We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent, just what we needed at am excellent price.”
Review of Ashurst Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashurst Lodge
Ranked #66 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent, just what we needed at am excellent price.”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Arrived on Thursday for a 3 night stay. Room was large and clean with a double and single bed. En suite was lovely, new and clean. The breakfast was very nice and enough to eat. Location wise this hotel was perfect for us, a pleasant ten minute walk from the sea front. The owners were lovely, friendly but not in your face, and very helpful. Would recommend this hotel to anyone, it was fantastic for our budget, a little old fashioned for some perhaps, but to me it was charming.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelliejg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    18
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
25
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

My girlfriend & I stayed here for 1 night, Fri 14th room 9 before heading to Kingsbridge the next day to start our weeks holiday, What a great welcome we received on arrival, room was good with a comfy bed, kettle milk tea coffee sugar and ensuite too, A cracking breakfast served in the morning, ample parking, you can tell they both work very very hard indeed, Thank you for a lovely stay & would highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, Berks
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

A quaint old fashioned guesthouse. The room we were given had a double bed and a single. It was spotlessly clean with an up to date en-suite. Only complaint about the room was the lack of a full length mirror. The breakfast was plentiful and very good. Nothing being too much trouble, even though some of the guests were difficult to say the least! The only reason we would not stay again would be the distance to the town centre and sea front. Hills in all directions, so would not recommend for elderly guests with no car.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are en-suite so make sure you request one if that is what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

My friends and I stayed at this b&b over the May Bank Holiday and were more than impressed with both the building, facilities and the owners. As an ex-hotelier I know what I am looking for when I stay in a b&b, and this definitely lived up to expectations. For the price we paid, the room was excellent with nice furniture and comfortable beds. Although our bathroom was not "en suite", it was right next door to our room and had a lockable door so that we could leave our toiletries in there quite safely and was for our use only. Both the bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean and looked to have been recently refurbished. In a quiet part of town, it was perfect. The breakfasts were excellent and the owners went out of their way to make sure you had everything you needed. I cannot recommend it highly enough if you are looking for a few days away.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Although the Ashurst Lodge is inexpensive, the owners have maintained a high standard of finish and repair. It's convenient for the town and the sea front, and is located in a quiet back street. For a one-night stay arranged at short notice, I was delighted, and would have been happy to stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeilPick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Arrived here after a long drive to a very warm welcome from the owner.
The room we were shown to (room 2) was a good size with both a double and a single bed. There was also a lovely bathroom which looked like it was relatively new! Everything was spotlessly clean.
In the room was all necessary items to make our stay as comfortable as possible (tea and coffee, TV, guidebooks and LOTS of storage)
The hotel itself was very quiet and there was no exterior noise on the night we stayed (a Tuesday) meaning we both slept very well in the comfortable bed.
Breakfast the following morning was great, served in a quaint little dining room and the owner made sure we had everything needed - the spread was wonderful but he kept offering more; really going above and beyond what was required!
There is adequate parking for people staying here and it was easy to get out of and back into when needed.
The hotel is a fair walk to the centre of Torquay (about 20 minutes) but it was simple to find an abundance of shops, restaurants and bars when you did get there. However, the walk was quite 'hilly' along residential streets, so may not be suitable for those with mobility issues
All in all, if you are looking for a few days away in Torquay, we would thoroughly recommend the Ashurst Lodge.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scuz2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

enjoyed a couple of days there,nice friendly people,great breakfast,very nice location with pubs n restaurants at bottom of road,plus a chippy aswell,5 mins walk to front,10 mins walk into town,plenty to do got the ferry boat over to brixham only £1 each way,very good value,penty to do there aswell,will definatley be going back have recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gobccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#48 of 87 in Torquay
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#33 of 87 in Torquay
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#45 of 87 in Torquay
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Barton
Hotel Barton
#40 of 87 in Torquay
144 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#26 of 87 in Torquay
189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#32 of 87 in Torquay
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashurst Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashurst Lodge

Property: Ashurst Lodge
Address: 2-4 St. Efrides Road, Torquay TQ2 5SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashurst Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ashurst Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashurst Hotel Torquay
Ashurst Lodge Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing