We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abingdon Guest House Torquay
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Richwood(Torquay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
200
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
200
5
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson arrivalevening meal optionsuggestions for places to visittea and homemade cakenothing is too much troublea gluten free dietother guestslarge tvb bfull english breakfasttorre abbeylovely hostsroom was spotlesslovely breakeach morningwonderful stayhigh standard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2012

When we arrived at the Abingdon House we were welcomed with tea/coffee and cake and shown to our lovely room, which was spotless and recently refurbished. Chocolates on our pillows were a lovely touch. The food was excellent and with a hearty breakfast inside, we were ready for the day. Janet and Andrew were very friendly and informative and nothing was too much effort. It's a short walk to many local attractions including the lovely village of Cockington. We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

My wife & I spent a fabulous week (need longer stay next time) at this fully refurbished first class hotel. Welcomed like old friends with coffee & Catherines cakes, Janet & Andrew showed us to our large, freshly decorated bedroom complete with new, en-suite bathroom with every thing you would need. Large TV, coffee biscuits etc for 'poor weather' hours. The food is fantastic! Breakfast a great pleasure, dinner you will anticipate & relish! You will enjoy every aspect of this hotel and would happily recommend it to anyone .

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

When we arrived we were greeted by Janet and Andrew who were extremely friendly and welcoming. We were offered complimentary tea and coffee with fresh homemade cake. The quality of the rooms were exceptional everything to the last detail had been included. I have never stayed in a5* hotel and had the facilities and hospitality which Janet and Andrew provided. Breakfast was amazing, wide variety of meals available and absolutely delicious. Both Janet and Andrew are great hosts and a real friendly and outgoing couple. Thank you for making our trip that extra special. Mary

Room Tip: Room 1 amazing on the ground floor at the front of the house. Big room with massive ensuite
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We have just had a great week at Abingdon House. It had everything we could wish for - a very warm welcome, a clean and comfortable bedroom, a really friendly atmosphere and wonderful meals ( we had breakfast and evening meal). My husband is a coeliac and eating away from home is usually a big problem, but not at Abingdon House, where Andrew and Janet made sure gluten-free options to the menu were available each day. We were therefore both able to just relax and enjoy the delicious meals. We cannot recommend Abingdon House highly enough and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We have just spent a weeks holiday at Torquay (19th -26th May) where we stayed at Abingdon House. From the moment we arrived we found everything beyond our expectation. The welcome we recieved assured my wife and myself that we had made a good choice of accomodation. Janet and Andrew along with daughter Catherine were excellent hosts. The tea and cake on arrival was most welcome, our room was tastefully decorated and had ample storage for our clothes etc. The shower room was newly refurbished and of a good size, and the food! we have not had better choice or quality, on any previous holiday, thanks to Andrew and Janet's cooking. As a Coeliac I was so pleased to find that I had no fear about gluton content in the meals. Andrew and Janet were also very helpful on advising us on local walks in the area. Can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews