We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of The Coppice

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Coppice
Ranked #14 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Stayed at Coppice on 4 night Just Go coach holiday. For what we paid, it was fantastic value for money but we were disappointed in light of previous glowing reviews. Good points: room nicely cleaned and fresh towels daily; endless hot water; warm room; lovely waiting staff and manageress; food was fine with several choices and promptly served; indoor swimming pool. Less good: lighting in room was gloomy; room faced small but busy road so noisy from 7 am till midnight; washbasin in bathroom jutted over toilet so couldn't sit straight on loo; hotel foyer and our bathroom had unpleasant musty smell; bar shuts at 11pm.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LandGNorthallerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    69
    20
    15
    3
See reviews for
65
197
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Shields
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This trip to the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan was booked through Newmarket Holidays. The Eden Project and the gardens were the saving graces of the trip - the travelling was horrendous! 15 hours to the hotel from Whitley Bay (picking up at 4am) was just unacceptable.
We arrived at the Coppice 30 mins late for the evening meal yet we were quickly given our keys to our rooms and made to feel welcome. Our meals were served quickly and with a smile and were delicious. It was table service for all meals and there was a good selection to choose from.
Our room was comfortable and warm with the usual tea/coffee facilities. The bathroom was spotless although very small.
A fairly short walk downhill took you into Torquay and a bus dropped you off right ourside the hotel on your return.
An enjoyable stay and a hotel I would be happy to stay in again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

After arriving very late, it was great to unload the kids straight to bed, the room was lovely, clean spacious and everything you need. Including the cot for baby. The only thing missing was a lamp, as a family room the only option was only to have the main light on or off...

This aside there was not a single complaint. The girls loved the breakfast choices, and playing in the pool, and outdoor gardens.

I only wish we could have stayed longer! I will definitely be staying the next time I visit our friends in Torquay

Thank you again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haghir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My wife and I have just spent another great fortnight at The Coppice Hotel. As usual, the food was of excellent quality and we had entertainment most evenings. We met other visitors from different parts of the country who we have met on previous visits and have become friends with over a number of years. We danced most evenings to the music of the various entertainers and went swimming each morning in the indoor pool. (Weather not quite good enough to venture into the picturesque outdoor pool.) Special thanks to Tina and Dev who served us with a smile as well as food in the restaurant, to Terry for all the washing up and to Jean and the other ladies who look after our rooms.

The weather may not have been too great this summer, but our stay at The Coppice was.

Jean and Ray Owen

p.s. The surrounding area is fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanray2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

What a fantastic time we had at the Coppice with Syd, Jenny & their team. The hotel is a beautiful traditional building set in such lovely grounds with modern facilities. We were made welcome from the start and nothing was too much trouble. The food is excellent with a wide choice, rooms are spotless and comfortable. We enjoyed many happy hours in the outdoor and indoor pools - and the gym! The entertainment at night was brilliant. There are so many lovely places to see within walking distance or the bus stop is just outside - no need to move the car, ample car parking spaces within hotel grounds. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Premiun rooms are well worth that little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quackers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay... I went swimming most days and went to town on a few occasions as it is so close... The food Is very nice and the staff are friendly, The entertainment was also good.

The interior and decor are very nice. Overall a very good hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackB98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Such a wonderful welcome by the owners Syd & Jenny on our return trip. Had a wonderful short break away. Hotel was very clean & tidy just like last time. Staff polite & always smiling. Food was excellent & always hot when served. Rooms very clean & laid out well. Can't wait for our return trip over xmas/new year.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tia006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
852 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,884 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
527 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coppice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coppice

Property: The Coppice
Address: Babbacombe Rd. | Torquay, Torquay TQ1 2QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#8 Business Hotel in Torquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#16 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coppice 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coppice is an elegant Victorian Mansion House set in beautiful award winning gardens. Ideally situated near both Torquay and Babbacombe beaches, it has long been a favorite with families, couples, private groups and the business traveler. All bedrooms are bath/shower en suite with digital colour television, in house phone, hair dryer and hospitality tray. Hotel facilities include private parking, large bar/lounge, complimentary WiFi, outdoor Mediterranean pool, indoor heated pool, spa pool, sauna and mini gym. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coppice Hotel Torquay
The Coppice Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing