We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners are great.”
Review of The Coppice

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Coppice
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I have stayed in this hotel many times over the years, when it was run by my friends who sold up a few years ago, so was a little worried about how it might now be.

Nothing to worry about....its just as good....has been given a fresh coat of paint....rooms are nice....meals were great....bar still a bit slow during meal times.... pool was a liitle cold, but that might have been the weather.

A great hotel for a short break.

Owners now considered friends will visit again next time I'm in the UK.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goahappydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

Left the Coppice Hotel under 12 hours ago!! Had a great 4 nights there.Hotel homely.The rooms were clean,plenty of hot water.Food was presented nicely,promptly and hot.Never had 1 bad meal.We had 3 nights of entertainment,which we thoroughly enjoyed.
Sid the owner has 1 prize assett.....he's wife,cheerful,friendly always there,even at the end of a long day.Well done to you and your staff,we will visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This was our first time as Pensioners on a Coach Tour with arranged days out etc, not knowing what to expect we agreed to just take it as it came put up with the problems we were told to expect on "these type of holidays" what a surprise we received a warm welcome from the Manageress coming out to the Coach to welcome us, speedy reception, good rooms providing all that was needed followed by a pleasent evening meal. The staff were all very pleasent, on a trip to the bar after dinner we were informed that there was entertainment, this was of a good standard and relaxed all the members of the Coach party seemed to be present.
After agood nights sleep it was into a good breakfast with adequate varity and a quick and pleasent service then off for our Coach trip.

This was the pattern of the week, the rooms were always very clean well stocked with Tea etc lots of hot water and clean towels. The indoor pool was good, ample seating in the Bar and additional seating in a quite area by reception. Jenny & Sid compliment each other very well with
her bubbly nature and the feeling the Sid is in control and any problems will be promptly dealt with.

On our return home we found we had mislaid our Car and house key's one call to Sid he had
located them and will arrange to have them returned to us, so based on this weeks experience
it will not be our last to the Coppice Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This was a great hotel to stay in for the Bank Holiday weekend. The location was ideal for our trips down to Heligan and the Eden Centre. A very warm welcome by the manageress Jenny Bennet and easy booking in with Sid, her husband. A very comfortable exceptionally clean room. Food was plentiful and excellently prepared and served, nothing was too much trouble. Entertainment on Sunday was musical and hilarious. Jenny and Sid, many thanks for a lovely weekend in your hotel. It deserves better than the star rating it has been given. Terry (the brown bread man) and Barbara.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terryb1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I stayed for 4 days at this hotel. The website implies this is a 4 star hotel (Visit England and AA) but when we arrived I noted the board outside only shows 2 stars.

The hotel was clean, and the staff were reasonably friendly.The main road was busy and fairly noisy (the windows are single-glazed) and we were kept awake by people on the floor above us wandering around in the night because the floor boards are very creaky, so try and get a top floor room if you can. The food in the restaurant was pretty poor the first night, but improved after that. A pint and a small glass of wine in the bar after dinner was expensive at over £7. Room service comes with a charge of £15, so I take it they don't really want to provide that service and are trying to put people off with the price. There is a kettle and tea, coffee, milk and sugar provided though. Although the rooms were a good size they were often warm (when the heating came on, which seemed to be at different times each day) but the beds were uncomfortable and so was the seating around the bar - some squashy chairs/sofas would be more conducive to lingering over another drink. The maid left a brown envelope in the room asking for a tip on the last day, which I thought was a bit cheeky (although I usually do leave a tip). It takes about 20 minutes to walk down a steep hill to Torquay harbour (the area is very hilly) and sea front where there are shops etc, but buses come about every 1/2 hour if you don't fancy the walk back up again. Lots of buildings look abandoned and are for sale, so the area is starting to get a general air of neglect about it. All in all, a good basic and clean hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the main road and on the top floor if you want peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snazbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We have just returned from our stay at The Coppice. The hotel was very clean; staff were pleasant and very accommodating. Rooms were light, well furnished, clean and ours was newly decorated. The hotel is on short bus routes down in to Torquay or to Babbacombe. Shops are within walking distance for all your needs.

The food at the hotel was very good with a set menu for coach parties. They have a vegetarian option every day, although sometimes it is fish. However, I am sure if you speak to the staff, they will probably accommodate any request, given notice.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We were in a room over the back of the hotel. Other guests who were at the front were worried about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caprio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

From the moment we arrived to the day of leaving, the owners and the staff made us feel very welcome indeed. Nothing is too much trouble for them, the rooms are spotless, food is excellent, even to the packed lunches on our trips out were excellent value, we will be coming here again on our next visit, so thank you to the Coppice Hotel and all its staff . We forgot toiletries but there are shops very close by for papers,pies, and drinks if you are out and about .

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kaymalc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
957 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
3,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#58 of 87 in Torquay
919 reviews
1.4 mi away
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms
0.8 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#27 of 87 in Torquay
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coppice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coppice

Address: Babbacombe Rd. | Torquay, Torquay TQ1 2QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#8 Business Hotel in Torquay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#10 Family Hotel in Torquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £30 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coppice 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coppice is an elegant Victorian Mansion House set in beautiful award winning gardens. Ideally situated near both Torquay and Babbacombe beaches, it has long been a favorite with families, couples, private groups and the business traveler. All bedrooms are bath/shower en suite with digital colour television, in house phone, hair dryer and hospitality tray. Hotel facilities include private parking, large bar/lounge, complimentary WiFi, outdoor Mediterranean pool, indoor heated pool, spa pool, sauna and mini gym. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coppice Hotel Torquay
The Coppice Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing