We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Day Coach Holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coppice

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Coppice
Ranked #12 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“5 Day Coach Holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

A warm and inviting welcome from our hostess on board our coach before the easy check in. The en-suite room with TV,hair dryer and tea/coffee facilities was crisp and clean with a comfortable bed. The room was serviced and cleaned daily. Meals in the restaurant were good and the friendly staff gave prompt service. Reasonable bar prices together with good quality evening entertainment for most nights of our stay. Sid and Jenny's personalities compliment each other and make a unique experience, with their personal involvement, in the running of their hotel. This was our second visit and we will undoubtebly visit again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trevor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    69
    18
    15
    2
See reviews for
62
187
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Hosts are Syd and Jenny they are a hard working welcoming couple who reinvest in their hotel. Room was comfortable en suite with bath clean towels every day soft loo paper! Flat screen Tv. Tea coffee makings not rationed either. Just Go have certainly excelled themselves here. Two pools and live entertainment provided.food was of high quality and staff attentive.I could just go on.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Extremely clean hotel though furnishings a bit dated. Food very poor and not of good quality. Service in the restaurant was very good and the girls work really hard. Barma seemed s bit surly. Would not go back I'm afraid.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
208 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Visited here in June with a group of people. The hotel is a little way out of town a short walk down the hill if you feel fit enough and you can even walk to the beach if you wish but dont forget you have to tackle the hill back.It is however only a short bus ride from the main centre, and the service just at the end of the property is frequent and inexpensive.
On our arrival the group were warmly received by the owners Jenny and Sid. The rooms were allocated quickly and efficiently. The rooms are well appointed with clean comfortable beds with crispy clean towels and fresh smelling bedding. The en-suite facitlites were more than adequate, with bath/shower facilties and more than enough instant hot water. The rooms all had tea/coffee making and more than ample supplies. We had dinner in the hotel for 3 nights band each night there was a choice of starters, main courses and sweets, with vegetarian options always available. The orders taken individually, and food served promptly, and hot.The food standard was very good when considering there were about 40 or more people eating in the dining room. The standard of food was excellent, well cooked and tasty no frozen rubbish here.There were wine options as well and the prices a little lower than most hotels/ restaurants. For breakfast there was a self service buffet for cereals, and fruit, and juice etc, then there was a choice of hot food , orders taken and food cooked freshly and served without delay. I could not fault the hard work the staff put in to serve the guests promptly..
The hotel has a sauna, indoor and outdoor pool. Some of my party ventured into the indoor pool which though small was clean and well maintained. The outside pool was a little leafy but was clean, though the weather was against its use and the owner was fighting a losing battle to keep it leaf free. The hotel stands in its own fairly large grounds, it is well maintained, and has been recently facelifted and decorated. It is a great base to explore The English Riviera and surrounding areas, and highly recommended by myself as it is very friendly and personable. There is sometimes entertainment on for the guests, which is ususlly a local turn, and acceptable. I will return as was very sasified with everthing offered.
Thank you for looking after my group I hope to revisit again soon.

Room Tip: Try to request room away from Babbacombe Road as it can be a little noisy but not unbearably so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tourman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

This hotel was a breath of fresh air. Have rarely stayed in such a clean room. Food was excellent. Pool was clean and well kept. Staff were really helpful. We will return. Soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We have just returned from our 10th visit to The Coppice. That fact alone speaks volumes for this hotel. We arrived on the 20th May and were lucky enough to chose the day that the olympic torch was passing through the west country. We had a birds eye view of this historic event without even leaving the hotel grounds.
The accommodation at The Coppice was spotless as usual. Plenty of hot water with comfy beds and pillows that are not full of lumps.
Food always of an excellent standard hot and freshly cooked.
Jenny..... you are amazing. You work from dawn to dusk and are always willing to help with a smile on your face.
Syd...... You too are great. More 'Back of house' but equally hard working.
We love listening to your stories always delivered with your wonderful dry sense of humour. .Thanks for a great time..We hope to see you both again very soon.
Barb, Barb, Tony & Steve Alias Smith & Jones

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbtonyjones8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I have stayed in this hotel many times over the years, when it was run by my friends who sold up a few years ago, so was a little worried about how it might now be.

Nothing to worry about....its just as good....has been given a fresh coat of paint....rooms are nice....meals were great....bar still a bit slow during meal times.... pool was a liitle cold, but that might have been the weather.

A great hotel for a short break.

Owners now considered friends will visit again next time I'm in the UK.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goahappydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coppice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coppice

Property: The Coppice
Address: Babbacombe Rd. | Torquay, Torquay TQ1 2QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#17 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coppice 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coppice is an elegant Victorian Mansion House set in beautiful award winning gardens. Ideally situated near both Torquay and Babbacombe beaches, it has long been a favorite with families, couples, private groups and the business traveler. All bedrooms are bath/shower en suite with digital colour television, in house phone, hair dryer and hospitality tray. Hotel facilities include private parking, large bar/lounge, complimentary WiFi, outdoor Mediterranean pool, indoor heated pool, spa pool, sauna and mini gym. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coppice Hotel Torquay
The Coppice Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing