We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Coppice

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Coppice
Ranked #13 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

From the moment we arrived to the day of leaving, the owners and the staff made us feel very welcome indeed. Nothing is too much trouble for them, the rooms are spotless, food is excellent, even to the packed lunches on our trips out were excellent value, we will be coming here again on our next visit, so thank you to the Coppice Hotel and all its staff . We forgot toiletries but there are shops very close by for papers,pies, and drinks if you are out and about .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kaymalc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    69
    19
    15
    2
See reviews for
62
191
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel has everything you might want from a quality establishment. Large varied menu,
clean and spotless, friendly staff, facilities inc. indoor and outdoor pools, close to all amenities, well under valued at the rating.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

My Wife and I had another great holiday at the Coppice Hotel over the Easter Break. We met people who we have enjoyed previous Coppice holidays with and we had entertainment over all the Easter.
Thanks again Jenny, Syd and all the staff. We enjoyed every minute.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanray2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feltham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Stayed Monday to Friday this week and could not fault anything about the hotel or Jenny and Sid. Nothing was to much trouble for them. Service and choice of meals was excellent. Rooms top rate. Would recommend them to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Many hotels are described as 'family run' but that doesn't necessarily mean that they are well run, or even friendly. In this case however it does, most emphatically. Both Jenny and Sid run an excellent hotel and they and their staff are friendly at all times, and although they are always busy, nothing is too much trouble for them. The building is warm and the food is good. What more...? I don't quite know why it has only two stars unless it is because it doesn't have a lift, but help with luggage is eagerly offered and it does have two swimming pools including a lovely, heated indoor pool.

This was our second stay within a year and it was very nice to be recognised as we stepped off the coach the second time. Incidentally, if you go more than once you can choose your own room if you let them know in time.

The food is good and there is good entertainment every night in the bar, we can certainly recommend Jillie who has a seamless flow of patter and several thousand songs to call on.

Jenny and Sid work hard to please us and make everything enjoyable and so it is no wonder that their hotel is a well deserved success.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dervalsut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

My wife and I have just spent our Easter break at this excellent hotel and could not fault the service, the food and the owners. When our coach finally arrived rather later than scheduled the owner came on board and explained that as we were late check in take our bags to the rooms and come down for dinner, all the staff here are very helpful and nothing was to much trouble. The food here was excellent and very pleasantly served in a lovely dining room, and we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rayking102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

i treated my parents to a easter stay via Newmarket holidays for their 80th birthdays, i have just spoken to them on the phone on arrival back to winchester and they have had a fantastic time. The food was supberb, brilliant choice and always served hot, room large and very comfortable and clean, staff fantastic especially the owners who were very welcoming. Only slight dissapointment T.V. wasnt very successful in their room, they did report it and it was fixed quickly but the same problem happened the following day, unable to get ITV Channels and they didnt like to be a bother!!!!!!!
Overall very successful and they are considering returning but not on a package

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yell2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,590 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seascape Hotel
Seascape Hotel
#44 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coppice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coppice

Property: The Coppice
Address: Babbacombe Rd. | Torquay, Torquay TQ1 2QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#17 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coppice 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coppice is an elegant Victorian Mansion House set in beautiful award winning gardens. Ideally situated near both Torquay and Babbacombe beaches, it has long been a favorite with families, couples, private groups and the business traveler. All bedrooms are bath/shower en suite with digital colour television, in house phone, hair dryer and hospitality tray. Hotel facilities include private parking, large bar/lounge, complimentary WiFi, outdoor Mediterranean pool, indoor heated pool, spa pool, sauna and mini gym. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coppice Hotel Torquay
The Coppice Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing