previously, your business will not be a successful one.

TIP: There was only one double plug socket in our room. If, like us, you have several phones and cameras that you need to charge up at the end of the day, take a trailing socket with you as you will need it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank JerseyGirl1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed from 26th to 30th September.,We had a lovely stay, food was excellent and staff 1st class. We would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to torquay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendy33_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

nights of 21st and 22nd September. Reading the reviews I wonder if I stayed at the same hotel. Rooms clean and breakfast OK BUT supper (I hesitate to use the term 'dinner') was, on the first night, awful and on the second just passable. In mitigation, I have to add that I am not used to eating frozen vegetables, watery, lumpy mashed potatoes, or tasteless gravy. I am very thankful I did not order the fish on the first night.

Room Tip: I went where I was put
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sancia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed from 16th to 19th of September. The owners were friendly and welcoming especially Jenny who appeared to never sleep!!
The hotel is beautifully clean, the food excellent with a great choice, the staff so efficient, the entertainment great and I thoroughly enjoyed a swim in the indoor pool.
If you go to Torquay this is the place to stay

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

At short notice we booked a week at The Coppice Hotel (Monday to Monday) and found the hotel to be absolutely great. We were not dissapointed in any way. Lovely room overlooking garden. Indoor & outdoor pool + steam room. The hotel was spotless. The food was excellent with such a great choice both at breakfast and dinner. Entertainment laid on at the weekend. Plenty of room for dancing. A number of guests had been before and it is not hard to realise why. Syd and Jenny made wonderful hosts and the other staff could not have been more helpful. A friendly night in at the bar with good beer and wine. We look forward to coming back in the not too distant future. We cannot reccomend this hote highly enough.
Mike and Jill

Room Tip: We had a first floor room overlooking the gardens at front and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FootiefanTamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 86 in Torquay
895 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,010 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 86 in Torquay
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
506 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 86 in Torquay
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coppice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coppice

Address: Babbacombe Rd. | Torquay, Torquay TQ1 2QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#8 Business Hotel in Torquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#16 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £30 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coppice 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coppice is an elegant Victorian Mansion House set in beautiful award winning gardens. Ideally situated near both Torquay and Babbacombe beaches, it has long been a favorite with families, couples, private groups and the business traveler. All bedrooms are bath/shower en suite with digital colour television, in house phone, hair dryer and hospitality tray. Hotel facilities include private parking, large bar/lounge, complimentary WiFi, outdoor Mediterranean pool, indoor heated pool, spa pool, sauna and mini gym. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coppice Hotel Torquay
The Coppice Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing