We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent stay once again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Coppice

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Coppice
Ranked #13 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An excellent stay once again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Another excellent 5 days at the Coppice. Syd and Jenny make you feel at home as do all the staff. . Rooms are comfortable, spotless and of a good size. The food is very good and well served in the spacious dining room I would have no hesitation in recommending the Coppice to any family. Outstanding value for money. We will be back again next season.
jane and Martin Thomas

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    69
    19
    15
    2
See reviews for
62
191
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We had agood week at the Copice Hotel room very clean and the food also was good
The people than run it work very hard and ame to please.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunstar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Have just got back from a very nice weekend staying at the Coppice Hotel,hosts Syd and Jenny are a really nice couple nothing is to much trouble for them and their team of staff are first class.My wife and i have stayed in Torquay on three previous occasions staying at the Glen Eagles,the Palace,and the Grand,but i have to say that in my opinion the Coppice is the best,the accommodation,food, and facilities are first class,i would certainly recommend this Hotel to anyone,and i have already booked for another visit in October

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank italianshoemanoo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

A warm and inviting welcome from our hostess on board our coach before the easy check in. The en-suite room with TV,hair dryer and tea/coffee facilities was crisp and clean with a comfortable bed. The room was serviced and cleaned daily. Meals in the restaurant were good and the friendly staff gave prompt service. Reasonable bar prices together with good quality evening entertainment for most nights of our stay. Sid and Jenny's personalities compliment each other and make a unique experience, with their personal involvement, in the running of their hotel. This was our second visit and we will undoubtebly visit again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trevor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Hosts are Syd and Jenny they are a hard working welcoming couple who reinvest in their hotel. Room was comfortable en suite with bath clean towels every day soft loo paper! Flat screen Tv. Tea coffee makings not rationed either. Just Go have certainly excelled themselves here. Two pools and live entertainment provided.food was of high quality and staff attentive.I could just go on.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Extremely clean hotel though furnishings a bit dated. Food very poor and not of good quality. Service in the restaurant was very good and the girls work really hard. Barma seemed s bit surly. Would not go back I'm afraid.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
208 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Visited here in June with a group of people. The hotel is a little way out of town a short walk down the hill if you feel fit enough and you can even walk to the beach if you wish but dont forget you have to tackle the hill back.It is however only a short bus ride from the main centre, and the service just at the end of the property is frequent and inexpensive.
On our arrival the group were warmly received by the owners Jenny and Sid. The rooms were allocated quickly and efficiently. The rooms are well appointed with clean comfortable beds with crispy clean towels and fresh smelling bedding. The en-suite facitlites were more than adequate, with bath/shower facilties and more than enough instant hot water. The rooms all had tea/coffee making and more than ample supplies. We had dinner in the hotel for 3 nights band each night there was a choice of starters, main courses and sweets, with vegetarian options always available. The orders taken individually, and food served promptly, and hot.The food standard was very good when considering there were about 40 or more people eating in the dining room. The standard of food was excellent, well cooked and tasty no frozen rubbish here.There were wine options as well and the prices a little lower than most hotels/ restaurants. For breakfast there was a self service buffet for cereals, and fruit, and juice etc, then there was a choice of hot food , orders taken and food cooked freshly and served without delay. I could not fault the hard work the staff put in to serve the guests promptly..
The hotel has a sauna, indoor and outdoor pool. Some of my party ventured into the indoor pool which though small was clean and well maintained. The outside pool was a little leafy but was clean, though the weather was against its use and the owner was fighting a losing battle to keep it leaf free. The hotel stands in its own fairly large grounds, it is well maintained, and has been recently facelifted and decorated. It is a great base to explore The English Riviera and surrounding areas, and highly recommended by myself as it is very friendly and personable. There is sometimes entertainment on for the guests, which is ususlly a local turn, and acceptable. I will return as was very sasified with everthing offered.
Thank you for looking after my group I hope to revisit again soon.

Room Tip: Try to request room away from Babbacombe Road as it can be a little noisy but not unbearably so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tourman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,597 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seascape Hotel
Seascape Hotel
#43 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coppice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coppice

Property: The Coppice
Address: Babbacombe Rd. | Torquay, Torquay TQ1 2QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#17 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coppice 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coppice is an elegant Victorian Mansion House set in beautiful award winning gardens. Ideally situated near both Torquay and Babbacombe beaches, it has long been a favorite with families, couples, private groups and the business traveler. All bedrooms are bath/shower en suite with digital colour television, in house phone, hair dryer and hospitality tray. Hotel facilities include private parking, large bar/lounge, complimentary WiFi, outdoor Mediterranean pool, indoor heated pool, spa pool, sauna and mini gym. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coppice Hotel Torquay
The Coppice Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing