We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“to stay here you are like one of the family”
Review of Abingdon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abingdon House
Ranked #36 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“to stay here you are like one of the family”
Reviewed 14 September 2010

On our recent long weekend in Torquay we stayed at the Abingdon House Avenue Road. On arrival we were greeted by Betty and Robert Macdonald and made wecolme as if we were family, there was a pot of tea and a piece of cake still warm from the oven, everthing is home made even the jam and marmalade. The hospitality here is second to none.
Being disabled we stayed in their ground floor room with its own wet room en-suite.
Robert even cleened our car for us while we enjoyed our tea and cake.
Betty's cooked breakfast is superb.

Mr &Mrs D Tamworth

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdyche1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
159
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Excellent service. Friendly atmosphere, Fantastic breakfast. First B&B I've seen with disability access. The owners will go the extra mile to make your stay a comfortable one.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pillay78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Only stayed for one night and I wish it had of been longer. Great welcome, clean rooms , comfortable beds and the best breakfast of our holiday. We even woke up to find that our car had been washed by the owner.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceribow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Betty and Robert (Mac) are great hosts. Not intrusive, but the type who are on hand when/if you need them. We were offered refreshments as soon as we arrived. We had no problems at all with our accommodation but overheard at breakfast a fellow guest who mentioned that something was wrong in his bathroom - Robert went immediately to fix it so that the guest, having finished his breakfast, would find all well. That sort of response is worth a fortune. The Abingdon House is well worth a visit and we'd definitely use it again. Betty and Robert are rightly proud of their establishment and the disabled facilities they offer are first rate and only one of two such places in Torquay to offer a wheelchair accessible wet room - what an achievement!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pimple2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2010

My Wife & I stayed at the Abingdon House on a Three Day break.When we arrived we were greeted with a Pot of Tea just what we needed.
Everything you would want in a room you had and more,Tea,Coffee,Drinking Chocolate and Milk,oh yes Bottle of Water and Biscuits,very clean and tidy!!!
Breakfast Brilliant cooked fresh to order, clean Towels One Hand One Bath ,nothing was to much trouble a credit to you both!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosh101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2010

we spent a lovely three nights to celebrate our 44th wedding anniversary, the welcome we recieved from betty and robert was the best we have had. the cream tea was a great start to our weekend. everthing about the guest house could not had been better. we will come back again and can fully recomend this guest house.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Abingdon House is one of the most hospitable places I have ever stayed, The owner even washed our car on our first day we returned from exploring the area to find a gleaming vehicle parked in the b and b's car parking area. On arrival we were greated with a pot of tea and coffee along with a cream tea with home made preserves, fruit grown by Rob the owner his wife Betty making the preserves. At breakfast we were served fresh fruit also grown by Rob. Nothing was too much trouble. They also have a disabled facility which we are hoping to take our daughter to, it is extremley accessible and they certainly go the extra mile to assist all visitors. Last but not least the rooms are super clean and large with little extra's such as a razor and shaving cream shampoo and conditioner biscuits and tea and coffee with mints in a small dish hairdryer to use television with all the channels you would need. The mattresses are the best I have ever slept on, my husband is 6ft 2" so need a good sized bed. Last but not least it is an easy walk to the sea front, we are both edging towards the latter years of life. We were more than pleased with the accomodation and will be using the bed and breakfast again!!!! Torquay also has a harvester on the sea front which serves the £4.99 meal until 10pm the bars are friendly and the gardens in and around the area are lit at night for a beautiful walk back along the colourful lights of the promanade. The buses to all other surrounding area's are found on the strand and are reliable and user friendly. I would recommend the round robin trip to the steam train fans starting at the end of the jetty tickets can be purchased on the day from the booth at the start of the jetty leaving for Dartmouth then on by ferry to bucksfastliegh on to the steam train then on to paignton were a bus is available every 15mins back to Torquay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simmochell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#31 of 87 in Torquay
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#25 of 87 in Torquay
484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#27 of 149 in Torquay
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avenue Park Guest House
Avenue Park Guest House
#50 of 149 in Torquay
355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kethla House
Kethla House
#32 of 149 in Torquay
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#28 of 149 in Torquay
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abingdon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abingdon House

Property: Abingdon House
Address: 104 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abingdon House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abingdon House, owned and run by Janet and Andrew, offers Stylish Accommodation offering Comfort and Luxury. relaxed atmosphere, beautifully furnished en-suite accommodation, ample car parking & free Wifi. Extensive breakfast menu's with both Full English and a variety of Light Options helps to get you started each morning. Abingdon House is ideally situated within the traditional holiday accommodation area. A short level walk will take you to Torre Abbey Gardens, Riviera Centre and Seafront Promenade. Ideal for exploring South Devon. Lots of nice "Little Extra Touches" ensure that the Abingdon will provide you with all your needs and ensure you feel welcome and have a most pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abingdon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abingdon House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing