We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Trip”
Review of The Coppice

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Coppice
Ranked #12 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just returned from a weekend bus trip to this hotel. Whilst the location would not suit everyone as it is situated just outside the centre of Torquay off the Babbacombe Road where it is a bit hilly, this is a small price to pay for the excellent service, lovely food and cleanliness. All in all a very pleasant stay and would like to visit again.

Room Tip: There is no lift so persons a bit infirm would be better choosing a ground floor room, but the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have been to this hotel both before and since having our little family and Syd and Jenny are just so accommodating and welcoming! Our little lady can be a little loud as she is two nearly three but they never make us feel like we are welcome! The food is always great and the service is always amazing! The staff are all friendly, Amelia loves seeing Deven and Tina! I'm not sure where some of these bad reviews have come from we have never had an issue with anything! In fact we went out and our room looked brand new everyday when they came in to clean it! They even made our girl excited when the teddies were in bed or wearing her jumper or even armbands! I would go back everyday if I could our little one loves it and asked why do we have to go home! We will be returning as soon as our next one has arrived! Thank you so much Jen and Syd you always make us feel welcome!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

First appearance of exterior looks good but on entering hotel one feels as if you are entering a retirement home (This does not refer to the accompanying guests )only to the overall dated décor and musty smell in reception. The only hotel plus point was its cleanliness.
1.Food very bland and uninviting I asked for a tomato instead of beans at breakfast and told by waitress they did not have any. I overheard a man request extra toast he was told we were only allowed one slice, which was brought on the breakfast plate as they were part of a coach party.
2.Only have room 23 if under 5ft tall as tiny bath and only hand held shower which had the accompanying notice (OPPERATE ONLY FOR RINSING HAIRLOW WATER PRESSURE DELIVERY NOT SUITABLE FOR BODY SHOWERING) Smoke emanates into bedroom from the smoking area below.
3.Front door kept locked all the time even when on the terrace.
4.No fans anywhere except in entertainment room, heat in the hotel was unbearable as we were experiencing very hot weather.
Overall we had a very disappointing experience in this hotel and ate our meals outside, there appears to be a 2 tier system regarding independent and coach visitors.
Torquay is a wonderful resort and we would love to return but not to The Coppice Hotel which we would not recommend to anyone.
4.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sybil11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just returned from a 4 day break at the Coppice with my wife and 2 friends. Nicely situated between Babbacombe and Torquay, with a gentle slope to the hotel from the main road. The hotel is very clean and tidy, the room we had was well decorated with loads of drawer and wardrobe space. Food very good but didn't like the two halves of toast being presented on the breakfast plate instead of in the traditional toast rack. The dining room tables are very small, higher than most, and become cramped when dinner is being served. Beds very comfortable and for a coach trip holiday it was excellent value. I would rate it as a top 3 star, rather than a 4 star establishment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MrPrefect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Having just returned from The Coppice I have witnessed first hand how upset the owners Jenny and Syd were by a previous, totally inaccurate review .
The lady who said the hotel smelt damp and musty either has a malicious streak or stayed at a different hotel!
My husband and I and two friends have stayed there 3 times a year for the last six years and not once in all the times we have entered the hotel have we smelt anything offensive or damp.
When someone works hard from dawn till dusk seven days a week and puts their heart in to ensuring that everything is perfect for their guests it is soul destroying for their business to be damaged by offensive, untrue comments!
If people do have a genuine problem why do they not mention it politely whilst they are there and give the management a chance to rectify it.

This hotel is spotless, the food is excellent and the owners are two of the nicest people you would wish to meet. Go along and judge for yourself.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbiehelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

my friends and I have just spent a excellent short break at the Coppice, Jenny and her staff made us all feel very welcome.The hotel was very clean and well set out large rooms and very good food . We would recommend the Coppice to anyone looking for a Hotel in Torquay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have just returned from the coppice hotel. We went with just go holidays and had a fantastic five days. Jenny and all her staff were fantastic made to feel welcome from the time we arrived until we left. Food was very good and plenty of it. Really hot and a choice of menu. Thank you once again jenny and all your staff .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 86 in Torquay
896 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,017 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 86 in Torquay
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
509 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 86 in Torquay
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coppice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coppice

Address: Babbacombe Rd. | Torquay, Torquay TQ1 2QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#8 Business Hotel in Torquay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#16 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £30 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coppice 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coppice is an elegant Victorian Mansion House set in beautiful award winning gardens. Ideally situated near both Torquay and Babbacombe beaches, it has long been a favorite with families, couples, private groups and the business traveler. All bedrooms are bath/shower en suite with digital colour television, in house phone, hair dryer and hospitality tray. Hotel facilities include private parking, large bar/lounge, complimentary WiFi, outdoor Mediterranean pool, indoor heated pool, spa pool, sauna and mini gym. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coppice Hotel Torquay
The Coppice Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing