We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back yet again”
Review of The Coppice

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Coppice
Ranked #11 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Stayed here for several years in the past with an expanding group of friends that started with six of us,and this year reached nineteen and we're all certain to be going again.Hotel is spotlessly clean,warm,with well appointed and fitted out bedrooms,and the food is excellent,what more do you need when away.There was two nights on our stay with excellent entertainment,and good bar which is reasonably priced into the bargain.Thanks Syd Jenny and all the staff for a great stay again.Excellent value for money

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Coachman45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2013

stayed for a long weekend rooms were clean and well equipped. The food was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for fussy eaters. We had a really enjoyable weekend and would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stroller153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The hotel staff were friendly at all times and the facilities were excellent, with very clean and comfortable bedrooms. The food was remarkably good and the bar prices reasonable. There was evening entertainment on two of our three night stay, which may not have been to everyone's taste but which we found enjoyable. Overall a most pleasant experience, and a hotel we have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

What can I say!! Superb hotel.... The rooms were very clean and inviting.
Very good food and plentiful. The entertainment was very enjoyable too.
The owners and the staff were so friendly.They went out of the way to do things for us. Brilliant....
The excursions were vey good too.
We had a wonderful time in the Coppice Hotel and highly recommend to
others.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

stayed here at the end of march, hotel fabulous, great food, extremely clean, rooms spacious, entertainment enjoyable, excursions lovely, owners of the coppice are very nice and have a great team of staff, was a pleasure to stay and will definately return when the weather warmer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 471mrsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Once again had a great time at the Coppice Hotel. Jenny Sid and staff very helpful. Nice change on an organised trip not to have to choose evening meal at breakfast. Entertainment good on the whole. Rooms and linen lovely and clean. A real bonus was to have HOT PLATES. Nothing worse than hot meal on cold china! Enjoyed a dip in the indoor pool. The only downer was not having a coffee after evening meal, but we had the facility in our room to make our own.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank frogladybg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Friend and I just spent our first trip with just go, staying at the Coppice Hotel, had a fantastic time, room spotless, beds were really comfy, food , well cant fault it at all, and the staff were so friendly and, didnt stop,Dont know how they did what they did for the price we paid, looking foreward to coming back soon, was on a coach party and everyone was so friendly, Our only problem which didnt really trouble us was two flights of ,stairs to our room , but now know to ask for room on reception level,

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorraine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
956 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#55 of 85 in Torquay
916 reviews
1.4 mi away
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms
0.8 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#24 of 85 in Torquay
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coppice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coppice

Address: Babbacombe Rd. | Torquay, Torquay TQ1 2QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#8 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 Family Hotel in Torquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £30 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coppice 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coppice is an elegant Victorian Mansion House set in beautiful award winning gardens. Ideally situated near both Torquay and Babbacombe beaches, it has long been a favorite with families, couples, private groups and the business traveler. All bedrooms are bath/shower en suite with digital colour television, in house phone, hair dryer and hospitality tray. Hotel facilities include private parking, large bar/lounge, complimentary WiFi, outdoor Mediterranean pool, indoor heated pool, spa pool, sauna and mini gym. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coppice Hotel Torquay
The Coppice Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing