We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House of excellence”
Review of Abingdon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abingdon House
Ranked #36 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
1 review
“House of excellence”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

When we arrived we were greeted by Janet and Andrew who were extremely friendly and welcoming. We were offered complimentary tea and coffee with fresh homemade cake. The quality of the rooms were exceptional everything to the last detail had been included. I have never stayed in a5* hotel and had the facilities and hospitality which Janet and Andrew provided. Breakfast was amazing, wide variety of meals available and absolutely delicious. Both Janet and Andrew are great hosts and a real friendly and outgoing couple. Thank you for making our trip that extra special. Mary

Room Tip: Room 1 amazing on the ground floor at the front of the house. Big room with massive ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
161
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We have just had a great week at Abingdon House. It had everything we could wish for - a very warm welcome, a clean and comfortable bedroom, a really friendly atmosphere and wonderful meals ( we had breakfast and evening meal). My husband is a coeliac and eating away from home is usually a big problem, but not at Abingdon House, where Andrew and Janet made sure gluten-free options to the menu were available each day. We were therefore both able to just relax and enjoy the delicious meals. We cannot recommend Abingdon House highly enough and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We have just spent a weeks holiday at Torquay (19th -26th May) where we stayed at Abingdon House. From the moment we arrived we found everything beyond our expectation. The welcome we recieved assured my wife and myself that we had made a good choice of accomodation. Janet and Andrew along with daughter Catherine were excellent hosts. The tea and cake on arrival was most welcome, our room was tastefully decorated and had ample storage for our clothes etc. The shower room was newly refurbished and of a good size, and the food! we have not had better choice or quality, on any previous holiday, thanks to Andrew and Janet's cooking. As a Coeliac I was so pleased to find that I had no fear about gluton content in the meals. Andrew and Janet were also very helpful on advising us on local walks in the area. Can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Just returned from a wonderful weekend stay at Abingdon House in Torquay. We were looked after exceptionally well and made to feel very welcome by Janet and Andrew. The decoration and cleanliness was first class and our room was comfortable and modern and equipped with many extras. We didn't experience the evening menu but if the breakfast was to go by you will be in for a treat. We would strongly recommend this hotel and intend to return in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karl s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2012

My wife and I recently enjoyed a weekend at Abingdon House which was not long enough ! Our welcome from Jan was warm and friendly and our bedroom was very comfortable with a modern and immaculate bathroom.

Breakfasts were superbly cooked by Andrew, with a wide variety of hot and cold choices . An excellent dinner menu was available daily . The House is conveniently situated close to Torre Abbey and the seafront, and within walking distance of the towncentre.

We would happily recommend this Hotel to our friends and plan to return ourselves in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b_maguire321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at Abingdon House Torquay. We were welcomed by Janet & Andrew who are very friendly and helpful had tea & home made cake for us on arrival. Our room was clean bright and freshly decorated and the beds were very comfortable.The Breakfast & Evening meals were delicious and my wife who has Coeliac was well catered for
Torbay is a fantastic place with so many places to see and things to do. We particularly liked Paignton Zoo, The Dart Valley Steam Railway and Brixham

Room Tip: room 2 is on the side of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffJoan190760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My wife and i have recently stayed in the Abingdon House on arrival we were made most welcome from Janet co owner with not just a smile but tea and home made cake Our room was bright clean and very comfortable with its own dressing room The food was superb and plentiful i would recommend this Hotel to all who are looking for great value and home from home comfort So again we would like to thank Andrew Janet and Catherine for a most wonderful stay to celebrate my 65 birthday Ps look forward to going again

Room Tip: ask for room 2 great on the back of the building very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#42 of 87 in Torquay
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Daylesford
The Daylesford
#71 of 149 in Torquay
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#25 of 149 in Torquay
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Shirley Hotel
Shirley Hotel
#22 of 149 in Torquay
654 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#5 of 149 in Torquay
370 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abingdon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abingdon House

Property: Abingdon House
Address: 104 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abingdon House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abingdon House, owned and run by Janet and Andrew, offers Stylish Accommodation offering Comfort and Luxury. relaxed atmosphere, beautifully furnished en-suite accommodation, ample car parking & free Wifi. Extensive breakfast menu's with both Full English and a variety of Light Options helps to get you started each morning. Abingdon House is ideally situated within the traditional holiday accommodation area. A short level walk will take you to Torre Abbey Gardens, Riviera Centre and Seafront Promenade. Ideal for exploring South Devon. Lots of nice "Little Extra Touches" ensure that the Abingdon will provide you with all your needs and ensure you feel welcome and have a most pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abingdon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abingdon House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing