We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beverley Hotel

Beverley Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beverley Hotel
Ranked #72 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Manchester
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“clean and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed a few nights at the Beverley. If you're expecting the Ritz you'll be dissapointed. The Beverley is clean and the breakfast sufficient. The rooms are small-ish but as I say they were clean. Hotel is around a ten minute stroll to theî beach(abbey sands beach) and about the same to town centre although about twenty mins stroll to the harbour for nitelife and restaurants. On the whole we were satisfied and would stay there again if visiting Torquay

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, it is a little noisy at the front, although not too much of a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lionelkessi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    10
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed for two nights, in my opinion the hotels is situated in a great location and only a few minutes walk into Torquay! From the outside the paint work looks a little shabby with cracks and damp patches in places but the large amount of hanging baskets full of colourful well groomed flowers make the outside look a little more appealing. The Rooms could do with a little updating but in my opinion are clean. They are not the biggest of rooms but after all you will generally only use the room to shower and sleep. The lady owner appears to be pleasant, very chatty and helpful, her hygiene appeared to be at a high standard (washing hands/surfaces) whilst preparing a full cooked English breakfast,similar to something you get at a Morrison cafe but tasty enough. The only downside to our stay was the male owner. Although dressed smart but a little old fashioned, he came to our table in the morning to take our breakfast order and the smell of stale tobacco was very strong. He also kept his packet of tobacco in his top pocket. Alittle of putting before you are about to eat and not the most of appealing of looks. All in All a decent few nights and would stay again if I needed a vacancy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We had a lovely 3 night break here, myself ,husband and 5 year old little girl who really enjoyed it. We had a room right at the top of the house so lots of stairs but no problem for us. Beds really comfy with a lovely shower. Breakfast was lovely, Maureen and David really nice people. We used the hotel opposite for a play area and some entertainment, we also paid for the day to use their pool, all in all a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Stayed at Beverly Hotel for the weekend and we found the hotel owners very accommodating. They helped us to find an empty space in the car park and upgraded us because I booked a double room by mistake. Every request was attended to and the hotel owners, Dave and Maureen were an excellent host to us.She also gave us tips on where to go and eat as we were only staying in Torquay for the weekend. Breakfast was absolutely tasty, plenty of choices and just what we envisage it would be. Thank you for making our stay in Torquay a memorable one!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_Marshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

we stayed at the Beverley hotel torquay for 2 nights starting 25/05/2013...after an awful drive from London 8 hours in total roads gridlock we were looking forward to a nice shower which did not work lucky enough they had a bath but as we got there late this held us up the room was clean but on the small side the bed was comfortable enough but being by a busy road the old sash windows had no chance of keeping the noise out the hosts were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good the hotel was about 10mins walk to the beach,main nightlife and shops though there are some pubs and eating places a little nearer I would not put anyone off staying here but it was not my kind of hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

We arrived on Friday afternoon to a lovely welcome, showed to our room, clean tidy and cosy bedding! Best nights sleep I have had in long time, even asked about were I could buy the pillows.
Down for breakfast and was plentiful, nothing to much trouble....

Hard act to follow but haha
See you soon Maureen and Dave

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

just got back from a lovely stay at this hotel maureen was lovely and couldnt do more for us the breaksfasts were very good bedroom was clean bed linen was clean beds comfatable .we were very disappointed that this advertises as having a licensed bar which it does but to our dismay when asked if we could use the bar we were told they have no stock the reason for atopping there with two young children was so we didnt have to go out at night apart from that lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lrickard_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#56 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#48 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Southbank Hotel
Southbank Hotel
#47 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bahamas
The Bahamas
#102 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverley Hotel

Property: Beverley Hotel
Address: 46 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Beverley Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Beverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverley Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing