We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mid week break”
Review of The Coppice

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Coppice
Ranked #11 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2009

had a lovely stay at your hotel with a group from bournemouth thought hotel was lovely and clean through out meals great entertainment very good can recommend it to any one i think it should be rated higher than a 2 star love to go back again

mr &mrs baxter

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arbe4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2009

Just got back from a long weekend at this Hotel. Jennie Syd and staff were very welcoming. The food was excellent, plates hot, and generous portions. You won't go hungry at this hotel! Our room was very fresh and clean and the general decor in the lounge areas was very pleasing. Enjoyed swimming in the indoor pool and using the steam room etc. Hope to go back again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frogladybg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

I stayed at the hotel for one week with my 3 children aged between 5 and 17 yrs of age, and when it came to packing the bags into the car, it took me ages to get them in and say goodbye because they didn't want to go. Neither did I, the atmosphere was so welcoming and relaxed. It had 2 swimming pools that kept the children busy for hours, and just a short walk away was all the shops and the harbour, where you could go fishing, crabbing and sight-seeing on boats. There is entertainment held weekly at the hotel which kept the kids up for most of the night. The hotel is in a great location and the food menu leaves you spoilt for choice! Same time, same place, next year for certain! Thanks Sid and Jenny

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geegeegina007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Me and my partner stayed at the hotel for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!

The hotels location was ideal as we prefer to walk and all the attractions were within easy walking distance.

The breakfast and five course dinner was very good with a wide selection and very friendly service. We found ourselves trying to guess what was on the menu every night!

The owners of the hotel were polite and friendly offering help and advice about local attractions and how to access them from the hotel.

Our room was comfortable, clean and had a nice view of the gardens. We found it easy to relax there after a day out.

All in all for value for money (being students) and it only being two star the coppice hotel exceeded expectations and we would be happy to come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kez_188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

I stayed at the hotel for 4 days, the moment i arrived i felt very welcome and settled in very quickly. The atmosphere was perfect, it made me want to stay another few nights. The owners, Mr&Mrs Burnett are very friendly and welcoming. The food was delicious and every night the menu was fantastic, such a great selection. Overall the Coppice Hotel is a absolutely brilliant hotel, that i recommend to everyone, I will definitely be staying their again without a shadow of a doubt!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rory007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Anne and i selected the Coppice for a 4 day break and from the web-site our expectations were high,also the hotel brochure gives the hotel a nice "bespoke" look which clearly isnt the case.
We have stayed in many hotels both in the uk and abroad,so when compared against others it fell below expectations.
Our room number 23,was large and bright overlooking the garden,but rather basic,the bed was clearly in need of a new mattress and rather small if you are used to a king size.The shower performance wasnt very good although the water was always hot.The metal coil cover on the shower cable from the mixer tap to shower head was broken.
Food was very acceptable with a selection and good service.
Although you may expect some entertainment of sorts and clearly the hotel noticeboard would also give the same impression there is none! A shame because most people on the saturday night went out ,a chance of extra business lost to the hotel.
As we left on Tuesday we both stood and looked at the hotel and gardens, yes it could be something very special but the owners need to open there eyes.
The pool outside was not cleared once of fallen leaves and the area around the pool needed a good jet wash.
would i recommend the hotel,i wish i could but not as it is at the moment. Its all about what your expectations are at the end of the day and the hotel brochure is so good you may find the hotel a disappointment.
One last point ,would the guy behind the bar look as if he enjoys the job, if not move on.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nottstravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ShropshireReedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
937 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,189 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#56 of 85 in Torquay
915 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 85 in Torquay
604 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coppice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coppice

Address: Babbacombe Rd. | Torquay, Torquay TQ1 2QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#8 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 Family Hotel in Torquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £30 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coppice 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coppice is an elegant Victorian Mansion House set in beautiful award winning gardens. Ideally situated near both Torquay and Babbacombe beaches, it has long been a favorite with families, couples, private groups and the business traveler. All bedrooms are bath/shower en suite with digital colour television, in house phone, hair dryer and hospitality tray. Hotel facilities include private parking, large bar/lounge, complimentary WiFi, outdoor Mediterranean pool, indoor heated pool, spa pool, sauna and mini gym. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coppice Hotel Torquay
The Coppice Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing