We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mariners Guest House
Ranked #67 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coleford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Value!”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights, my room was described as a small double, perfectly adequate! Central for the town, railway, and beach. As others have said, spotlessly clean, friendly host and great breakfast! Only two negatives and that's being picky, very small bath towel and breakfast is a little late starting at 8.30am. I needed to get a train at 9am and it's a good 10 minute walk to the station. I was able to go in at 8.15, I'd turned up at 7.45am as thought breakfast was 7.30am. Agree with the parking issue, although I was lucky enough to get a space! Not very clearly signposted either!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
74
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tamworth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We were visiting family for one night and our children stayed at their brothers. We booked the Mariner as around the corner from their house, it was a last minute booking, so didn't know what to expect. Absolutely beautiful bedroom, lovely decoration, spotlessly clean, even though on a main road really quiet. Breakfast was lovely again in a beautifully decorated dining room.

Host was very pleasant, wish we could have stayed longer, will definitely stay there on our next visit and recommend to the rest of our family. Thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at the Mariners Guest House for two nights 25-27th October. After searching long and hard for a bargain stay that fitted my fussy criteria, (modern, very clean and good value) we decided to stay at Mariners . What a choice!
We arrived later than the check in time of 7pm as we hit traffic on our journey, after calling Roger to say we would be considerably late he was very accommodating!
Roger showed us to our room, a clean, very we'll decorated with great essentials (hair dryer, wash gels etc).
Breakfast in the morning was fantastic, buffet style for continental and then an order is taken for anything cooked. Scrambled egg is very very good! Polite and great service.
We will definitely stay at Mariners again! Only slight issue was that our door didn't shut flush so would often bang when other doors were opened.. Apart from that a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I'll start with the negatives because there aren't many.

There is about 3 parking spaces and I think 10 rooms, so if you don't manage to get a space you have to leave your car on the no restriction street, which is a good 5 minute walk away. The room and bathroom were quite small and the bed was small. The bathroom had no extractor fan and the windows was tiny, so when you had a shower it got excessively steamy! Some noise from an adjacent room could be heard at night, and due to it central location you can hear everything outside. (Torquay is surprisingly busy and noisy all night long)

The positives!

This is by far the cleanest place I have ever stayed, ever! The room was modern and very tastefully decorated. The guesthouse had a lovely atmosphere. The owner was friendly, attentive, helpful and cheery. There is so much choice for breakfast, and the full English was the best we have had in a B&B.

Good value for money and great location!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDP2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Great location for the main town, Paignton and beyond, room was a bit dark but well decorated and the king size bed was very comfy, en-suite shower etc top notch. Breakfast was nice, plenty of choice and owners were attentive. We had a great time, thanks you. We would recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: We had room 6 on the ground floor, was lovely with great ensuite shower, a bit noisy with the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moo-bag-belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed for an extended weekend in Torquay. We felt very welcome at the Mariners Guest House. The room was cute, the bed was confy and as we had 29 degrees we were happy with the fan as well. The full English breakfast was huge. Additionally they provide fruits, cereals, waffles and pancakes. Really nice people that run the house too!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coriini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Myself and my partner booked 2 nights here quite last minute and can honestly say it was the best accomodation we have experienced. The quality is not reflected in the budget price as you get so much more than you expect for almost half the price of the travellodge/premier inn. The hosts were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble, we were greeted on arrival, given our keys and allowed to check in early as the room was ready. Parking is limited, but this seems to be the case with alot of accomodation in this area. The bedroom was immaculate, tastefully decorated and with all the usual amenities, tea and coffee, fluffy towels, flat screen tv etc. The whole house is just a delight with little touches everywhere, including music softly playing in the dining room which I think is wonderful when sat in a room full of a strangers. Breakfast was gorgeous, everything cooked to perfection and they are willing to adjust to your needs. The stroll to the beach is only 5-10 mins and the land train stops just round the corner. I loved the feel of this place and how it was decorated, it is really modern, fresh and tasteful and felt very homely. We also appreciated the discount vouchers and recommendations of eateries that received from Roger, I cannot recommend this place highly enough and will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randomshorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Chesterfield
The Chesterfield
#66 of 150 in Torquay
147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kethla House
Kethla House
#36 of 150 in Torquay
158 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Trouville
The Trouville
#94 of 150 in Torquay
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Cranborne Guest Accommodation
0.2 mi away
The Southbourne Villa
The Southbourne Villa
#51 of 150 in Torquay
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Guest House

Property: Mariners Guest House
Address: 35 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mariners Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are ideally located for the major tourist attractions Torquay has to offer (around 400 metres from the Seafront) and within a mile of Torquay Railway/Coach Stations, Harbour & Marina, Riviera International Centre, Torre Abbey, Princess Theatre, Town Centre, Bars and Restaurants. Our 7 stylish rooms, (two on the ground floor) include two Family rooms, King, Double, Twin & Single room options, and for our guests comfort, they are all serviced daily. All rooms have full shower en-suite facilities (Agatha Christie & Torre Abbey rooms also have a bath) plus WIFI - Complimentary Toiletries - Flat Screen Freeview TVs - Hospitality Tray - Radio Alarm Clock - Hair Dryer and Ironing Facilities on request. We also have a front patio seating area. A full Mariners English/vegetarian breakfast, plus lighter options and buffet, are served in our stylish ground floor Breakfast Room at the front of the building, between 08.30am-09.30am Monday-Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mariners Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing