We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“home from home holiday”
Review of The Coppice

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Coppice
Ranked #12 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
grimsby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“home from home holiday”
Reviewed 13 April 2010

excellent food, well looked after and good company. Hotel immaculate and owners very welcoming, hope to go again :)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pearce06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    69
    20
    15
    2
See reviews for
64
193
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Jenny and Sid who own the Coppice are the most welcoming friendly hands on couple who have excellent staff and provided the best service by far that we have ever experienced in a UK hotel.
Our room was bright, airy, clean and extreemly comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities came with plenty of provisions to last each day. The room and the whole hotel for that matter were spotlessly clean.
The meals were always piping hot, home made, with a good variety on the menu.
Nothing was too much trouble and we were always met with a warm friendly greeting.
We will definitely return again this year as will several other members who were in our coach party.
The hotel is about a mile from the centre of Torquay, which is downhill going for those wanting to walk off some of the weight gain from the fantastic food, and there is a bus stop outside for the return, unless like us, you really did eat so much you had to walk back as well.
We would like to say a very big thankyou to Jenny, Sid and all the staff at the Coppice. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Barbara Walker and Elaine Matanle

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2010

Stayed at the Coppice Hotel as part of a "last minute" (VERY cheap) coach tour to Torquay and, for the price we paid, was expecting the worst BUT from the moment we arrived to the time we left we couldn't have been made more welcome by the owners, Jenny and Sid. Good clean room, excellent food and entertainment laid on for 3 nights of our stay. I have only given 4 stars for Sleep Quality because my wife has a bad back and she thought the beds were "too soft" (you can't please everyone !!) and likewise 4 stars for Location because (like 95% of Torquay) it's on top of a hill -but it's only a 20 minute stroll downhill into town and the No.32 local bus stops a couple of hundred yards away on the way back up !!
Taking everything into consideration, I would definitely recommend The Coppice and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eezaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2010

Just visited this Hotel for a short break, can't stress enough what good value it is for the money. It is classed as 2 star but I have been in 4 star hotels that are not as good. Food accommodation, surroundings and most of all the friendliness of the proprietors excellent.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexCatgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

As a coach driver I stay in many Hotels all over the country, The Coppice welcomes you from the start to the Finish. This is not false like you get in a big hotel chain But as a Family run Hotel is true. The food is like mothers what more can I say.The service is like you were staying in a top London Hotel. The entertainment is good.
I would recommend this hotel to any coach operators knowing that our passengers would be happy and would want to use us again for Torquay holidays.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coachman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Our mixed group of 19 people, aged between 22-75, stayed for a winter break. We had stayed several times in Torquay before, though not in this hotel.

Formerly a large mansion, the hotel has been converted and extended so you take pot luck with room size, but all were clean and well-heated. The owners were friendly and efficient without being obtrusive. In summer they take on more staff and are less hands-on which might explain some of the adverse comments elsewhere. Although located in a residential area slightly out of town there are useful shops and a pub with several real ales about 5 minutes walk away, and the regular 32 bus along the main road takes 10 minutes into Torquay. Babbacombe shops and cliffs are 15-20 minutes walk. Kents Cavern is less than 15 minutes walk from the hotel.

We all liked the food; it was plain, simple and there was plenty of it. Service was efficient and they kept some food by for one couple in our group who were due to arrive after the chef had finished. The pool was well-maintained though only a few of us found time to use it. Smokers won't like the lack of balconies in the rooms, though adequate arrangements were made under cover outside.

The hotel has free WiFi which was a big plus, although reception in rooms is inconsistent and was slow at the best of times.

Entertainment can be pre-arranged and the owners have a useful range of local contacts including an excellent singer / comedienne. Even the younger members of the team, who were ready to hit the clubs downtown, ended up staying to watch her!

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our weekend.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queerhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2009

I visited the Coppice after an absence of five years. I have to agree with some previous comments that it has been given a very pleasant face lift.
However the service was not what I expected from my past visits, the new owners are clearly just in the game to make money, and have dropped the standards accordingly.
Yes the bell still exists in reception, but where lovely Tony or one of the girls would answer in seconds, sometimes it was never answered at all.
My wife was upset about the food, on one of our evenings, and was made to feel like a child getting free school meals.
The service at the bar was a joke, they clearly don't understand that guests may want to have a drink before their meal, and don't want to wait until the dinning room is cleared before being able to get another.
As for getting a so called packed lunch, well no more said.
Not the service I am used to, and WE WILL NOT BE BACK.
John & Ann Wallace.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotingoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,672 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seascape Hotel
Seascape Hotel
#44 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coppice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coppice

Property: The Coppice
Address: Babbacombe Rd. | Torquay, Torquay TQ1 2QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#17 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coppice 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coppice is an elegant Victorian Mansion House set in beautiful award winning gardens. Ideally situated near both Torquay and Babbacombe beaches, it has long been a favorite with families, couples, private groups and the business traveler. All bedrooms are bath/shower en suite with digital colour television, in house phone, hair dryer and hospitality tray. Hotel facilities include private parking, large bar/lounge, complimentary WiFi, outdoor Mediterranean pool, indoor heated pool, spa pool, sauna and mini gym. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coppice Hotel Torquay
The Coppice Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing